Ratings based on 64 Verified Reviews

5.0 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
5.0 Room cleanliness
5.0 Service & staff
4.9 Room comfort
5.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Francisco, CA

Spectacular choice

Posted Nov 21, 2017
Pros: Everything! The rooms were beautiful, the food was delicious, and the people were thoughtful.
Cons: Can't think of anything...
Location: Great location in the medina nearby to most things.
We were delivered to the Cinema Amal and someone from the hotel was there waiting for us. He brought our bags to the hotel where we were greeted and told all about the hotel as well as the city of Fes including places to eat, etc. There are not enough wonderful things to say - the people were thoughtful, friendly, and helpful - and the amenities were spectacular. The food was delicious, the cooking class with Fatima was a great intro for us. They coordinated trips for us through the Fes medina and to Meknes and Volubilis.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ouagadougou, Burkina Faso

Beautiful ambiance and excellent personal service!

Posted Nov 17, 2017
A wonderful boutique hotel in a beautifully renovated Riad in the historic Medina in Fez. Alex and Yasmine are the most gracious of hosts, and their entire staff is exceedingly friendly, helpful and service-oriented. The rooms and public spaces are exquisitely decorated with beautiful, traditional Moroccan art, artifacts and furnishings. Our room was absolutely beautiful. We loved the cooking of their in-house cook so much that we had dinner there every night of our stay. The traditional Moroccan dishes were served on an amazing roof terrace restaurant with beautiful views over the city. It couldn't have been more perfect. We walked each day from the Riad to explore all of historic Fez. I could not recommend this hotel more!
5 out of 5
by Songyun

Modern hotel experience in a traditional Riad

Posted Nov 6, 2017 on Hotels
There is a reason Riad Le Calife is rated no.1. First, from the look, it is a traditional riad. But when you start to look at the details, it is a modern hotel, from the comfort bed, sheets clean and high quality, towels, clean and soft, to the shower room (water pressure is high, and get you a hot shower), air conditioner is quiet. The owner Alex is very helpful, and all the staff are very friendly. Breakfast is great, and the view from the rooftop is amazing. In short words, it is a modern hotel experience (VIP treatment) in a traditional riad. You don't get to see many of these type Riad in Morocco. If you visit Fes, you should stay at this Riad.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Calgary, Canada

The most wonderful riad!

Posted Nov 4, 2017
Beautiful Riad in a great location in Fes! We stayed in the Rubis room (oct 11,12) and it was stunning. The roof top terrace offers great views of the city. The dinner, which we had prepared by the riad, was one of the best meals we had in Morocco. The owners and staff were very helpful, and were always around if you had a question. It was a great place to relax at the end of our trip, we will definitely return!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hexham England

The very best Riad

Posted Sep 22, 2017
The best place we ever stayed. We do not normally eat more than once in the places we stay. But the food was so so good we ate 6 out of 7 nights.Can not recommend it highly enough. The owners Alex and Yasmine were amazing. The staff are so helpful and attentive. This is one amazing and wonderful. Riad
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from miami, fl

gorgeous property, incredible staff and service

Posted Jun 24, 2017
Pros: EVERYTHING!!!
Location: perfectly located inside the medina walls but tucked away from the crowds.
we absolutely LOVED everything about el calife! yasmine, alex and the staff are so welcoming, warm, accommodating and helpful. it was truly a joy to stay in this incredibly beautiful and special riad. each room is elegant, with attention to the tiniest detail. and yasmine and alex are so helpful with tours, restaurants, what to do and arranging transport within and around fes and to other cities. we loved every minute of our stay and hated to leave. they treated us like family. 5 stars in all aspects.
5 out of 5
by Joni

Love! Love! Love!

Posted Jun 18, 2017 on Hotels
I LOVED this place! The staff were AMAZING! I was traveling solo and I am oh so thankful that I chose this place to stay because they were so helpful to me. I'm notorious for getting lost and they arranged for people to guide me anywhere I wanted to go - even to another restaurant! Truly, I don't know how I would have done it without them and their helpfulness. They even provide cell phones in case we get lost and they have travel converters for those that didn't have them. Truly amazing. The rooms were AWESOME! CLEAN, QUIET, and COMFORTABLE. The food was EXCELLENT. I would definitely stay again and definitely recommend this place.
5 out of 5
by melanie

Charming riad - excellent location!

Posted May 4, 2017 on Hotels
What a charming riad - and in the heart of the medina! Yasmine and Alex did a terrific job in making us feel welcome. Fatima, the cook, did a terrific job in teaching us a few Moroccan dishes. Overall a wonderful stay!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vietnam

Beautiful riad with the friendliest staff!

Posted Apr 27, 2017 on Orbitz
Really had an amazing time at this riad. We stayed at 5 different places in Morocco and this was definitely the best. Alex and Yasmine are extremely helpful and friendly! They gave us great tips and helped us with our itinerary in Fes. The rooms are beautiful and luxurious. Loved every minute here!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 22, 2017 on Hotels
Riad le Calife is near one of the entrances in the medina of Fez. It's a conveniently located and nicely decorated Riad. The owners were very nice and helpful and even lent us a local phone in case we got lost in the medina. We also had a dinner in the Riad which was delicious.