Ratings based on 22 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.0 out of 5
25% of guests recommend
3.2 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
3.0 Room comfort
3.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from west midlands

Relaxing atmosphere

Posted Aug 14, 2016
Pros: Atmosphere, staff well stocked bar.
Cons: More choice for breakfast
Location: Location is spot on for touring the North East, Durham a short bus ride away.
Nothing too much trouble friendly staff, steaks cooked to perfection, rooms basic but clean had a gesture nights sleep. Will return in the near future.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from England

Ok for one night

Posted Jul 31, 2016
Pros: Pub grub
Cons: Generally needs some TLC.
Good value for money and good pub grub. Breakfast good full English but no cereals or juices. Bed uncomfortable, shower head wouldn't stay up. Thin internal walls so lots of noise from next bedroom. Overall this place has great potential with lovely garden.
3 out of 5
by A9MO from Inverness

dated but adequate

Posted Jul 16, 2015 on Hotels
Clean, spacious and comfy room let down by entry into dated bar. Ample parking within nicely maintained grounds. Breakfast was too greasy and wasn't the best in herbal, however overall the stay was fine for our mid trip stop.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 6, 2015
When advertising it should state sat night is very noisy singing very loud till late
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 30, 2015
Room ok with a nice view over the garden . Hotel in need of refurbishment ! Good breakfast
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 27, 2015
Would avoid this place. Nice staff the only plus. Told about it being haunted on arrival. Food dreadful !!! Room very dated. Waited for breakfast. No one appeared, so had a glass of milk why I waited, which was sour. In the end I left without breakfast. Going by the state of my vegetables at dinner it would have been bad anyway.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

idid not stay

Posted Mar 9, 2014 on Hotels
When I arrived I was told my stay had been cancelled as they had a plumbing problem and that hotels.com had been advised. I am waiting for a refund
1 out of 5
by Clemo from Lincs

Not good at all

Posted Feb 28, 2014 on Hotels
Bad bad bad badddddddddddddddddddd
5 out of 5
by Brenda from Ely Cambs

lovely place

Posted Dec 2, 2013 on Hotels
We stayed at the manor house while visiting family in Newton Aycliffe and it was lovely. the hotel has character and charm. Another thing that impressed my partner was the price of the beer at the bar, lots cheaper than back at home. We will definitely be staying at the manor house next time we go visiting.
3 out of 5
by Jo from UK

Forget about sleeping till 1am

Posted Nov 20, 2013
Pros: If you don't need to sleep the full night - value.
Cons: Attention to cleanliness in a big way and a bit of time spent screwing in the loose fittings (headboard off the wall).
Location: Don't know but it looked peaceful once the pub locals went home.
True to reviews our room was directly above the function room and sleeping was out of the question before 1am, then it became peacefully silent. Sheets were clean but the room desperately needed a vacuum clean not to mention dusting. Too hot to sleep as couldn't find the central heating controls, in fairness should have asked at midnight, when we returned to the room. Stupidly didn't ask what was available for breakfast so had toast (no information was offered) and later witnessed others having a gorgeous full english, which look really good! Didn't pay a fortune so can't expect a great deal but I think I will give it a miss next time. If you read the reviews and same comments are being repeated, take note. Sadly no ghosts as someone mentioned :)!