Ratings based on 51 Verified Reviews

3.4 out of 5
62% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Food was excellent..

Posted Jul 15, 2017
Made very welcome, hotel is clean and cheap. This is not 5 star hence the price. Food is very good, but would be nice to fruit juice as well as coffee, not just one. The burger and a pint deal should include all burgers as they all cost same price. Shower could be a bit warmer. Saying this for the price I would definitely go back. Once again the food is 5 Star.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from sheffield

Nice B and B above pub

Posted Jul 12, 2017
Pros: The location was nice, liked the big outdoor space
Cons: The bed
Food served in the pub was nice, the bed was really uncomfortable. Could of done with a new mattress as I could feel the springs poking me in my back and ended up having almost no sleep. Also the telly was strangely placed on the windowsill being hidden by curtains. They did accommodate me by letting me have my breakfast early, the breakfast itself was nice.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 29, 2017
Overall experience was good. Staff were very welcoming and helpful, especially Kirsty. Our room was a bit dated and dusty. Could benefit from a modern update. I would visit again as staff were lovely!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from East Suusex

Cheep over night stop

Posted Apr 24, 2017
Could have been warned of loud late party. As needed a good night sleep before lnog journey.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Leeds

Nice B&B house close to Durham

Posted Apr 22, 2017
Pros: Very nice staff, good breakfast meal and very competitive price. The rooms are traditional but spacious.
Cons: The sound insulation could be improved.
Location: Near Durham and North Pennines AONB which offer a lot of indoor and outdoor activities.
We stayed in the Manor House for a few days and liked it very much. The hotel staff were really nice and friendly. The surrounding areas are very pleasant too. We were very happy with our experience.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from cambridgeshire

Hotel close to Durham, Newcastle, Sunderland

Posted Apr 12, 2017
Pros: Sunday roast, the beef was teriffic
Cons: lean some carpets, tighten Bannister on stairs (it is a tad loose)
Location: Near Durham, Beamish, and other major cities
The hotel is adequate, might benefit from a freshen up in some area of the hotel. But no major gripes, the car park is large, but trning on to the main road can be a bit of a problem. However there isn't an easy solution to this. Room clean and overlooking beer garden so nice grassy view out of the window. All in ll hotel not too bad,
4 out of 5
by barry

no ghosts shame lol

Posted Apr 10, 2017 on Hotels
staff are first class ,friendly,helpful,nothing was a problem. food and the breakfast was to die for and the bar was great fun on the Saturday night, rooms were ok but could do with being upgraded but for the price I would recommend
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Worcestershire

Very friendly staff - value for money

Posted Mar 27, 2017
Pros: Staff and cleanliness
Cons: Obviously needs thoroughly decorating
Location: Typical Durham village Good access to surrounding area - particularly useful 'bus services (Durham, Bishop Auckland, Darlington etc)
Top marks for friendly staff (thanks Kirsty!) For what we paid and because it was handy for the reason we visited the area couldn't complain at all Obviously hotel needs decorating and upgrading but nonetheless facilities were fine and the room clean Breakfast was very good - unfortunately service Saturday morning was slow - meals were good value There was noise from the bar which travelled to rooms - but generally did not go on too late Would certainly consider returning if we were to stay in the area
3 out of 5
by Mike

Value

Posted Feb 20, 2017 on Hotels
Very good value for money, food excellent. Shower did not work in room 2
5 out of 5
by mrs karen

Posted Feb 3, 2017 on Hotels
just one night, but place was clean and tidy.... could use with a bit of a refresh in some rooms (wardrobe paint peeling, etc)... TV very small, and room over pub, so if you're after a quiet night, not the place to go, but they do tell you that ahead, so it was fine with us... located on main road, and easy access to shopping