Ratings based on 64 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 18, 2017
Pros: Very close to centre of town. Easy to walk to all key places of interest.
Cons: Put tea and coffee equipment in the room, redecorate and "lighten" it up. Install a proper shower curtain system in the bathroom.
Great location, pleasant staff who were very helpful. Let down by poor decor, so-so breakfast and lack of decent shower curtain system which meant the floor could have got very wet if we hadn't noticed the potential problem first!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Croatia

Centrally located hotel.

Posted Mar 30, 2017
Pros: My Italian is very poor so finding a hotel where, amazingly for Italy, most of the staff spoke good English was fantastic. Staff were fantastic.
Cons: It would be a nice touch if the hotel just offered a second cup of coffee at breakfast without being asked.
Location: Ferrara is a flat city so you can easily walk everywhere from this central location.
We travelled to Ferrara out of holiday season so it was a city of local people. The hotel is right in the centre of Ferrara and has friendly and helpful staff. This made finding our way around Ferrara a joy. Overall a small but very pleasant hotel. As normal, don't holiday in Italy during the "holiday season" unless you like shuffling through crowds of "Gee Whizz" ignorant Americans and English.
5 out of 5
by Wei

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 8, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Perfect location and lovely staff.

Posted Oct 9, 2016 on Hotels
Ferrara was and excellent place to visit. The ride around the city wall is great. The cuisine and architecture were a delight. This hotel was perfectly located and the staff were very friendly and helpful during our stay and after when we left a wallet behind at the hotel. We are thankful for their assistance.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Love Ferrara

Posted Oct 4, 2016 on Hotels
The Hotel Corte Estense was an excellent choice for both location and the facilities. Our room was outstanding and hotel offered a genuine flavor of Italy. My only comment was that the staff was not as friendly as I have experienced elsewhere, but they were very helpful in all regards. John and Vivi
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Lovely hotel in the heart of the old town

Posted Jul 23, 2016
Lovely little hotel in the centre of the old town. Could not get a better location. Friendly staff and lovely old world charm.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from australia

Air conditioning fantastic in summer

Posted Jul 12, 2016 on Wotif
It was fantastic. One of the few places that serve breakfast early. So if you are planning on leaving early you still get your paid breakfast. Staff were friendly and overall a great experience
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Switzerland

Nice small hotel in a quiet street in the center.

Posted Jun 25, 2016
Pros: silent, clean, helpful staff, nice atmosphere
Cons: shuttle to my favourite gelaterie (just kiddin' ;-))
Location: one of the best places to be in norther Italy, also and especially for 1-day-excursions to other cities
A very good place to visit Ferrara and its historical highlights. The hotel is 2min from the piazza where lots of people meet every evening. Not too many tourists – because, as GWB would have said: Ferrara is still "misunderestimated" among the cultural treasures of Italy. If you plan to visit the region for a week or longer, Ferrara (and this hotel) is the optimal place: it takes 1-2 hours to all the more famous places like Venice, Padova, Bologna, Vicenza, even Rimini – but prices are considerably lower in Ferrara. So, its the best place to live and start daily excursions to the other cities around even by train (i.e. no hastle with parking and highway traffic). Only "disadvantage": the Hotel is a "looong" 10 and 15 minutes walk (luckily in the same direction) away from 2 of the best Gelaterie (ice makers) I know in the norther half of Italy: La Romana and Gelateria Ariosto – and I know and tested a few hundred of them in 25 years ;-)
3 out of 5
by William

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 30, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Solid, not exciting, but fine

Posted Apr 8, 2016 on Hotels
Nice but older hotel. No problems.