Ratings based on 47 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Good location to walk to Central Ferrara

Posted Jul 26, 2014
Pros: Location, large room
Cons: Breakfast, and instructions about parking Reception did not speak much English
Location: Castello Estense, palazzo Schifanoia
The hotel itself was good, and our room was large and cleansing nice clean marble floors. But! The breakfast was not great even by Italian standards. There was no fruit at all. The cheese, ham and even the bread was not renewed so some poor people we saw come in and only have a sweet cake for breakfast. Even the hot water was not renewed so we were not able to make a hot drink. The other problem of course was parking. This can be overcome if you park in the Car Park at the end of the road, called Parceggio Travaglia where you pay 1 Euro 80 per hour, and unload; and then move the car to Parceggio Storico Centro, both of these within walking distance of the hotel. Ferrara itself is just fantastic and worth a stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Birmingham, UK

Good choice

Posted Jul 7, 2014
Pros: See above!
Cons: Nothing - everything worked well for me.
Location: Very near the cathedral and castle. Food options nearby.
I had a very comfortable stay here - the hotel was very clean, the breakfast was good and the hotel well-positioned. I thought it was good value and would stay here again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Budget tourist from York

Very Good Hotel - shame about the service.

Posted Apr 15, 2014
Pros: Good location, very good rooms
Cons: Making clear if breakfast is included. Expedia said it was, the manager said i ha paid for room only. Eventually he relented and let us have breakfast
Location: The castle and cathedral are a must. have an ice cream and go to the esti bar for dinner. Would be worth making a reservation as it is very busy.
Room is excellent. Very clean and modern. I knew parking would be a problem so i asked for advice when i booked through expedia and I also emailed the hotel in Italian asking for advice. No reply. Don't make the mistake i did by leaving my car in the car park on a sunday night. It cost me 130 euro's in fines the following day. Would have been nice if the staff had made this clear or answered my email. Apart from this it was good.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by ziad

very good hotel and the staff very kindness

Posted Oct 9, 2013
the room is big and the hotel very good and near to city center
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Modest but worthy

Posted Jun 12, 2013
Located in the old ghetto district, full of narrow streets and close to excellent hidden restaurants. A bit noisy on a weekend evening. Apparently family-run; very helpful and attentive. Breakfast limited. Our electronic card-key failed to open the street door on a Sunday afternoon, but the proprietor was quick to come to our help.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from New Zealand

Great little hotel in the historic town center

Posted Oct 17, 2010
We were looking for somewhere clean, with parking and internet access, and to our benefit we also got a location that was slap in the middle of a historic town centre, that made us feel like we were away from the hustle and bustle. Exactly what we were looking for, nice hosts (not a great deal of English), and a comfortable stay. Breakfast the next morning was more than adequate, and lots of places to eat in the surrounding area.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from new hampshire

no office to check into.

Posted Oct 30, 2009
the apt. was in a great location. However when we got there there was no one to meet us and no way to get into the apt. the only phone # we had was a skype # and we got an answering machine. We did not have phones so we had to ask a store keeper across the street to call for us. We waited quite awhile before someone showed up with the keys. It was a very confusing experience in a different country. The young man that come to give us the keys and show us the apt. was very nice and very helpful. Then I found out that my credit card was not charged at the time of booking and this young man did not take credit cards........only cash. I had to go to an atm and get cash to pay for the apt.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Attersee

Gute Lage

Posted Sep 24, 2016
Pros: Mitten in der Altstadt
Cons: In der Beschirmung stand Frühstück, haben aber keines bekommen…
Location: Altstadt-Besichtigung
Wir waren auf der Reise in den Süden und machten auf halben Weg in Ferrara halt. Wir hatten gebucht, die Bewertungen haben uns veranlasst dieses Hotel zu wählen und wir wussten, dass es kein Luxus-Zimmer ist. Es ist für 2 Personen viel zu eng, und der Komfort hält sich selbst für 3 Sterne in Grenzen. Aber OK für eine Nacht! Wir mussten per Telefon den Hauseigentümer (?) rufen den wir standen eine Weile im Regen vorm Eingang. Dann gab es nicht einmal ein Hallo oder so etwas. Unfreundlich, mürrisch und eigentlich unerwünscht. OK - ist ja nur eine Nacht. Wer bei Klima schlafen kann, sollte diese nutzen und die Fenster schließen oder erst in der früh zu Bett gehen. Ich habe bei dem Straßenlärm nur eine Stunde geschlafen und bin eigentliche nicht empfindlich. Wir hatten Zimmer mit Frühstück gebucht, Zimmer ja, Frühstück nein. Auf die Frage bei Herrn Unfreundlich, ob wir Kaffee bekommen könnten gab es ein schlichtes aber verständliches NO. Sollten wir wieder nach Ferrara kommen, gibt es für San Romano ein verständliches aber schlichtes NO.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Bel hôtel bien situé mais murs minces

Posted May 6, 2016
Nous somme arrivés à 13:00 au lieu de 14:00, heure d'arrivée indiquée.C'était le première fois en deux semaines qu'il a vraiment fallu attendre à 14:00 essentiellement parce qu'il n'y avait personne à la réception. L'hôtel par ailleurs est joli, propre et est près du centre historique de Ferrara. Le petit déneuner est très bien. Seul bémol, les murs sont très minces et le ronflement du voisin nous a éveillé durant la nuit.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Milano

Vacanza a Ferrara

Posted Jan 6, 2016
Pros: posizione strategica eccellente per visitare la citta
Cons: ciolazione essenziale
Location: Posizione eccellente, vicinissimo a centro e a parcheggi comunali, vicino a negozi e ristoranti
In posizione strategica fra centro citta' e parcheggio comunale. Letti comodi, riscaldamento adeguato, bagno adeguato. Un hotel con un buon rapporto qualita' prezzo