Ratings based on 884 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from traveller

Suited for those into noise, party atmosphere

Posted Jul 19, 2017
Was a let down in terms of time for relaxation. Booked a seaview room at peak season rate thinking we would be able enjoy the calm and peace of views of the sea and sound of the waves but what we got was an unbelievably noisy room facing pool and somewhat the sea. Our balcony at 4th floor was exposed to the full blast of loudspeakers with events that carried on and loud voices of kids playing. We could not at all rest, let alone take a nap!!! Because of that one factor, our entire holiday there was spoilt. We were hoping to have a relaxing time but didn't get it there. We went out most of the time as a result. Good for those looking for such environment. We were disappointed though.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 22, 2017 by Moon Ahmad, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for sharing your review of your recent stay at Hard Rock Hotel Penang. I am sorry to read that there were an issue during your stay which hampered your experience, and meant that your stay was not as rocking as you hoped. Hard Rock Hotel Penang is proudly a family friendly hotel, and we love to see the kids having a great time all around the property. We apologize on the noise issue you encountered during your stay which hindered your relaxation. For a nominal fee all guests can enjoy the privacy of the Rock Royalty Level and its lounge. It's a great comfy place to hide away from the hustle and bustle of both the hotel and Penang in general. Once again, our apologies for not meeting some of your expectation on this occasion and hope that you will consider the hotel again. Kind Regards, John Primmer General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good Hotel To Chill

Posted Jul 19, 2017
Staff are very friendly. Facilities good. Very comfortable. Restaurant food quality good excellent place to get away. There are night market just outside the hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 21, 2017 by Moon Ahmad, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for the wonderful review of your recent stay at Hard Rock Hotel Penang. We are delighted to hear that you had such a rockin' stay with us, and we hope that you were able to enjoy many of the facilities that the hotel offers. Our team will be pleased to know you were so satisfied with the friendliness and professionalism of their service, which is something they take great pride in. Great to know that you enjoyed the food served at the restaurant. This comment will be shared with our culinary team who will surely appreciate the feedback. It's exciting for all of us at Hard Rock Hotel Penang to know your stay with us was all you wanted it to be. Kind Regards, Michael Smeeton Executive Assistant Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel for families with children

Posted May 29, 2017
Check-in was smooth as we arrived in evening. 2nd time back to HRH however this time round the hillview rooms we were given felt a little run down, wardrobe door was hard to slide open, power cut for few hours on 1 day and even renovation noises on our last afternoon. Service remains good at tour desk, helpful housekeeping staff and as usual excellent service from shuttle bus driver Uncle Ramli, his patience and caring attitude is commemdable!
Comment from Hotel Management
May 31, 2017 by Moon Ahmad, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your second visit at Hard Rock Hotel Penang. It's great to hear that your check-in process was smooth. Your feedback on the wardrobe door has been shared with the Maintenance team, and they take such comments seriously, to ensure that all rooms are defect free prior to guest arrival. Besides that, apologize for the noise issue you encountered during your stay which hindered your relaxation. I will ensure the 'Amplified Service' rendered by Ramli is passed on. He will be very pleased to know that you appreciated his efforts. We can't wait to have you back again for another rockin' experience soon. Till then Rock On'! Kind Regards, Michael Smeeton Executive Assistant Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Adelaide, Australia

Amazing hotel - highly recommend

Posted May 15, 2017
Pros: Pools - great slides for kids. Good kids club. Great food. Most of all the staff were amazing and always put the customer first.
Cons: Maybe some shade over the pool area where the kids play but not a big deal if you apply sunscreen and dress them properly for staying out in the sun
Location: Batu Ferringhi has great night markets every night from 7pm. Dont forget to barter! :)
Amazing customer service and great facilities. Very family friendly and lots to do for the kids. Can't praise the staff at this resort highly enough. One of the best resort experiences we have ever had. Would go back in a heart beat.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 17, 2017 by Moon Ahmad, Hotel Management
What a terrific review, Ben! We are delighted to hear that you had such a rockin' stay with us, and we hope that you were able to enjoy many of the facilities that the hotel offers. The swimming pool, with the slides and kid's play area is always a hit with children, and make Hard Rock Hotel Penang the ideal family hotel destination. The team at Hard Rock are dedicated to ensuring that every guest has a rock star experience, and it's fabulous to see that our team went out of their way to ensure your stay was special. It's exciting for all of us at Hard Rock Hotel Penang to know your stay with us was all you wanted it to be. Till then Rock On'! Kind Regards, Michael Smeeton Executive Assistant Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 12, 2017
Nice breakfast. Warm and friendly staffs. Design of the room was cozy and comfortable
Comment from Hotel Management
May 15, 2017 by Moon Ahmad, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, We loved reading your review of you recent stay at Hard Rock Hotel Penang, and we hope that you were able to utilize many of the facilities that the hotel offers. It's great to hear that you found the design of the room was cozy and comfortable. We look forward to welcome you back again for another rockin' experience soon. Kind Regards, John Primmer General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canada

Amazing hotel directly on the beach

Posted May 7, 2017
Amazing experience from start to finish. The hotel staff and the staff at the restaurants and bars were extremely friendly and went the extra mile to get to know our names and make sure we were always happy. The rooms are nice with tons of extra amenities. Spent a lot of time at the pool, which luckily was near empty at the beginning of our trip since we started our vacation during the work week. Got busier on the weekend but still not too bad. Would definitely stay again and recommend to others. If I were to include cons, it would be that the beach itself is not the best for swimming because of jellyfish, but the pool is a great makeup for that and you can still layout a towel on the beach for tanning. Other than that everything was really great.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 8, 2017 by Moon Ahmad, Hotel Management
Dear Sam, Wow, thank you for the wonderful review of your recent stay at Hard Rock Hotel Penang. We are delighted to hear that you had such an amazing experience with us, and we hope that you were able to enjoy many of the facilities that the hotel offers. The team at Hard Rock are dedicated to ensure that every guest has a rock star experience, and it's fabulous to see that our team went out of their way to ensure your stay was special. Hard Rock Hotel Penang has completed a full room refurbishment in 2016, and it's cool to hear that our guests are appreciating the funky new decor and features. In regards to the beach, I am sorry to read that you were unable to enjoy the beach due to the jelly fish. We do warn our guests of the possibility of jellyfish however plenty of people do swim in the sea. Once again, thank you for your review via Expedia and we can't wait to have you back again in the near future. Till then Rock On'! Kind Regards, John Primmer General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hong Kong

Pleasant stay

Posted May 3, 2017
Pros: The atmosphere with all the rock singers staff. The staff at reception and at Rock Cafe who are always helpful with untiring patience.
Cons: Provide free shuttle to Georgetown or even to airport.
Location: Away from city but very close to night market and eateries
Very good impression during check in. Staff members are friendly and willing to offer suggestions that are practical and helpful.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 5, 2017 by Moon Ahmad, Hotel Management
Dear Kwok, Thank you for the amazing review of your recent stay at Hard Rock Hotel Penang. We are delighted to hear that you had such a rockin' stay with us, and we hope that you were able to enjoy many of the facilities that the hotel offers. In regards to the shuttle service, we operate the shuttle bus every night down to the Batu Ferringhi market to allow guests an easier option of getting down there. The team at Hard Rock Hotel Penang pride themselves on providing fantastic service, and will be very glad to see you that you found them to be friendly. Once again, thank you for sharing your feedback and we hope to welcome you back again for another great stay. Kind Regards, Michael Smeeton Executive Assistant Manager
5 out of 5
by Agnes

Must try

Posted Apr 27, 2017 on Hotels
clean and firm bed. Extremely comgotable stay. Will definitely be back.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 2, 2017
Dear Agnes, Wow, thank you for the great review of your recent stay at Hard Rock Hotel Penang. We are delighted to hear that you had such an awesome stay with us, and we hope that you were able to enjoy many of the facilities that the hotel offers. It’s great to read that you found the bed comfortable; our hotel uses the Hard Rock “Sleep Like a Rock” beds which provide fantastic comfort and support. Once again, thank you for your review and we look forward to welcome you back again soon. Rockin' Regards, John Primmer General Manager
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from singapore

Close to beach.

Posted Apr 24, 2017
Pros: Staffs are friendly and helpful. Most requests are being attended to promptly
Cons: The extra bed mattress.
Location: Nice and clean beach. Night market is somewhere nearby.
We requested for joining rooms and staff told us rooms are only a room apart and there's no joining rooms. So we accepted it. But turns out that the rooms are at different sides of the hotel. We had 3 persons to a room, the extra bed provided has dented mattress. It's not for someone who wanted peace and quiet as there are a lot of kids during our stay. But otherwise overall experience is good.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 26, 2017 by Moon Ahmad, Hotel Management
Dear Daphne, Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay at Hard Rock Hotel Penang. We are very glad to hear that your overall experience was good, and we hope that you were able to enjoy many of the facilities that the hotel offers. I am sorry to read that you were disappointed with the extra bed mattress. Your feedback has been shared with the Housekeeping Manager to ensure that all mattresses are in good condition. Our staff pride themselves on their dedication to guest service, and will be very pleased to know you appreciated their efforts. Once again, thank you for your review and we hope to welcome you back again soon. Kind Regards, John Primmer General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 22, 2017
It was a lovely and enjoyable stay at the hotel. The staff were very friendly at the reception and they were accommodating to all of our needs.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 25, 2017 by Moon Ahmad, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for the great review of your recent stay at Hard Rock Hotel Penang. We are delighted to hear that you had such a lovely stay with us, and we hope that you were able to utilize many of the facilities that the hotel offers. Our team will be pleased to know you were so satisfied with the friendliness and professionalism of their service, which is something they take great pride in. We look forward to welcome you back at Hard Rock Hotel Penang soon. Kind Regards, Michael Smeeton Executive Assistant Manager