Ratings based on 62 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by Héctor

Posted Apr 5, 2017 on Hotels
It was amazing
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 16, 2017
Many thanks for your stay in our Riad. Kind regards
4 out of 5
by Adam

Amazing location

Posted Jan 12, 2017 on Hotels
Fes is an amazing ancient living city unlike I have ever been to before. It is not overly touristic although not what it once surely was. El Ghalia was well located and staffed by very nice people.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

The hotel was adequate for what we had booked.

Posted Oct 17, 2016
This Riad is very old and the interior is amazing.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Moroccan Hospitality

Posted May 31, 2016
Pros: Staff, decor
Location: Central location near Place Rcif.
Ahmed and the staff at Dar El Ghalia are very helpful and make visitors feel welcome. French and English are spoken. The common areas are as grand as you see in the pictures, and are made for relaxing before dinner after a day in the sun. The rooms are clean and spacious (my double room had a sitting area with large sofa, two chairs and a fireplace, comfortable bed, decent sized bathroom). This hotel is good for travelers who like the idea of staying in a beautiful private home rather than a cookie-cutter chain hotel. Breakfast is an assortment of Moroccan breads, butter and jams, coffee and orange juice. All the expected things like hot water, air conditioning, TV, wifi, and a nice breakfast are here, as well as antiques, plants, and tile details. While centrally located in the medina near Place Rcif, arrange for a transfer / pickup if you are coming from the train station or airport at night. You will never find the riad your first time through the winding, dark alleyways. While I do believe the area is safe, as a woman traveling alone, I stayed in after dark to avoid any risk.
4 out of 5
by kashif s. from New York

A hidden gem

Posted Jan 2, 2016 on Hotels
This hotel was located at the old part of the town but conveniently located to the souk and other the attractions around the city. you have to like the history & culture to enjoy the location. When we arrived on the main street outside the hotel, we're setback for a little while but when arrived at the hotel, it was a great experience. In my opinion, a true Moroccan gem. If you like culture and don't mind the real experience, I would highly recommend staying at this location.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from london

The place itself is ok

Posted Sep 24, 2015
The place advertised as 4* on the expedia site and I wouldn't give 3* It's location is a good walk from any transport No parking Took a while to get key to a room The place needs a lot of preservation the rooms are fine towels are too old The taps in the shower were not working well the roof terrace view is splendid, but the furniture is tatty and not very clean Service extremely poor we ordered food and got two plates a basket of bread and a glass of a drink we ordered the waiter brought the plates and quickly disappeared, there is no way to communicate with staff if you are in the terrace, And when we got the bill it was 400 dirham for a 4" plate of pastilla and a tagine and orange juice!!!! We felt totally ripped off. A plate of tagine big enough for two people is 60 to 75 dirham in the same city in a decent cafe/ restaurant. Shame on expedia for passing this as 4*
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from seattle, WA

Great Riad.

Posted May 5, 2015
Very nice Riad. Great location for visiting Madina or transportation. Breakfast was wonderful. Room was very nice and roomy. Staff was helpful in just about everything. Highly recommend this place.
4 out of 5
by Richard P. from Bronx, NY

Not bad

Posted Aug 25, 2014 on Hotels
What you will find is that Fes is a huge hill. Dar El Ghalia is on a lonely street at the bottom of this hill so you are always climbing to get anywhere. Good news- it's all downhill on the way back. Keep in ming that "Riads" are intimate hotels with an interior courtyard. A "Dar" is more similar to a mansion turned hotel. And a hotel is, well, a hotel. I prefer Riads but this is a fine Dar and, for the price, you can't beat it. You'll never find it if driving, someone took mercy on us and led us to about three blocks from the Dar so we could park and walk to the place. Not an easy walk with luggage. The owner was very nice. Make sure the women bring a cover-up.
3 out of 5
by maggi from melbourne australia

the food

Posted Jun 26, 2014
Pros: its architecture
Cons: staff need to know they are not doing guests a favour
Location: great location in the medina
Day 1 breakfast was good ...eggs with mixed breads and jams days 2 3 4 and 5 mixed bread and jam only no variety.. 2 evening meals were ok but small and very expensive ...
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

EXCEPT STAFF TERRIBLE.

Posted Sep 13, 2013
Pros: NOTHİNG
Cons: ????
Location: LOCATION IS GOOD
POWER CUT AFTER WE ARRIVED. WHEN WE LEFT THE HOTEL STİLL POWER CUT.