Ratings based on 29 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
70% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by Shahdeh from NYC

Great spot if you don't have luggage

Posted Mar 9, 2015 on Hotels
I got to Fes by train and it was a 10 min cab ride to meet someone on the main road outside of the maze of the medina...if you have a lot of luggage I wouldn't recommend staying at this Riad. It will be challenging to get there. Upon arrival I was welcomed by the French hostess/owner. My room was everything I had dreamt of and they offered me a complimentary upgrade to the top floor with the terrace. However, it was incredibly cold and I had to have multiple heaters on and layers. The building is a 1000 years old and magical. It all made up for the temperature. The breakfast was great...the second day I didn't like what was prepared for me and the owner generously had her team prepare an entirely new spread for me which I appreciated greatly. I would stay there again in a heartbeat if I don't have luggage.
1 out of 5
by Jonathan from TX

Stay outside the medina!

Posted Dec 6, 2014 on Hotels
This place is a dump. The inn keeper and his wife are nice however the owner is very cunning so be careful. First, they said we couldn't use a credit card, then they tried charging us 2 days tax to make up for it. Thenhe did something tototally unexpected and offered my fiancee a ride to the train station. First kind thing that happened to us while in Morocco. .. Ahhhh...Wrong again because I offered him a tip and while the tip was what the cab ride would have cost me he said," That's it?" I would not wish this place on to anybody and we paid 37 USD for two including breakfast. This place isn't worth more than 25.
4 out of 5
by Theodore from Pascagoula

Experiencing old Morocco

Posted Dec 4, 2014 on Hotels
We had a great experience - staying in an ancient Dar in the middle of the Medina. A beautiful, authentic house, and a great price.
5 out of 5
by Maryam from UK

Excellent location, great hosts

Posted Sep 23, 2014 on Hotels
We had a wonderful time at Dar Tamo, located in the heart of the ancient medina. The room was decorated to a high standard and very comfortable. There were great views of the surrounding area and the staff were fantastic. Highly recommend!
5 out of 5
by Steven Earle from VA, USA

Great place to stay in Fes

Posted Aug 16, 2014 on Hotels
Abdul was fantastic.... he doesn't work directory for the hotel but he is always around and is friends with the owner. He will show you the entire city and will take you whereever you want to go. It was a bit of a challenge speaking english since the owner wasn't fluent but that's my fault for going to a country and not speaking their language. Very nice terrace with view of the city. In the heart of the Medina.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 28, 2014 on Hotels
Nice enough; some question of room cleanliness; despite advertisement of air conditioning, there was no AC, only a fan.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Edinburgh

True Fes experience at Dar Tamo

Posted Jul 2, 2014
Pros: Staff, location and terrace.
Cons: Breakfast can be more varied.
Location: The location is in the heart of the Medina. 5 min walk from R'cif square. The Andalusian neighbourhood, markets, medina and artisans houses.
Overall a great experience for us! The Dar Tamo staff was lovely and helpful, when you visit Fes and the incredibly amazing but laberintic Medina you value your hosts help even more than usual. We had the room in the patio, but as as soon as we arrive they offer us to occupy the room in the balcony for our intimacy at the same price. The room was exactly as you can see in the pictures, well decorated and decently cleaned with a really nice bathroom and powerful shower. We were guide to the riad by our eyes and ears in Fes,the multilingual and friendly Abdul. The location is perfect for what we wanted, the real Fes, the real Medina. Abdul assisted us in everything we wanted to do, sites, food, recommendations, shops..everything! We discovered the city on our own one day with his recommendations and was perfect, but on the walk back home after the sunset Abdul was there to guide us around the narrow and dark streets. We are well travelled but Fes is another story and Abdul was key for us to be able to enjoy this experience. The terrace of the Riad Dar Tamo is perfect for breakfast, for the sunset and for a cup of tea at night, incredible views of the Medina. All way through well decorated and clean, the staff always willing to help.Quality- Price a good choice!
4 out of 5
by TAB from Norway

There is great and not so great

Posted Jun 5, 2014 on Hotels
The riad is a spectacular house, all covered in tiles. And the location is very good, right in the medina labyrinth. But it is a little deteriorated: the bathroom walls are stained, the sink is a little clogged, the shower curtains let all the water out, etc
5 out of 5
by Marco from Heidelberg

One of the best options in Fes...

Posted May 1, 2014 on Hotels
Dar Tamo is a very well run Riad with beautiful, comfortable and very clean en-suite rooms. The terrace is spectacular and the breakfast served very sumptuous. The staff is very thoughtful and discreet.
1 out of 5
by Sinfo from Toronto, ON, Canada

Very Old Medina

Posted Jul 5, 2013
Cons: The Medina
Location: Not the best
Facilities are as mentioned. What they do not specify is that the Medina is not the best of places. I only staye one night and moved to the newer part of town. Fes was not my favourite destination and would not consider to go back