Ratings based on 84 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 28, 2017
Cons: The staff was very friendly and helpful.😀
We were very pleased with are stay and would recommend it to friends and family.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 1, 2017 by Veronique , Hotel Management
Hello and thank you for staying with us! We appreciate your comments and hope to see you again! Summer in Fernie is amazing, we have Free townie bike rentals! Regards Veronique
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Manitoulin Island, ON

Clean, rustic motel close to restaurants,& trails

Posted Mar 14, 2017
Pros: Simple basic needs met. Clean ,beds comfy,,kitchen outfitted with dishes, etc Bought steaks at butcher next door, & used motel's BBQ--wonderful!!
Cons: no improvement needed
Location: Within walking distance of downtown, restaurants, trails & river. Ski hill 20 minutes drive.
We were able to BBQ, even in winter! There is a beautiful, clean hot tub, & bicycles to use, even ones with snow tires!. A great ski holiday. Thank you We will always come here when visiting family. Staff friendly & very helpful.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 16, 2017 by Danielle, Hotel Management
Hi Janet. Thank you so much for the great review. We are thrilled you had a 5/5 stay! We pride ourselves on our clean rooms and fantastic staff. The fat bikes have been so popular this year! Thanks again for your kind words. We look forward to hosting you next time. Kind regards
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Calgary

Excellent digs for the price!

Posted Feb 27, 2017
Pros: Inexpensive and clean. Excellent value I thought
Location: Excellent restaurants nearby. Easy drive to the mountain.
Super friendly and helpful staff! Rooms were clean and comfortable, hot tub room is smallish but adequate, the kids went down and the adults just visited in the room, not for partiers, there were four of us chatting and laughing in the room and received a noice complaint from the neighbours at 9:30. No big deal, we were ready to shut it down anyway. BBQ is available if you want to bring something to cook. Fridges are large, microwave and coffee pot. What more does one need? Will definitely stay here again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 2, 2017 by Danielle, Hotel Management
Hi Laurelea! Thanks for taking the time to review our motel. We loved having all of you and are thrilled you had a great stay. Thank you for being understanding about the noise complaint; it is always a tough balance trying to manage different groups over the busy periods. We are glad it didn't impact your stay! We look forward to seeing you again soon. Kind regards
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 21, 2017
Overall it's good. But the noise level was a little bit higher than other motels. It's was very easy to hear the neighbors.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 22, 2017 by Danielle, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to review our motel. We are sorry you found the noise an issue. We always try our best to manage the noise levels in the motel, but it does prove difficult over our busy periods when every room is occupied. A tip for next time is the upper level rooms are less affected by noise (and also have the better views!). We will be sure to put you in one of those rooms if you visit us in the future. We are glad you had an enjoyable stay otherwise. Thanks again. Kind regards
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 27, 2017
Staff is very friendly. Room was clean. Will definitely stay there again next time im in fernie!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 27, 2017 by Danielle, Hotel Management
Thanks for taking the time to review our motel. We are thrilled you had great customer service and approved of our rooms. We have been working hard in the last couple of months to update them all. We look forward to hosting you next time! Kind regards
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from British Columbia

Convenient and personable staff.

Posted Dec 28, 2016
Pros: Personality of staff and convenience.
Cons: Parking or enforcement of a guest only policy.
Location: There is hiking, skiing, and cycling. you could easily find something to keep you occupied for a couple of days.
On a business trip. Last minute requirement for overnight stay. Hotel was reasonably priced and close to work location. Parking was limited due to trucks with trailers and people parking using up 2 stalls. There were also vehicles parked in guest spots that were visiting. This was evident by the empty spaces early in the morning. (I left at 5am).
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 29, 2016 by Danielle , Hotel Management
Hi Dave Thanks for taking the time to review our motel. We are pleased to know you appreciated our friendly staff! Our apologies about the parking situation. It is always a difficult time of the year being our peak season, but we will definitely take your comments into account and move forward with a stricter policy. Thanks again and we hope to see you again next time you are passing through. Kind regards, Danielle
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 19, 2016
Don't go when it is really cold because the hot tub & room doors do not work properly.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 24, 2016 by Danielle, Hotel Management
Hi and thank you for leaving us a review. We hope you enjoyed your stay otherwise and hope you will think of us when returning to Fernie. You are correct, we had problems with our hot tub air pump and room locks during your stay. This was because Fernie recently had a ridiculous cold snap spanning over a week where the temperatures were as low as -27. Our room doors and locks suffered as a result, but we were readily available to deal with these issues and did so to the best of our ability. Our hot tub was also affected by the sudden drop in temperatures; but it was never out of action. It was only the air pump that was affected; the hot tub itself was still open and available. The air pump has since been fixed but luckily the temperatures have now risen and we are sitting at a balmy -3.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Close to the pubs, cheap and awesome staff

Posted Dec 7, 2016
They lend out bikes to ride to the pubs or just go for a leisure cruise. Front desk staff is awesome and the rooms are great for the price
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 8, 2016 by Danielle, Hotel Management
Hi Jamie - thanks for the review! Glad you guys enjoyed your stay. Sorry you didn't have a chance to use the bikes but hope you had a great day up the mountain. Cheers!
5 out of 5
by Sharmon

Posted Aug 28, 2016 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 5, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Hello Sharmon, Thank you so much for your unworded 5 star rating, sometimes silence screams loader than words! So happy that you enjoyed your stay. Best Regards Jason Burt
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Red Deer, Alberta

Reasonable price, and comfortable. Free Bikes!

Posted Aug 13, 2016
Pros: Complimentary bikes. Enough beds for my family in the family suite. Nothing fancy, but reasonably priced. Barbecue for guest use. Also a hot tub.
Cons: Clean fridge. Darker curtains.
Location: Central location. Walking trails nearby, shopping nearby. Movie theatre. Close by restaurants. Lots of fun going up The scenic ski lift ride.
My family and I rented the family suite. It was very roomy, with enough beds for us all, however there was no door on the master suite... a bit disappointing. The bathrooms and bedding was very clean, however the fridge and kitchen window sill were very dirty. A bit outdated, but overall, very comfortable. The hotel is in a good central location. When we arrived the front desk woman was very nice and helpful, great service! We were pleased to find out that the hotel offers free bike rental and has four bikes available. We took advantage of this, and my whole family enjoyed a beautiful ride around Fernie.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 15, 2016 by Jason Burt, Hotel Management
Hello Susan, Thank you for your review. We recently purchased the bikes and are very happy that you made good use of them. Fernie has such great trails, so along with our great central location it would be a crime not to take advantage of them! Kind Regards