Ratings based on 595 Verified Reviews

3.2 out of 5
50% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Minneapolis

Poor experience at this place

Posted Aug 17, 2017
Front desk wouldnt let me check in early (1.5hrs) despite not being at capacity. There was an electrical fire the floor below me after i was checked in an hour. Staff refused to let me cancel my stay because I didnt feel safe stating "you already used the room" so I would have lost my money. Checked credit card and there were 3 charges on my statement I had to call in to have removed..they said they would call back to confirm reimbursement and havent...that was 2 days ago.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 17, 2017
The room was dirty. I called the front desk to complain and got no response from the manager.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seattle, Washington

Posted Aug 11, 2017
Cons: The room didn't have solid curtains that could be closed at night. There was just a sheer curtain that you could see through.
Location: Denny's, Shari's and Biscuits were all close-by brunch places.
I liked that this hotel is close to the Tacoma Dome (main reason for staying there). It also had a small convenience store/section where I could buy a tooth brush and energy drinks since we forgot those things and didn't have time to go to the store. Shampoo, conditioner and body wash were all in a wall dispenser in the shower so you get a lot. Hand soap and lotion was also in a dispenser by the sink. Bed was comfortable, there was also a mini-fridge. I would stay here again before another concert at the Tacoma Dome.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Tolleson AZ

Posted Aug 7, 2017
We stayed for a week it was great, the staff was amazing.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 7, 2017 by Angela, Hotel Management
I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you would recommend us to a friend. We hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from SF Bay Area

Close to restaurants and stores.

Posted Aug 5, 2017
We were able to check in early and we're greeted with friendly service.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 7, 2017 by Angela, Hotel Management
Dear Guest. I appreciate your positive feedback about our hotel. We do take pride in catering to our guests' needs the best way we can. If you're traveling to our area gain soon, don't hesitate to call us.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Spokane

Misleading advertising and website

Posted Jul 31, 2017
Pros: Not much.
Cons: Perhaps you get what you pay for, however I have had much better experiences at other Red Lions.
While checking in, informed there was no elevator. Couldn't find this anywhere on their website - unfortunate since our son has CP and is challenged by stairs. At check in - barely acknowledged my concern much less offered a ground level room. Off their website a "full-service hotel" - however, when I requested another blanket for the night, the front desk instructed me to "come down and get it". Off their website "spacious accommodations" - hardly! Our two queen room, barely had room to walk around the beds - much less be considered spacious. Website indicates Pool closes at 10, instead you get kicked out at 9:30... Stayed three days there and wasn't able to use the slides tried at 9am and 9pm. That was the primary reason we chose this hotel. Finally, to the manager herself who checked us out. The hotel indicates it can charge us $25 for not returning the pool key. At check out I asked for a receipt of returning the key. The manager argued with me for several minutes that this wasn't necessary. If you're going to charge me (after my departure) for something, then I need proof it was returned so there can be no dispute.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Washington State

Uninviting and cold

Posted Jul 30, 2017
First off, the location is sketchy and noisy. However my biggest problem with this hotel was the unfriendly staff who appear to run rogue with lack of management oversight like two employees who brought their baby to work and she screamed in the breakfast area or the pool maintenance guy who had his family swimming with him while working. There are signs everywhere on what you CANNOT do, which makes it feel like living in a college dorm. This hotel is used for bus tours a lot and it's noisy, especially in the mornings starting at 5:00am. We stayed three nights and it was the loudest hotel I have ever stayed at. Really awful. The pool was fun for the kids but the water slides are dependent on whether or not a lifeguard is there and those hours were spotty, plus when the lifeguard was there he was TEXTING ON HIS PHONE! I assume if you are lifeguarding you actually need to be watching the children?? And that's after we signed what seemed like 25 liability waivers just to use it. And it's locked down like Fort Knox...you need wristbands, your room key and a special pool magnetic key. And then no one ever checks the wristbands! And to top it all off the rooms are like putting lipstick on a pig -they appear to be ok but then you start to see the icky parts like carpet that hasn't been vacuumed, rust in the shower, electrical plates that are missing, etc. We will not be back.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from salem Oregon

Humid tiny room of hell

Posted Jul 28, 2017
Room way too small. Vent did not function in bathroom turning room into a sauna. Window was screwed shut. AC was humid. Stairs up and down to first floor. No elevator. No luggage carts. Water slides that are advertised aren't even open except from 330p-930p and 'lifeguard' closed them numerous times to take a break even during that time. Hot tub was dirty and full of soap. Breakfast was a carb feast from Walmart. WIFI does not work. We asked for late check out and the hotel agreed we could check out at noon; hotel staff numerously knocked on the door starting at 930am. They even opened the door uninvited at 10:40am while my husband was in the bathroom and I was wrapping up with my boys at the pool. My husband had to yell through the bathroom door to get out once he relized it was not the kids and I. The 'DO NOT DISTURB' WAS EVEN ON THE DOOR! Their normal check out is 11am so they shouldn't have even been knocking.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from federal way, Wa

Stand your ground. Safety is key

Posted Jul 27, 2017
We checked in. They tried to charge me more than what I paid on expedia. We finally got our room. It was the smallest hotel room I've ever been in for $150 a night. The smoke alarm was ripped out if the wall, when I went to call the front desk the phone wouldn't work.I had to use my cell phone to call. When I told them it was ripped out of the wall she said, oh no- do you want one? Ummm yes, its a federal regulation to have a smoke alarm in a hotel. The housekeeping staff couldnt speak English. The second day. They did put in the smoke alarm after asking for one. Our room was made up very well. They even left my daughters teddy bear on her bed. So we ended up leaving happy. But the first day was enough. We will not stay again. Too much money for all that. The breakfast was good. And hot. Location is great. Except your RIGHT by the freeway. So you hear loud cars all night. Not ideal with a 1 year old. The pictures wouldn't load for some reason. (Yes they were under the 5MP)
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from spokane, wa

Bugs and moldy leftovers

Posted Jul 27, 2017
We had 2 double queen rooms on the bottom floor and the kids were excited about the pool with water slides and couldn't wait to check it out. We checked in, dropped off our things and headed out for dinner and visiting with family. when we returned to the hotel around 10:30 PM after a long day of driving and running around, all any of us wanted we to relax. Upon removing my shoes and walking around the room, the carpet felt sticky and dirty. Not just in one place, but all around, as if it has not been cleaned or replaced in decades. Then, my nephew (who happens to be a proud germaphobe), noticed - dozens of tiny black bugs (to be fair, they did not look like bed bugs) crawling around on the white bedclothes..and curtains, and walls...and then someone else noticed the microwave contained a souvenir forgotten by some prior guest - leftover fried rice, cooked and then left to rot for God-knows-how-long. so as my toddler was crying from exhaustion, I headed Up to the front desk to request different, CLEAN rooms, in hopes it was the basement and not the whole hotel that was the problem. But alas, I was informed there were no other rooms available. We demanded a refund and checked out, leaving ourselves stuck at 11:30 PM with five tired kids and three very grumpy adults and no place to sleep. and the first results in our online search: the same hotel. Hmmm...we ended up driving 20 miles to a cheaper, cleaner days inn in Lakewood.