Ratings based on 95 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from USA

A gem hidden within a charming city

Posted Jul 18, 2017
One word: Memorable. The welcome, the time the staff (Junior) took to explain EVERYTHING made me feel like a must've done some good in life to deserve such courtesy. Nothing but smiles all around, and highly recommend.
5 out of 5
by Michelle

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 19, 2017 on Hotels
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Canada

Disappointing services eclipses wonderful design

Posted Apr 17, 2017
Pros: Design, rooms, cleanliness, comfort.
Cons: Service, recommendations for restaurants, signage to find the hotel, attention to detail.
The Riad Fes is extraordinarily beautiful but the service is lacking--especially for a Relais & Chateaux property. Let's start with the good. The structure is a monument of traditional design and contemporary elegance. Rooms are large, comfortable and there is a deep tub for soaking. There is a spa, pool and a restaurant with good food and rushed service. Breakfast is very good and there is an unlimited supply of the fresh orange juice that is beter in Morocco than where else in the world. For dinner, we were hurried through the seven-course chef's tasting menu in less than an hour. Through the staff SEEMS to be helpful, many details fall short. The fitness room was consistently short of water, towels, adequate lighting and a working TV. The treadmill operated well but the eliptical was broken. In our room, the TV malfunctioned, a key light in the bathroom was burnt out and the handle fell the door to our room. The swimming pool is next to a wine bar but there was no drink service until we went and found a waiter. For the most part, issues were resolved promptly but you expect better in a luxury property and from Relais & Chateaux. The Riad Fes were encouraged to rethink a reservation at the number-two-rated restaurant on Trip Advisor. The alternative recommended was the Relais de Paris. We took the Riad's advice and enjoyed an evening of poor service and bland food. The Riad Fes is in a decent location, there is a shortage of signage in the medina to find your wa
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Australia

Elegant riad

Posted Apr 8, 2017
Pros: Furnishings and many different areas to relax. Day spa is sublime.
Cons: Checkin through Expedia was a bit clunky, couldn't find one of our bookings at first.
Location: Inside the medina, download google maps offline area to navigate. In an elevated position so you get a great view of the medina frim the rooftop.
Surprisingly affordble and extremely luxurious riad in the heart of the medina. Rooms are all very different and beautifully appointed. I stayed in 'Raja' which was spacious and had a blue/green theme. For the same pruce my friend stayed in 'Ataryin' whicn was also lovely but split level with bathroom downstairs. The food was amazing. Beautiful buffet breakfast and traditional Morrocan on the a la carte for lunch and dinner. Food on the expensive side for Morocco but well worth it. The riad also arranged an airport pickup and a guide for our first day. Definitely do both. Guide was 400 dirham for half day and very knowledgeable. He was interested in the history and current way of life inside the medina, with excellent English. Standard guide practice is to take you to shops where he will get a commission. Just say upfront if you are not interested in carpets etc. He had the local characters along the way show us what they did and let us take photos e.g. stoke the hammam fires or sharpen handmade knives, then flipped them a coin afterwards. Easy way to experience the medina without the hassle and also nice to support the locals. Guide will expect tip afterwards.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York

Not safe

Posted Mar 26, 2017
My main problem with this Riad was drug dealers. The taxis can't go all the way to the front door because the alley is to narrow for cars. You have to call the hotel and ask someone to come and meet you at a square nearby whom will then open a gate to a private garden and walk you to the hotel (about 200 yards). While I was waiting for the bellboy I was harassed by local youth whom also tried to sell me drugs. Definitely not safe either to wait there or try to walk to the hotel from the narrow and dark alley without the hotel's bellboy. The Riad is quite nice in the common areas. Rooms are "OK" not special not bad either. The stuff was very polite but not helpful enough.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

A beautiful Moroccan hotel.

Posted Jan 30, 2017
Pros: The interiors, the friendly staff, the location.
Location: We could go everywhere on foot, great location.
A luxurious paradise right in the middle of the old town. The staff were incredibly polite, helpful and friendly. It was fantastically clean. The interiors and the furniture were beautiful and full of character. We were told that this hotel was a combination of 2-3 houses linked together, done by a Moroccan architect. We enjoyed our stay very much and fully recommend it to eveyone.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Fabulous

Posted Dec 8, 2016 on Hotels
COULD NOT HAVE BEEN BETTER. EXCELLENT STAFF AND FACILITIES
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

My trip was to visit the Median.

Posted Nov 24, 2016
Pros: Oasis within the Medina tranquil
Cons: Cleanliness of lobby and furniture getting shabby chic but shabby.
Location: The medina is great but getting to the hotel is complicated it would be good if there were a pick up point at the gate of the medina and a guide.
My room was upgraded and I really enjoyed a fantastic view and lovely room it made me feel very good and I appreciated it all very much indeed...Thank you very much.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 25, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from laguna beach, ca

perfect location lovely hotel

Posted Oct 15, 2016
Pros: location, and staff and beauty
Location: the medina is a must
lovely setting in historic riad. breakfast excellent, dinner good but not outstanding