Ratings based on 17 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.4 out of 5
71% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from chaska mn

Posted Jul 29, 2015
Pros: location
Cons: air quality in room
Location: restaurants near by
The bed and floor felt wet from the dampness. Made for an uncomfortable stay. Very musty air. Could not cancel or get money back as we went thru expedia instead of hotel.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not a good value for the price.

Posted Jul 20, 2015
Pros: It's fairly easy to get to from the freeway.
Cons: Firmer beds. Quieter HVAC. Clean (or burn!) the carpets. Relocate the breakfast room.
Location: Recreational and sightseeing opportunities abound in Otter Tail County. Central Lakes bicycle trail is highly recommended.
The rooms and guest facilities seem to have changed little since I last visited this hotel in the 1970s. Considering their age, it's not *that* bad, but be prepared for: (1) noisy HVAC units in the rooms (2) hallways reeking of chlorine from the pool (3) a truly depressing windowless breakfast room. If you plan to take your shoes off in the rooms, don't wear white socks, as they will quickly reveal just how gross the carpets are.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

good

Posted Jul 18, 2015
Everything was really nice, but you need to get a fan service for your bathrooms to keep it from steaming up walls and mirrors, also a way to keep the smell of chlorine out of the rooms. I k ow mine was next to the pool,and that might br pretty hard to do. Otherwise I thought it was great!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

nice hotel

Posted Sep 16, 2014
Pros: comfy bed
Cons: shower cleanliness
We requested a pool view room, which we got. However, you couldn't go from the room to the pool without climbing over the wall or going down the hall and around the corner. I had expected direct access. The shower had mold in it. It was easily removable as I wiped it off with my finger. This tells me that they do not clean the showers good enough. Bleach spray would get rid of it. The bed was comfy though and the breakfast was good. Also, we had a "suite" but it was very small. Not anything that I was expecting for a suite.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 29, 2014
Pros: The night clerk went beyond her duty to help us. Extremely pleased with her.
Good nights rest. The night clerk was extremely helpfull.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

nasty odor

Posted Jul 14, 2014
Pros: Comfortable bed, hearty breakfast.
Cons: Change out the carpet and wallpaper in rooms that formerly were smoking rooms.
We stayed here only because the Americinn was all booked up. The bed was comfortable, the room reasonably clean, and the complimentary breakfast pretty decent. However, there was a strong, unpleasant chemical odor and an undertone of old cigarette smoke in the supposedly nonsmoking room. Also, the plumbing and HVAC were rather noisy. Given the rather high room rate, one should be able to expect much better.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

swimming with the grandkids

Posted Jun 3, 2013
nice pool and hot tub Your review won't let me out
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Susan from Cleveland, OH

Great for the single female traveler

Posted May 31, 2013
The hotel and staff were great! The employees were very friendly and ready to please. In fact, they anticipated all of my needs. As a female who travels long distances alone, I felt very safe and enjoyed my stay.
2 out of 5
by Jenny

Only if you're desperate

Posted May 11, 2013
Cons: Tear it down.
This is your grand mother's motel. We only stayed here because all hotels in the Fargo area were full. We would never have stayed here if we had not pre-paid thru Expedia. I vote Expedia take this property off your list. I have not idea where the photo on the review page was taken. We never saw that view/angle. The rooms have not been updated since the 70's. Our room had no egress windows, no fresh air, and no way to know that the sun was up in the morning.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Was hoping for a nice romantic weekend with my wif

Posted Aug 14, 2012
The hotel staff and bar staff were very good. The weather was not the best and we were on a motorcycle with rain and cool themps. Would have been nice if there had been some type of entertainment in the bar/restaurant. There was a stage area, but they said that there was only entertainment during the late fall and winter months.