Ratings based on 66 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Canberra

Nice clean hotel on Sydney Rd

Posted Jun 18, 2016 on Wotif
Pros: It was nice and clean and had everything we needed.
Cons: The parking is a bit tight, but not sure what you could do about that.
It was exactly what we needed given that we were only in Melbourne for a short time, and after driving from Canberra, it was great not having to drive into the city. It was perfect for our family.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 11, 2016 by Wayne, Hotel Management
Hi Paul, Thank you for your positive review of the Best Fawkner, please request to park in the rear of the motel for your next stay as if you have a larger vehicle it will make your parking a bit easier.. Thank you Again. Kind Regards Wayne BW Fawkner
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Boston

Extended stay hotel convenient to airport

Posted May 23, 2016 on Orbitz
Pros: Staff were very helpful.
We just stayed one night. Hotel was chosen because it was close to the airport and near a friend we were visiting in Melbourne. Hotel was adequate. It seemed like a nice place for an extended stay if you were working in the area.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 11, 2016 by Wayne, Hotel Management
Hi Larry, Thank you for taking the time to review us. We do have perfect size units for extra extended stays if needed so. Thank you again. Kind Regards Wayne BW Fawkner
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Mittagong NSW

You don't have to deal with trams!

Posted Apr 19, 2016
Pros: Everything
Cons: You can always improve.
Location: Across the road from the historic Fawkner Cemetery and the historic Pentridge Gaol which is being redeveloped is just down the road.
This is a very convenient motel as you just whiz down Sydney Rd and before you strike the trams in Coburg, you are there.The train station is a short walk if you want to go into the city and not drive. The rooms are spacious and comfortable with everything you need and the staff excellent. My wife had hurt her leg and as she hobbled in to the office, Wayne the owner immediately swapped us to a ground floor room, very thoughtful.The wi-fi is very fast and a large screen TV is terrific.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 25, 2016 by Wayne, Hotel Management
Dear Laurence, Thank you for your terrific review & I am glad your stay with us was comfortable. See you next time. Kind Regards Wayne BW Fawkner
5 out of 5
by Travis from Colac, Victoria

Perfect Airport Overnight Stay.

Posted Apr 2, 2016 on Hotels
Very friendly. Very clean and tidy. Excellent value for money.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 25, 2016 by Wayne, Hotel Management
Hi Travis, We are glad you stay with us was enjoyable and convenient to the airport. Thank you for staying at the Bestwestern Fawkner. Kind Regards Wayne BW Fawkner
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Noisy due to busy traffic even at night

Posted Mar 29, 2016 on Hotels
Very friendly and helpful reception staff. Very noisy for sleeping as hotel is located along a very busy road even at night.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 25, 2016 by Wayne, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Sorry to hear your nights stay with us did was uncomfortable due to traffic noise, for most of the time the any traffic noise is very minimul we do have double glazing in our rooms which tempers noise to any of the rooms. We hope you stay with us again & next time we will upgrade you one of your executive rooms at no extra charge. Thank you. Kind Regards Wayne BW Fawkner
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Adelaide

10 out of 10 for cleaning and maintenance.

Posted Mar 17, 2016 on Wotif
Pros: Cleanliness
Cons: .
Location: .
After having recently stayed in accommodation that left much to be desired in the cleaning department it was a pleasure to stay here. The room was spotlessly clean and tidy. The receptionist, Debra, and the owner were very pleasant and helpful. Despite being on a busy road the room was reasonably quiet. We would stay here again.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 3, 2016 by Wayne, Hotel Management
Thank you for your great review & we look forward to seeing you again at the Bestwestern Fawkner. Kind Regards Wayne BW Fawkner
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

One night stay

Posted Mar 12, 2016 on Hotels
Convenient to airport
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 16, 2016 by Wayne, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for staying at the Bestwestern Fawkner. See you next time. Kind Regards Wayne BW Fawkner
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from australia

Plenty of space/ had everything we needed, very fr

Posted Feb 20, 2016 on Wotif
Very friendly staff would stay here again. Plenty of room with everything we needed
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 23, 2016 by Wayne, Hotel Management
Dear Maureen, Thank you for your review & staying at the Bestwestern Fawkner, we look forward with you staying with us again when you are next in Melbourne. Kind Regards Wayne BW Fawkner
5 out of 5
by Tina from Wodonga

Great rest in BestWestern Fawkner!

Posted Feb 16, 2016 on Hotels
This hotel is only less than 30 minutes drive to Melbourne CBD and also close to the airport. My husband stayed in this hotel few times but the latest booking we had was pleasantly surprising. We were greeted by Wayne and Carol very graciously and welcoming. The facade of this hotel was recently renovated and updated. We were given an executive suite, situated on the ground level, which suited us as it was away from the traffic noise. The room size is decent and spacious. The bed is comfortable, clean & cozy. Everything we need is provided. Most of the furnishing, fittings and kitchen tools are updated. As I previously mentioned, we've stayed in this hotel few times and will definitely stay again...
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 16, 2016 by Wayne, Hotel Management
Thank you Tina for your terrific review, we look forward seeing you again. Kind Regards Wayne BW Fawkner
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Adelaide

Wonderful Hotel. Quiet Location.

Posted Feb 3, 2016 on Wotif
Pros: Great size family Room. Staff friendly helpful. Perfect distance from the city. Managers helpful right from the first phone call.
Cons: The kids have asked to put on Disney channel and Nick please.
Location: close enough to the city for all things there. Shopping centres nearby for the "forgotten". Bus at the front. Trains 5 minute walk away. Very Quiet.
This hotel is the perfect distance from the city. Public transport is right outside the door. 5 minute walk to the train station. It is on a busy road but surprisingly we didn't hear the traffic. We were right at the front of the hotel so not hearing the traffic was wonderful. Being able to sleep after a long day doing touristy stuff was terrific. We were ready for the next day. Beds were very comfortable. The staff were all welcoming and friendly. Managers were very helpful right from the first phone call right through the duration of our stay. Rooms were kept well stocked with tea, coffee, towels etc. Will definitely come back next time we are in Melbourne.