Ratings based on 16 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Nat from Canberra, Australia

PERFECTION!

Posted May 31, 2014
Probably the most amazing riad I stayed at during my 10 days travelling through Morocco! The staff were incredibly helpful and so very amazing. The food was pricey - but well worth it. Positively delicious. My room and the riad itself are simply stunning - very Arabian Nights :-) If you stay, ask for them to organise a tour guide by the name of Majid Alaoui for you to ensure you get the BEST experience. He will take you wherever you want to go (for a price obviously) - but he is incredibly knowledgable and experienced, and speaks fluent English, French, Spanish and of course Arabic. He is worth EVERY cent to ensure you get the most authentic and comprehensive tour of Fez and Morocco.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Christine from Chelmsford, Essex, UK

Beautiful riad and wonderful hospitality!

Posted Apr 19, 2014
Pros: Beautiful building - exceptionally helpful and kind staff, especially the head butler.
Cons: The 'Responsable' (Manageress) is not very friendly. Apart from that, it's all perfect!
Location: The Fez Medina is a real experience! A bit daunting at first, it's quite magical when you get tuned to it! Also, the 'Queen's Garden' (outside Medina)
An amazing stay in this exquisite riad - beautiful style, tremendous hospitality, clean, comfortable and excellent Moroccan food - always served with a smile! We have traveled to many countries around the world and have enjoyed the hospitality of many wonderful hosts and guides which have left us with great memories. However, our stay in Fez, at the Palais d'Hotes, Spa Andalou goes beyond anything experienced until now! As a rule we never contemplate going back a second time to the same location (there are so many places we still want to discover!), but this is one place where we have decided we will definitely return to - not for the Medina but purely for another stay at the Palais d'Hotes! A really beautiful, comfortable and relaxing riad with amazing service and kindness from the staff - also with good spa facilities. Note - The 'Responsable' (Manageress) is the only staff there who is a bit aloof and wasn't tremendously helpful when we were booking - she said there was no hair-dryer in the room... but there was (it was annoying buying and carrying a travel hairdryer in a small cabin bag where space and weight allowance are so limited and then finding out it wasn't required...). She also said that there was a safe in all the rooms... and there was none in ours! However, I would like to advise anyone not to be put off by that cold and unhelpful lady, ALL the other staff (with whom you have much more contact with) are incredibly helpful and pleasant at all times!
4 out of 5
by Ahmed

The hotel is over all good

Posted Apr 10, 2014
Pros: The Staff is very pleasing and helpful
Cons: More Spa facilities , The KITCHEN Next to the ELEVATOR is not good idea with some cleaning or smell coming from there
Location: Is in the middle of the Old city of Fes near Bab el zayat. very nice location.
The Hotel is over very good experience with very good stuff but Not to be CAlled SPA or anything. Expensive regarding the service in the Hotel and stuff like that
3 out of 5
by M from L.A.

Posted Mar 12, 2014 on Hotels
If you're a fan of custom designed Moroccan crafted homes (created wood doors and ceilings, tile..) , this Riad is for you. It also offers modern amenities such as sauna and pool that just fit this traditional house perfectly. The included B-fast is very basic. Hosts may approach you to arrange for a "masseuse" to come over... Parking: Given the tiny street where this riad is located ( so is the case for all the riads in the old medina), it is worth leaving your rental parked across from the riad during your stay and move around using taxis. Average fare is around a buck.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 4, 2014 on Hotels
A beautiful building inside the walled old city, although difficulties with the staff and english. The room aws somewhat cold in February.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

That's what you can call Moroccan hospitality.

Posted Jan 12, 2014
Pros: The most we liked hospitality in there and facilities.
It was our best staying in Morocco. The staff was so nice and friendly that we couldn't believe that we got it for such money. The room was great, the view from the roof-restaurant was amazing. It's a nice place to have a romantic dinner after tiring from the sightseeing day. Here you can find everything. We highly recommend to stop your choice on this hotel. It's the best deal for this price.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Sandra from London

A lovelly place even if it is a bit hard to find

Posted Apr 12, 2012
Pros: The food, the way the hotel looks and definately the roof top terrace.
Cons: The lack of hot water and the school playground at the back of the hotel if you are there in the middle of the day,
Location: Near the city walls and about a 10 mins walk to the markets. It is difficult to find when you first get there but once your there your fine.
It is a bit difficult to find and it was a bit worrying when even the taxi driver wasn't sure where to go to take us there. But once you are there and have found the market it is very easy to find your way around. The staff were great and really tried hard although it was a little difficult because of their lack of English. The room is really nice. The shower and bath were a little disappointing. There is an amazing clawfoot bathtub in the room but the water did not get hot enough to really take advantage. The shower head itself didn't work very well and it was difficult to get into as it is quite high. The food breakfast and dinner were fantastic. The breakfast is simple but there is pleanty of it. It is all bread based though. The dinner was amazing especially in the roof top terrace. It was more expensive than eating at one of the cafes in the market but the quality and amount of food was brilliant. Just one thing to be aware of is that there are quite a lot of stairs to get to the room which can be quite difficult if you have large or heavy bags. Also there is a lift but I wouldn't get in it without a member of staff. It did stop while we were in it and it took a bit of fiddling to get it going again. Once it did it was fine and never stopped again, but it was a bit scary at the time. All in all this was a brilliant hotel and we would happily stay there again if we visited Fez or reccommed it to anyone else that was thinking of visiting.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Saint-Petersburg

Have you ever lived in palace?

Posted Apr 4, 2011 on Hotels
Luxurious interiers and most important - very welcome and helpful people. Beatiful terrace with nice view. Breakfast is traditional and tasty. Ask guiding tour with Magine! Was happy to stay there and immidetely recommended to friends! Thank you very much! Ilya
4 out of 5
by Juan Manuel from Ciudad de México

Aceptable

Posted May 18, 2016 on Hotels
Es una casona de cuando mucho 50 años, pero con decoración que simula edificaciones tradicionales. Se le notan adecuaciones y adiciones un tanto desordenadas. Pienso que el gran tamaño de la casona es sumamente demandante para ellos y se aprecia un mantenimiento limitado. El WiFi es inexistente y la conexión a internet es mala aún para su propio equipo de cómputo. No fue posible ni siquiera que su terminal nos aplicara el cobro de los servicios. El desayuno es digno y abundante. El servicio de los dos hombres es sobresaliente.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by karl from Milano

Splendido Riad, tra i più belli di Fes

Posted May 3, 2014
Il posto è splendido, davvero affascinante! Si rivive l'atmosfera di un passato fastoso in cui nulla è trascurato per dare appagamento a chi vi abita. Il personale è molto, molto gentile, pronto a soddisfare ogni esigenza. Abbiamo abitato in due in una suite, una grande stanza con una zona adibita a salotto con due splendidi sofà e un tavolo. Grandi spazi intorno al letto e un ampio bagno permettevano di sentirsi a proprio agio. La camera era un po' buia ma questo dipendeva dall'architettura dello riad, fatta di mura spesse e piccole finestre, quasi una fortezza a protezione della privacy del proprietario. Tappeti, quadri, mobili in legno intarsiato costituivano un arredo davvero degno di tutto il resto. Quali le cose non ottimali? La colazione (questo ad aprile, non so se nei mesi più caldi è la stessa cosa) non era servita sul terrazzo, la colazione mancava di alcune portate (spremuta di frutta, uova, briosche) che normalmente in queste tipologie d'albergo ci sono. La cena, servita in una splendida veranda annessa al terrazzo, eccellente ma un po' cara (circa 250 Dh). Ottimo, forse insuperabile, il rapporto qualità prezzo. Situato a 10-15 minuti a piedi dalla Porte Bleu, il punto di partenza della visita alla medina, permette di riposare in un quartiere molto tranquillo e defilato. Lo consiglio veramente a tutti!