Ratings based on 14 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from london

A welcoming atmosphere.Impeccable Service and Food

Posted Dec 24, 2015
We were welcomed warmly by the staff on our way to Vebier upgraded to 2 beautiful suites and we are stopping over on our way back to london.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from florida

Opportunity to stay in a castle.

Posted Oct 17, 2015
Great opportunity to stay in a castle. Restaurant was good but very expensive. Nothing else close by to eat. That said it was a good experience. Albeit, it was a bit musty and stuffy- I guess that's how castles were. Staff was excellent. Restaurant staff was friendly. Bathrooms nice with rainwater shower head and bathtub type shower. Ruins were fun to walk through.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Beautiful location

Posted Sep 20, 2015
Pros: Outstanding architecturally: both the chateau, & the impressive medieval fortress & 18C ruin. Charming staff.
Cons: There are several question marks concerning overall management.
Location: Champagne area
Fabulous setting & interior, & very good staff. Michelin restaurant of good standard but our top-price menu gastronomique (90€) not outstanding. Choice on lesser menu too limited & not well balanced (both meat starter & main course duck). 2 mysterious glasses of champagne arrived unordered - but later charged (taken off next morning). Bedroom specifications apparently luxurious but quite impractical: eg rolltop bath with shower above - with no way of stopping water flow down the back.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 17, 2015
Very nice hotel however the meals are expensive. The setting is fantastic and the hotel facilities are ver good.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

what a beautiful place !!

Posted Jun 29, 2015
Wonderful, romantic chateau/hotel. Food was superb - by all means, the best beef we ever had, anywhere !. Staff was most friendly and could not do enough to make our stay more pleasant. We truly cherished our stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from cookley,wocestershire

Romantic break

Posted Jun 24, 2015
Food excellant,location perfect,staff friendly and professionnel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Houston, Texas

Gorgeous, unique, utterly charming, & a bit stinky

Posted Aug 16, 2014
This hotel is a unique experience. Rooms are in an old château built next to the crumbling remains of an even older château. We arrived at sunset while peach-colored rabbits nibbled on the lawn. A very charming gentleman who spoke perfect English showed us our room, a huge junior suite with a view of the ruins. We dined in the hotel restaurant, a lovely room with a view of the countryside. Sunset that night, at about 9:30, was a spectacular sight. Dinner was not so spectacular, though. The hotel permits children in the dining room, and unfortunately, one group included a screaming infant and two ambulatory children whose parents let them leave their seats and run between the tables. We were shocked not only by the rude parents, but that the hotel allowed this behavior, since the restaurant takes itself very seriously and is rather pricey. But, after dinner, we walked through the ruins by moonlight, and that made up for the obnoxious children. The hotel staff is lovely and accommodating. They met our every requirement cheerfully, exceeding our expectations. When we asked for help to rectify a problem with a Reims restaurant bill, the handsome young man at the front desk took over and took care of it. The stinky - there is a faint scent throughout the hotel of faulty plumbing. It is an ancient building and it doesn't have modern pipes. If plumbing is what you want, stay at a hotel in the airport. But if you're looking for a uniquely charming experience, come here!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Nick from Switzerland

A special treat

Posted Apr 27, 2014
Pros: Everything was so impressive, but the restaurant was stunning.
Cons: Nothing
Location: A bit isolated, but good transport links.
This was booked as a stopover on a long journey, and it was a real treat. The setting is stunning and the whole experience was so memorable from the adjacent ruins to the exceptional standard of food in the restaurant. We will certainly be back as this is a real find.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Richard from California

Luxurious, well-appointed, comfortable rooms

Posted Dec 3, 2013
Pros: Old world charm, very nice restaurant, restful atmosphere
Cons: There was a faint odor of sewage near reception entrance
Location: In a in forest setting outside of small village of Tardenois. Chateau-Theirry and Rheims 20-40 mins. Dramatic WW I battle sites nearby
Stayed one night only. Visited nearby American cemetery, Enjoyed short hikes and beauty of landscape.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Lauren from Copenhagen

Romantic getaway

Posted May 29, 2013
Pros: Restaurant, view of ruins, junior suite very nice
Cons: Spa was not completed
Location: Quite far from other towns, Champagne attractions
Unfortunately the spa was not completed, despite being advertised on the website. We received a EUR 50 discount when we complained. The spa looked great though! Lucky guests who will enjoy it when it's finished. Beautiful gardens and view of the ruins. Lovely to sit outside and enjoy a drink in the sun on the couches. Great restaurant! Best food of our trip!