Ratings based on 10 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from York

Stunning property

Posted May 23, 2015
Pros: Stunning location, beautiful building, peaceful.
Cons: Until the rules regarding the re-use of historic buildings are changed it would be difficult to implement improvements eg pool, wi-fi.
Location: Lots of great places and historic cities to visit in the locality if you have a car, otherwise very quiet near the hotel.
It is a shame that restrictions on improvements to this listed historic building mean that some amenities we take for granted in the 21st Century are not able to be provided - eg poor wi fi, no pool, no bath, no lift to upper floor (difficult stairs with luggage over 20kgs & no porter), poor tv coverage (no English speaking channel at all - not even news). However - if you want to get away from it all and have a break in a quiet and stunning authentic location - then this fits the bill. We normally only chose five star accommodation & had just arrived from a five star hotel in Capri - the difference was startling, and it took us a day or two to adjust. I have to say that the lack of our usual luxuries was in the end quite therapeutic, especially when surrounded by such stunning natural beauty, and it prompted us to revalue the importance of all the stuff we usually have and the effort we put into acquiring it. Staff are friendly and there is a good restaurant adjacent (within the grounds).
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Milano

Un'oasi di pace e storia in mezzo al verde

Posted Aug 31, 2014
Pros: L'Abbazia in sè è un posto assolutamente unico e le colline verdi che la circondano la rendono favolosa
Cons: Siamo rimasti solo una notte e per il poco tempo che siamo rimasti siamo soddisfatti
Location: La posizione è bellissima e la colazione ottima, varia ed abbondante. I dintorni sono il centro Italia, con le belle città e l'ottimo cibo della zona
Di ritorno da una bella vacanza in Puglia, ma con spiagge e mare estremamente popolati e concitati, abbiamo trovato un'oasi di pace, frescura e bellezza che ha spezzato e rasserenato il viaggio di ritorno al nord.
4 out of 5
by Erik from Nijkerk, Nederland

Ons verblijf in Abbazia San Pietro In Valle

Posted Aug 10, 2013
Pros: Ligging, uitzicht, entourage, sfeer
Cons: Naastgelegen restaurant, douchecabine, het ontbreken van een zwembad.
Mooi gelegen hotel in voormalig klooster. Parkeren kan onder de olijfbomen waarna het een stukje omhooglopen is naar de kamers. Kamers zijn ruim en authentiek en voorzien van airco. De douchecabines zijn erg krap en ongeschikt voor meer corpulente mensen. Het ontbijt is een uitgebreid buffet met voldoende keuze en bij mooi weer eet je op de binnenplaats. Voor het diner is er een restaurant, gelegen naast het klooster. Dit is er een uit de categorie "grote borden, kleine porties" en is erg aan de prijs. In de regio zijn voldoende goedkopere alternatieven. In de tuin kun je heerlijk in de schaduw zitten. Een plek om lekker tot rust te komen.
5 out of 5
by Steve C from Chester, Cheshire West and Chester, UK

The most peaceful place on earth.

Posted Jul 2, 2013
Pros: Everything, the location, the building , the history, the food, the peace and quiet.
Cons: Nothing
Location: About a mile from the main road, winding up a narrow road, nestling in the side of a mountain with fantastic views across the valley .
The most amazing hotel we have ever stayed in,anywhere in the world. Being here in this restored Benedictine Monastery is an experience we shall never forget. Family owned and run nothing is too much trouble. Our room for three nights was incredible, apparently all 19 rooms are different, ours had an old stone fireplace and stone cubby holes with a wooden and beamed ceiling,just as it was when a Monks cell in the 15th century. The views out across the valley from the cell like windows were stupendous. Eating breakfast in the sun drenched cloisters was a wonderful way to start the day. The restaurant although physically a part of the building is a seperate entity,owned and managed by a couple of ladies who are obviously foodies of the highest order. Each night we had something different, beautifully cooked and presented, all local produce. The peace and tranquility was something to be believed, a 9th century church as part of the buildings, added to this sense of wonderment and provided an answer to why Monks would choose to live here, miles from anywhere. If you want peace you will find it here big style!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Mougins

Abbazia San Pietro In Valle

Posted Aug 3, 2011 on Hotels
Abbaye rénovée en hôtel, fantastique, magique et dépaysant! De nombreuses activités nature dans l'environnement vert et montagneux de l'Ombrie. A recommander pour les personnes voulant se déconnecter complètement et se ressourcer!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

A hotel to write home about

Posted Sep 2, 2009 on Hotels
Lovely surroundings, most friendly staff. Not many things to do ... but is the right place to enjoy being immersed in mediaeval ambience.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New Orleans, LA

Incredible Umbria experience

Posted Jul 9, 2009
My family spent two nights at the Abbazia, and we didn't want to leave! The site is gorgeous, easy to find, close to Assisi, Perugia, Spoleto, etc, but secluded. It's like arriving in another world. The rooms were very nice, and we were able to have connecting rooms for the family. Waking up to breakfast in the cloister is a not-to-be-missed experience. We would stay here again at any given opportunity. What an amazing chance to experience something so authentic and peaceful.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from toulouse, france


Posted Apr 10, 2009
site magique, batiment historique exceptionnel
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 4, 2007 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Dudelange, Luxembourg

cet hôtel perdu au fond de l'Ombrie vaut le détour

Posted Aug 28, 2006
hôtel très charmant et paisible