Ratings based on 95 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Francisco, Ca

Terrible Choice!

Posted Sep 25, 2017
Pros: The adjoining reataurants
Cons: An apartment should not be rented on a hotel,website. It is misleading.
Location: The location was sketchy in that it appeared to be an the bad side of town
I thought we were staying in the hotel-- my mistake --we were in the apartment across the street. Perhaps the hotel is OK but avoid this place at all costs! The room was dingy and depressing. The bathroom was tiny and inadequate. You had to go through 3'locked doors to both enter and exit the room. No elevator. The. Breakfast was average at best. The staff was helpful and best of all there were two excellent restaurants in the same square.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 15, 2017
Great location, both women staff that we encountered were beyond lovely and helpful of any question we had. Great room and modern.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York NY

Great view, nice location

Posted Sep 2, 2017
I had a lovely stay at Carlton. My room was smallish but nicely appointed and the housekeeping was flawless. It had a great view to Piazza Sacrati and the grand Church of San Domenico. Breakfast was varied and consistently good, and the staff was genuinely helpful. The hotel is a 5 mins' walk to the Castle and a brisk 15' walk to the train station, through a charming residential area. Great value.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Manchester UK

Excellent location

Posted May 9, 2017
Pros: Its location. The comfortable room and the large bathroom.
Location: It is very central - the Castello Estense and the Duomo are just a few minutes' walk away. Most of the other places of interest are reachable on foot
We stayed for three nights at the end of April. The location was ideal for us as it is so central. It took literally a few minutes to walk to the Castello Estense and the Duomo. Most of the other places of interest are also reachable on foot. We did not have to use public transport during our stay. The hotel overlooks the Piazza Sacrati and although there is car parking in the square we were not bothered by noise at night. Our room (333) was a good size but I was initially disappointed by the lack of wardrobes and drawers. However, the modern furniture provided lots of shelving space and there was rail with coat hangers so that in the end there was plenty of storage space, but more drawers would have been useful. The bathroom was huge with plenty of storage space for all our bits and pieces. The walk-in shower was very hot and powerful - lovely! Breakfast was good with plenty of choice of both hot and cold dishes. It also started nice and early, 7 o'clock, so you could have a leisurely breakfast and still have an early start to your exploration of the city. We would certainly recommend the hotel to anyone who is thinking of visiting Ferrara and we would definitely stay at the Carlton again if we were to return to the city.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from s

jsaglim19

Posted Mar 30, 2017
Love this small quaint city this hotel is perfectly located in the heart of the city only 2 blocks from Castello Estense Every year that I come to this city I only book at the Carlton and for some of you who would like to travel the city by bicycle the hotel will accomodate you Rooms extremely clean and breakfast is plenty full and very good
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 18, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Wilhelm

nice and clean hotel in central location

Posted Jan 20, 2017 on Hotels
All Ferrara attraction in walking distance.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Convenient and clean

Posted Oct 14, 2016 on Hotels
This is a very good hotel to stay for closeness to Marco Polo airport. The staff was friendly and very helpful with setting up 5:00 am free shuttle for early departure. The room we were in was large, good bed and bathroom, basic in furnishings. Business section with computer for easy airline check in or other computer needs. Staff provided information for local bus service to Venice and even sold us the 3 Euro round trip ticket, which was very convenient. Only about 15-20 minutes to the bus drop off at P. Roma. The buffet breakfast was set up by 4;30 am for those departing early.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Convenient Hotel with Great Breakfast

Posted Oct 10, 2016 on Hotels
The hotel proper which was full. However, we were offered an apartment in a building across the square. The first apartment was small and outdated but we were shown another which proved quite satisfactory. The hotel is centrally located in the old city a short walk from restaurants and sights. The service was good and the breakfast buffet excellent.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 28, 2016 on Hotels
The apartment was big and nice but they only clean it twice a week and i got charged for cleaning fee at the end. I would've stayed in hotel room if i knew that. But otherwise, breakfast was good and had a small gym.