Ratings based on 37 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canada

A gem in the Fes medina

Posted Aug 4, 2017
We arrived in Marrakech from our ouvernight in the Sahara and what an amazing experience we had at the Palais Amani. Staff and even the owner were on site. Reception staff immensely helpful in arranging every little thing to make our stay perfect. Location is perfect and easy to get to by cab whether you come from the airport or simply want to cab it up to the Blue Gate for a dinner without the sweats.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 12, 2017 by Manager, Hotel Management
Dear guest, Thank you very much for your kind comment.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

A Keeper

Posted May 21, 2017
Pros: The food, wine and service for dinner was superb.
Cons: Nothing that we can think of.
Location: We had our own guide and vehicle that allowed us to see Fes from a number of vantage points and take a walking tour of Fes within its walls.
We found this Riad to be a hidden gem, and we met other guests who liked the serenity and amenities of the place.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 4, 2017
The hotel is a riad and is very charming with excellent facilities including a very good restaurant.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Mystic Ct.

A Hidden Gem

Posted Nov 21, 2016
Pros: Everything!
Cons: Nothing
Location: In the heart of the Medina. Close to everything. Sunbathing on the beautiful rooftop garden, where you could also get a massage was enough for me!
The stay could not have been more perfect from the warm mint tea upon check in to the fabulous food, incredible accommodations and beautiful Moroccan decor. But most of all the pleasant completely accommodating staff. We even had lovely conversation with the owner & his wife. I would recommend it to anyone planning to visit Fes.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Wow, hotel with garden, fountain,like in a palace

Posted Nov 4, 2016
Pros: Hotel room and breakfast
Location: Near by cafes, shopping districts, can walk to see all attractions in medinah district
Had a grand suite with morracan style decorations. High ceiling with big colorful art work glass windows, living room and huge bathroom with big tub and shower area seperately. Breakfast on terrace or garden area, have their own restaurant facility and very well decorated, elevator too.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Israel

Magnificent Palace, well located

Posted Nov 1, 2016
Extraordinary Hotel. Beautiful and well located in the Medina. Excellent service and staff, great food! The only matter we would like to repair is the transparent entrance door to our room ) No. 8 ) why not make it opaque like the windows
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great restaurant and ham and in site.

Posted Oct 26, 2016 on Hotels
Loved it!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from WV

Excellent location for exploring the old Medina

Posted May 21, 2016
Amazing customer service. Staff warm and welcoming. Very comfortable room. Beautiful decor. Food excellent Easy access to old medina shopping. Would recommend hiring a guide for a few hours
5 out of 5
by Judith from Sydney

A beautiful gem at the doorstep of the Fez medina.

Posted Apr 28, 2016 on Hotels
From the moment we arrived the service was outstanding. We were greeted warmly and given all the information about Fez and assistance we needed. The hotel, being a restored palace is absolutely beautiful and has the most stunning large central courtyard. Would love to stay there again.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Europe

Overpriced and for certain niche travelers

Posted Apr 10, 2016
Pros: The staff are this hotel/riad's one saving grace. Genuinely amazing, multilingual and probably underpaid for the high level of service they provide.
Cons: Everything else.
Location: On the side of Fes that is nowhere near the Blue Gate, the hotel is counting on you not being adventurous and using their services.
My experience started with two identical emails within 24 hours asking me a series of questions about my personal preferences and if I wanted to book other services they offer. Had I not answered the second, I likely would've gotten a third. I answered no to everything -- breakfast, day trips, taxi service, dinner in their restaurant, guided tour, spa/hamman, cooking and calligraphy lessons, etc. Arriving at the riad, I'm asked where my friends and luggage are. My booking was for one, and I didn't know I needed more stuff. Served mint tea, which was the best I had during my month in Morocco, my details were collected. Initially impressed by my room, I soon found three noise sources -- window facing one side of the alley, bathroom window facing other side of the alley going to souks, and room door allowing me to hear every voice and footstep in reception, hallways and riad's front door. Wifi also wasn't working, which is fine if I were on holiday and intermittently checking email and posting photos. However, I needed it to work for a block of hours. The only place it worked was downstairs in the courtyard -- public, noisy, cold. And even this dropped. Last thing is the grossly inflated prices of food and drink, day trips and services. Water is eight times the price outside the door. Day trips are double and triple the price, taxi service is triple and quadruple. If you're ignorant and want don't want to experience Morocco, Palais Amani is for you.