Ratings based on 45 Verified Reviews

3.0 out of 5
67% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
2.9 Room comfort
2.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Ski in ski out what more could you ask for!

Posted Jan 16, 2017
Good people, room was dated but was all we needed, will definitely stay again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from alberta

ski right to the door

Posted Dec 27, 2016
We were very pleased, you are right at the base off the hill. Staff was very nice, even made it possible to have a late check out. price was fantastic. would definitely stay here again!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from BC,Canada

Fernie Resort on a Budget

Posted Aug 29, 2016
Pros: Cheap, close to the hill
Cons: Apparently checkin is available till 11pm. We arrived at 10:30pm and it was closed and had to go find lizard lodge.
Nice location, cheap, was a bit sore after a nights sleep there though (not sure if it was the bed though).
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 3, 2016 by Fernie Slopeside Lodge, Hotel Management
Dear Reuben, thank you for your review. During the summer season our Reception closes earlier. The Lizard Creek Lodge, where the keys are to be collected after hours, is located a short 3 min drive away, and we provide map at the door for easy reference. We apologize for the inconvenience. I'm glad that you liked our on-mountain location, with easy access to the chairlifts and various outdoor activities. We are indeed the most affordable accommodation on the hill. Kind regards, France Prud'homme Fernie Slopeside Lodge
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Ski resort rooms

Posted Aug 12, 2016
The Slopeside is a winter resort with off winter fill-ins. The office was not open when Expedia claimed it was.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 28, 2016 by Fernie Slopeside Lodge, Hotel Management
Dear Brad, thank you for your feedback. The Fernie Slopeside Lodge is open during the winter and the summer operating season, offering affordable on-mountain accommodations to outdoor enthusiasts. During the summer months, our reception is open until 4pm Sunday to Thursday, and until 8pm Friday & Saturday. Check-in outside these hours are to be made at our sister resort Lizard Creek Lodge, a short drive or walk away. Kind regards, France Prud'homme Fernie Slopeside Lodge
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Lethbridge, AB

Too hot in summer... Bad customer service

Posted Aug 3, 2016
No air conditioning ...small beds. The worst was we had to go to another hotel to check in and out.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 28, 2016 by Fernie Slopeside Lodge, Hotel Management
Dear Lisa, thank you for your review. Please allow me this opportunity to apologize for the inconveniences you experienced during your stay. It is true that our Reception has limited hours during the summer and guests checking in after 4pm Sun-Thur and after 8pm Fri-Sat need to do so at our sister resort, located a short 2-min drive away. We are committed to providing our guests with the highest customer service, and we sincerely regret if we fell short of our goal in this instance. I can assure you that our staff have been reminded of the importance of delivering outstanding welcome to all our guests. It is our hope that you will give us another chance to turn your experience around on your next visit to Fernie. Kind regards, France Prud'homme / Fernie Slopeside Lodge
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Taylors Falls

fun at fernie

Posted Mar 31, 2016
Pros: clean and convenient
Cons: breakfast would be nice
Location: ski, ski ski
very friendly staff. Clean rooms and very convenient to slopes.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from BC, Canada

Great Location, Decent Hotel

Posted Mar 29, 2016
Pros: Location. Dog Friendly.
Cons: Hot Tub Location !!! Smell of Chlorine :( Maybe some room updates ?! Cheaper price or include breakfast.
Location: Quick drive to town, walking distance to slopes.
We loved the location of the hotel, couldn't possible be closer to the mountain. We were on the bottom floor which was great for packing our stuff into the room and taking the dog out, however the hot tubs are on the bottom floor, in one of the rooms...which was a few doors down from our room. When we first walked towards our room the smell of chlorine was like a punch in the face. I have a mild allergy to chlorine, so I spent the 1st night with a horrible headache, runny nose, etc :( The beds were a little uncomfortable. The rooms a little dated. Also when we arrived, we were only 1 of 5 people in the hotel and one of the only other guests were placed directly above us....the walls/floors aren't really sound proof so when they woke up - we woke up. I would 'maybe' stay here again...I wish the price was a little cheaper for what you get :(
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Calgary, AB

Great stay right at the bottom of the hill

Posted Feb 8, 2016
Stayed at the Slopeside with a few friends to enjoy Fernie's hills for the weekend. The Slopeside is your average hotel that is located in the resort's plaza, just walking distance to lifts, shops and restaurants. Our room was clean, well-sized, comfy, and had a mini fridge and microwave which was really convenient. There are two 5-person hot tubs on the first floor and ski lockers for each room. Overall, the Slopeside was good value and we were very happy with our stay.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Fernie experience

Posted Jan 15, 2016
When planning our recent trip I was fortunate to grab a cheap hotel room for about $115/night. This was about a $100 savings over their regular price. Glad I didn't pay $225/night. Not worth the $115. Beds are hard, the bathroom tub was covered in rust, even the hot tubs had seen better days. The only positive is it was right at the base of the hotel
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 2, 2016
Bedding sheets have a lot of hairs, seems not changed from previous guest.