Ratings based on 145 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Toronto, Canada

A disappointing experience

Posted Feb 26, 2018
Pros: The bed was comfortable, but apart from that not a lot. The property is up for sale and it seems the owners could be going through the motions now.
Cons: Geoff and Lorraine gave a warm welcome but the minimum consideration for a guest's comfort. Essentially, they provided a bed and breakfast.
Location: Rotorua is situated right n the middle of the NZ geo-thermal belt. There are number of active volcanic areas, and also welcoming Maori experiences.
The two nights we spent in this B&B, unfortunately, followed a stay in one of the best B&Bs we have ever been in and this may have coloured our experience. Our hosts, Geoff and Lorraine, are nice people who did try to be helpful - but their bed & breakfast is just that. There was no space to relax. Our little bedroom, while clean, contained just a bed, two bedside tables and a small cabinet. Not even chairs to sit on (although these were supplied on request); no AC; no TV or radio; no en suite (although their other rooms apparently had them). A walk along the hall almost the length of the house was required to visit the bathroom, a nuisance for an elderly guest with a bladder problem; no fridge, although, on request, Geoff did chill some wine and beer for us, but we were refused access to his spare fridge when we needed it - he had to get it for us. We did have access to the kitchen in the morning. The cooked breakfast was modest. Overall, we did not think we received good value - but this may be a reflection on room rates generally in the area..
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 6, 2018 by Geoff and Loraine, Hotel Management
Hi Iain, this is the second poor review you have posted complaining about your room and the fact that it has a detached bathroom. As we previously responded this was the room that you booked. We did not allocate this room to you. The pictures on the Expedia site clearly show the room exactly as it is, although we have recently re-carpeted, and the information about this room states that there is a detached bathroom. We would have happily moved you to one of our en-suite rooms but they were already booked. We object most strongly to your comment that "we are going through the motions" we showed you the utmost hospitality and took great pains to ensure you knew all about our city and what it had to offer. It is a great pity that, after hosting so many wonderful guests during the 7 years we have run our B&B, you have chosen to be so negative but despite this we do hope you enjoyed the rest of your trip.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Surrey

Nice B&B close to centre, friendly helpful owners

Posted Feb 2, 2018
Very central to all amenities in Rotorua. Easy parking, room was clean and comfortable and breakfast was good. The owners were friendly and helpful, recommending places for evening meal etc. They were even able to supply us with dressing gowns as our room was not ensuite and the private bathroom was down the hall!
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 2, 2018 by Loraine and Geoff, Hotel Management
Thank you for your lovely review. It was a pleasure to meet you and we are glad you enjoyed your stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Australia

Very comfortable and friendly

Posted Nov 29, 2017
We had a very comfortable stay. The hosts were extremely welcoming and helpful.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 25, 2018 by Geoff and Loraine, Hotel Management
Thanks Ben, it was great to have you stay with us
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

excellent experience

Posted Nov 26, 2017 on Hotels
host were wonderful, helpful
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 25, 2018 by Geoff and Loraine, Hotel Management
Thank you for your kind comments
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Perfect!

Posted Nov 6, 2017
This is why we like B&B's - very nice accommodations and wonderful owners that add to the enjoyment of your trip.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Auckland

Great B&B, very helpful & accomodating hosts.

Posted Oct 22, 2017
Nothing was a problem for these kind and helpful hosts, the room & bathroom was very clean & comfortable. Awesome homemade muesli too!
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 6, 2017 by Z, Hotel Management
Thank Matt, it was a pleasure to meet you. Kind regards Geoff and Loraine
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 6, 2017
Very good small hotel with careful personal. Delicious breakfast!!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kent UK

Great Hospitality

Posted Mar 5, 2017
A warm welcome and very informative of the area. Clean and comfortable B & B. A 30 min stroll into town.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from UK

Disappointing

Posted Feb 17, 2017
Pros: Decent location within walking distance of the town centre.
Cons: Rooms should be serviced each day, Bigger choice at breakfast, TV's in room, leave it for guests to ask you for advice on attractions if they want it.
Location: Too many to mention
Poor experience not the one expected given this B&B's rating and costs, did not feel this was value for money. We stayed the previous night in Taupo on the lake at a cheaper B&B and its facilities, breakfast & the service was first class.This B&B was certainly disappointing by comparison. Nice hosts but feel this is very much a money making business. As soon as we walked in the door we were sat down, given a cup of tea & felt like we were at a hotel 'welcome and selling meeting' to realise they were selling tickets for local attractions which we didn't appreciate, although fully aware this is our opinion. There for a two night stay, but the room wasn't touched during our stay, dirty cups left on tea tray, bed not made and the requested 'milk' for tea and coffee not forthcoming, although was given to us when we asked again. No TV in the room, like to have the choice to watch TV if I wanted to. Breakfast was ok but little choice, if you don't like Muesli no other choice of cereal, bacon & eggs ok so long as you like your eggs scrambled, again no other option offered. Really don't like leaving reviews like this but we wouldn't return to this B&B.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Tasmania, Australia

Feels like home

Posted Feb 12, 2017 on Wotif
I was really welcome. The owners were helpful with my needs, rooms were absolutely clean.