Ratings based on 188 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Calgary, AB

Don't Rush to Stay at Lizard Creek Lodge

Posted Aug 22, 2015
Pros: The bed was comfortable.
Cons: Repairs to the problem in the room & room cleanliness.
Location: Beautiful scenery & many things to see & do. Mountain biking, hiking, fishing, boating plus many things to do in Fernie as well.
The staff were not friendly. My condo unit was in a bit of disrepair - a toilet that wouldn't flush properly & was loose on the floor. Scuffs on the walls of the unit. Also, my TV would randomly turn itself off & no one could figure out why. Also the unit could have used a thorough cleaning, especially the bathroom. Housekeeping is supposed to come in on a daily basis & they only showed up 2 times (I was there 4 full days). The hot tub in my building (there are 3 buildings) was not working the entire time I was there (I stayed 5 nights). Lastly, I found the "dining room" to be pretentious, grossly overpriced & the food was definitely not great. I would not recommend this hotel to anyone nor will I be going back.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 19, 2015
Great accommodation. The room was very clean, spacious and well-appointed.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Beautiful facility and location, awful service

Posted Aug 18, 2015
Pros: The location is incredible, the views are stunning, and the rooms are quite nicely proportioned.
Cons: The staff could be trained and sheets actually cleaned.
Location: Very near Fernie, good restaurants like the Loaf, the Northern, and Big Bang Bagels. Island Lake is beautiful and has lots of hiking and biking.
The lodge is located in a gorgeous area in the Fernie Ski Resort, very conveniently located by the chair lifts and Adventure Center. Our room was quite nicely furnished and had more than enough space for us, a spacious kitchen and two bathrooms! Unfortunately the cleaning staff was not ready for a rather late check in time of 4pm and we waited with several other parties to get access to our rooms. The check in attendant had clearly never been trained on how to do her job and every task seemed to confuse and/or frighten her. She seemed very well meaning and eager to please but no one has actually told her what it is she's employed to do. When we made it to our room we immediately collapsed onto the king sized bed... which we quickly discovered still had a lot of hair on the sheets and pillow cases that was NOT ours. Calling down to the front desk yielded nothing so we went to the main building when we returned from dinner. The prospect of forcing the poor, untrained front desk attendant to make our bed just seemed cruel so we got a pile of sheets and pillow cases and made the bed ourselves.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great place at a great price!

Posted Aug 17, 2015
We had a great stay at the Lizard Creek Hotel. The only downside which was not the fault of the hotel was that the pool was not operational as it was being fixed. The grounds and the hotel were fabulous. They also provided a continental breakfast which we didn't know but were very pleased with.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Lethbridge

on a ski hill

Posted Aug 17, 2015
Pros: Rustic build
Location: Mountains
We stayed here on a hot summer weekend and our stay was very pleasant. Check in was behind schedule, due to a music festival in town, but we received complimentary drinks on the patio with a beautiful view, so no worries!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

comfortable and nice, but ....

Posted Aug 13, 2015
We made a couple of visits to the pool during our stay, neither time were there any pool towels available. Our hotel room had chips on the floor. There has hair on the duvet cover, gross!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Minnesota

Best bargain in a long time!!

Posted Aug 12, 2015
Pros: Friendly staff, nice scenery, quiet sleeping, comfortable quarters
Cons: Breakfast was overcrowded and the one man could not keep up with the late crowd heavy demand, so we had to wait for almost everything to arrive.
Location: Hike around the ski and bike resort, drive up to Kootenay Park
We were simply amazed at the professional reception we got upon arrival--the young man answered all our questions very thoroughly. Then the room itself was beyond nice--it was like a home...huge place, clean and well decorated; fireplace, two bathrooms, kitchen, kingsize bed and quiet sleeping at night...way beyond our expectations. Highly recommended. Plus they threw in two free lift tickets we could use the next day to try out the chair lift up the slopes. This was like a mini vacation to the Swiss Alps.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Lethbridge, Alberta

We got a great deal through Expedia.

Posted Aug 10, 2015
Really enjoyed our 2 night stay. Lodge staff through in complementary lift ticket passes). Room with a great view of the ski hill was great for our family (could have been a bit cleaner). Continental breakfast was better than expected from reading other reviews (a little more fruit would be great). Starbucks Coffee was great! Hot tub was out of order, but adjacent buildings had working tubs.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel, right on the hill

Posted Aug 5, 2015
Great location. Has all the amenedies. Perfect if your traveling in a group.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Regina, SK, Canada

Family vacation - perfect!

Posted Aug 5, 2015
Pros: Everything about this hotel is top notch, with the exception of the complimentary breakfast.
Cons: Breakfast - change the room layout to avoid the congestion. Get a couple more toasters. Improve the food selection and ensure it is stocked.
My family (2 x 5yr old) came to Fernie for a 4 day vacation (July 26-29, 2015) and I got a fantastic rate from Expedia (50% I believe) on a 1 bedroom w/loft (3 beds). When we got to the hotel we were pleasantly greeted by a very friendly employee. He informed me that we had been upgraded to a 2 bedroom unit. Well the room far exceeded our expectations! The master bedroom had a king bed, ensuite bathroom with Jacuzzi tub, TV and a door to the small deck (with BBQ). The second bedroom had two queen beds (one for each kid!) and large closet. The bedrooms, at either end of the condo, were separated by a dining area, full size kitchen with everything, a nice living area with two couches, TV, gas fireplace and door to the deck, and a full bathroom. There was also in-suite washer/dryer! Everything was in fantastic, newer condition and very clean. If I had one complaint about the room, it would be the shower - this place has HUGE water pressure, and the shower head had many small orifices - the result was like little lasers of water hitting your body! Very minor in the scheme of things :-) There was an underground parkade which was nice. As for the rest of the hotel... The complimentary continental breakfast left a lot to be desired, so we bought groceries and had breakfast in the room. The pool was great. Service in the restaurant was slow but friendly. The location was terrific.