Ratings based on 269 Verified Reviews

3.5 out of 5
63% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from florida

Wasn't the best.

Posted Jul 11, 2017
Ok I stayed here for a week, I had switched from another hotel here to be close to the hospital. This place wasn't as clean as I would have like it to be. The staff was very nice but the room was old and musty. I had to buy a sheet, blanket and pillow. I accidentally pulled up the sheet that was on the bed and saw all of the nasty stains that was on the bed and I felt so disgusted. The sheets was rough and hard. So I went and purchased my own. I would have switched but this was the only option I had and I had just switched from another hotel plus I booked on Expedia. Staff was good but the overall cleanliness of the place sucked. And I wouldn't come back here.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 14, 2017 by General Manager , Hotel Management
Allie, thank you for posting a review of your stay. We apologize for the cleanliness issue you encountered in your room and regret the inconvenience it caused. We have shared your comments with our housekeeping staff so that they will be more diligent in our efforts. On a positive note, We are glad you liked our location and service. We would like to regain your trust and hope you will give us that chance in the future. Sincerely, General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ft Myers, FL

Nice hotel

Posted Jul 9, 2017
Hotel was a very close & easy commute to Ft Bragg, restaurants, shopping etc. All of the staff were friendly and helpful. Would highly recommend.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 10, 2017 by General Manager , Hotel Management
Thank you for being our guest. We are delighted you liked our excellent location as well as our courteous and professional associates. Thanks for your recommendation, and we hope to see you again soon at Extended Stay America - Fayetteville - Owen Dr. Sincerely, General Manager
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from FL

Much to be desired

Posted Jul 3, 2017
Blanket worn holes in it, Linens threadbare. Bed old hard and lumpy. Musty stale smell in entire room. Way too far from I-95. Dante at the front desk on check in was very nice.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 6, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your visit. Although you liked our associate Dante, we apologize for falling short of your expectations. Your feedback is important to us, and we will use it to improve our facilities and service levels going forward. We regret the inconvenience caused and hope you will consider giving us a second chance in the future. Sincerely, General Manager
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Room smelled like smoke and the floor was filthy.

Posted May 20, 2017
The room smelled like smoke and the floors were dirty.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 22, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
I apologize for the smell of smoke you experienced on your stay. We work hard to provide a clean and comfortable environment and I am sorry if the smell compromised your experience. We will follow up on your concerns with our housekeeping team to ensure we are doing everything possible to minimize the impact to our guests. Thank you for your candid feedback, and we hope to welcome you back in the future. Sincerely, General Manager
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Other
by A verified traveler from Fayetteville

Basic hotel not far from downtown

Posted May 17, 2017
Pros: Quiet.
Cons: Maybe ice machines or soda machines.
Location: Starbucks. Arby's. Chinese.
Corner hotel. Not high end but not bottom of the barrel either. Affordable and simple. Great for Military in town for a short stay. Good for business travelers. Not ideal for family. Near food and starbucks. Near Walter Reed hospital.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 17, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Lano, thank you for the feedback about your stay at our hotel. We are happy to know you liked our convenient location and that you were satisfied with our affordable rates. We receive many positive comments regarding our fully equipped kitchens with full size refrigerator which includes ice trays for your convenience. Therefore we do not have ice machines on our property, and we apologize for your disappointment. We hope you give us another chance to serve you better in the future. Sincerely, General Manager
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NC

Nice location of hotel but really smelled

Posted May 3, 2017
Really smelled if cigarette smoke, cigarette burns on the headboard and bathroom, linen was dinghy odorous and ripped, mattress hard as a rock and filthy stains on the carpet, window unit was extremely loud
5 out of 5
by Racquel

Great stay at extended stay

Posted Apr 18, 2017 on Hotels
It was great! Very clean. Very nice girl at the front desk. She was very helpful and did not mind giving me cooking utensils.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 23, 2017 by Manager, Hotel Management
Your feedback is important. Thank you for sharing. It is great to see you valued the cleanliness of our hotel and the great customer service you received from our staff. The staff and I would like to thank you again for posting your review. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future!
5 out of 5
by Tamel

Posted Apr 11, 2017 on Hotels
Great place to stay! Rooms were nice and clean staff was very friendly and welcoming!
Comment from Hotel Management
May 18, 2017 by Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. It is good to know you valued the cleanliness of your room and the service provided by our staff. Thank you again for your review. We look forward to seeing you in the future, should your travels bring you back to our area.
1 out of 5
by Chuck

Nightmare on Owen Dr.

Posted Apr 2, 2017 on Hotels
Made Reservations for a weeks stay, a week or more in advance. Upon checking in, we were informed that since we were only staying 7 nights, there would be NO Maid service. We were told that we needed to bring dirty Linen to the office and exchange it for clean. When we got our belongings in the room and began to get settled in, we found there were NO amenities in the kitchenette for preparing, or eating food.The exhaust fan in the bathroom was covered with dust and dirt. The Shower had Mold all over it. There was hair on the back of the toilet. Cabinets were completely empty. We checked out after staying only one night. Last Night at an Extended Stay. Staff not that Friendly.
5 out of 5
by Allison

Worth it!

Posted Mar 29, 2017 on Hotels
Stay was great. People staying in next room were quite loud waking me up and scary for a women by herself. I guess I am use to hotels providing shampoo and conditioner but other than that it was great! Everything was clean!
Comment from Hotel Management
May 9, 2017 by Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for sharing your experience. First, please accept our apologies for the neighbors being loud and the lack of shampoo. Still, I am pleased you had an excellent stay at our hotel. The staff and I would like to thank you again for posting your review. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future!