Ratings based on 13 Verified Reviews

4.8 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
5.0 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by Cadillac from United States

Disappointing room

Posted Jan 3, 2013
Pros: Breakfast
Cons: Room, bed, and cleanliness
The best service and incredible breakfasts could not make up for the cold uncomfortable room, which had not been dusted. The floors and window sills were dirty, bed lumpy and the toilet ran unless the flusher was constantly jiggled. I understand it is an old building, but the dust and dirty floors were not necessary with a 10 minute cleaning, this is what I paid for. I am sorry to give a disappointing review, but it is what it is. Otherwise the host and hostess were magnificent.
5 out of 5
by enjj2012

Feel like home

Posted Jul 12, 2012 on Hotels
It was one of the best places we ever stayed. We felt like home. Everyday, I couldn't wait to go back after long day of touring around. The owners, Larence and her husband Bernard are so nice and so helpful. Their breakfast was something I looked forward to every morning. It was like a feast and each day there was somthing new. The drive and guide they recommended were so good and we were very happy with them. Definitely recommend this place and will stay there for sure if going back to Fez again!
5 out of 5
by Margo

Lovely Moroccan experience with gourmet breakfast

Posted Jun 11, 2012 on Hotels
We loved our stay at Dar Melody and would highly recommend this restored Moroccan home to anyone visitng Fez. Bernard and Laurence are perfect hosts. A must stop!!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent Experience!

Posted Mar 20, 2012
This is an excellent hotel. Every aspect is super. The owners are great people. I truly truly enjoyed my staying this hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Ann&Roger from Scotland

Even better than we had expected.

Posted Mar 8, 2012
Pros: Our hosts & their generosity in sharing their home with us.
Cons: Having to leave at the end of our stay!
Location: Conveniently close to the Andalousian Mosque: no problems in exploring on foot or taking a petit taxi back to the Parking at Bine Lamdoun.
We soon realised that, attractive as they are, the photographs on the website do less than justice to Dar Melody: it is a superb place to stay. The ambience is amazing - everything is authentic & the attention to detail ensures that the rooms as well as their furnishings demonstrate traditional decor. The warmth of the welcome we received was matched by the helpful advice about sightseeing & places to eat. The breakfasts were amongst the best we've ever enjoyed - an amazing variety of tempting items which we never managed to finish. We only got lost once trying to navigate our way back through the souks .....
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Beautiful house and lovely French couple to host

Posted Jun 28, 2011
Bernard and Laurence - thankyou for a lovely few days in Fez! We were picked up at the bus station by Bernard and driven back to their riad. It is a beautiful house and the rooms are huge! Bernard, Laurence and Fatima are so kind and helpful. But Oh. My. Goodness - the breakfasts!! We have never eaten that well before in our entire lives! It was a feast of homemade delicacies every single morning. Fresh figs with caramel, baked apples, crepes, cakes, as much coffee as you needed, fresh juice and more! And it was lovely to come in from the heat of the day to have some chilled melon or cherries or fresh juice or tea on offer. Plenty of places advertise as "you are welcome like you are a guest in our home", but here is one of the only places that we truly felt that way - to be offered tea or snacks or drinks when chatting with the hosts, and not have them all itemised on your bill at the end of the stay. You did truly feel like their guest, not just a paying hotel guest. Only one thing to consider though - they are located on the opposite side of the big medina to all the restaurants. To walk to the main square takes about 30-45 minutes, and there is not really anywhere to eat much closer than that. As there are no cars in the medina, the closest taxi drop off point is still about 10 minutes away. This means you need to think about walking home at night. But I want to stress: we NEVER felt unsafe.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 4, 2015
評価は遅くなりましたが、部屋は広い!朝食旨い!おばちゃんはフレンチですが英語は通じる方だと思います。しかも超親切!良い宿だと思います。友達の中国人の子が宿までの道が分からなくなったときに、その宿に電話して向かえを呼んでくれたりもしました。街は迷路のようなので最初は宿までの道が不安ですがすぐに慣れます。私は裏側の広場から電話をしたら迎えに来てくれました。
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Margriet from Gouda, Zuid Holland

Een Riad om voor terug te komen!

Posted Nov 12, 2012
Pros: Het ontbijt was super en de aankleding van de Riad en de kamer was gewoon af.
Cons: Het matras zou wel iets steviger mogen zijn.
Location: De Riad ligt in de Medina maar Bernard zorgt dat je bagage wordt gebracht en gehaald zodat je niet hoeft te sjouwen en/of te zoeken waar je moet zijn.
Deze Riad is maar met een woord te beschrijven "GEWELDIG". Bernard en Lauraine zijn fantastische mensen die je helpen in alles wat je maar wil. Bernard heeft ons op en neer naar het vliegveld gereden om onze kwijtgeraakte koffers op te sporen. Regelt een gids naar een restaurant enz.. Niets is te veel!!! Verder is het ontbijt een grote verrassing. Zó leuk en zó lekker allemaal. Ik heb mij nog nooit zo welkom gevoeld in een hotel of iets dergelijks als bij dit koppel.
5 out of 5
by Villa

i propretari sono fantastici

Posted Sep 3, 2012 on Hotels
Mi sono trovata benissimo in tutto, dall'ospitalità dei propetari al comfort della struttura. Ottima colazione studiata in tutti i particolari, dalla presentazione della tavola alla cura dei prodotti offerti.Consiglierei a tutti di provare questo dar a Fes.Forse l'unica nota sufficiente e la posizione non proprio centrale nella medina e quindi un pò complicata da raggiungere!
5 out of 5
by SFHa78

Wie daheim

Posted May 28, 2012 on Hotels
Im Dar Melody fühlt man sich wie zu Hause und man bekommt den besten Eindruck von der Stadt, da es mitten in der Altstadt liegt. Wir wurden vom Flughafen abgeholt und am Parkplatz von Bernard in Empfang genommen und zum Haus geführt worden. Alleine hätten wir es nie gefunden. Im Haus wurden wir von Bernard und Laurence mit allem, was wir brauchten, versorgt. Einen Guide für den nächsten Tag haben uns die beiden auch direkt organisiert, um einen Einblick in die Stadt Fes und die Traditionen des Landes zu bekommen. Auch das Frühstück war sehr gut. Ein Computer mit Internetzugang steht auch für die Gäste zur Verfügung. Alles in allem perfekter Start unserer Marokko-Tour.