Ratings based on 61 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canada

The Best place to stay in Fes!

Posted Sep 6, 2016
Pros: Fouad was always accessible, ready to help and had a great sense of humour. He made takeaway bfast for us the morning we left early. So delicious !
Cons: Loved everything about Riad Layla! The owner is a great guy and the staff is awesome too! Unforgettable experience! Thank you FOUAD !!!!!
Location: Plenty of shopping in the medina just a 7 to 10min walk away and lots of restaurants to eat at but the one I recommend isTHAMI's / THAM'S restaurant.
The Riad is inside the old medina where it is so cultured and fun and interesting. The manager Fouad came to greet us where our ride dropped us off and helped carry my luggage to the Riad. It's just a 5 minute walk inside some alleyways. Fouad is a calm soft spoken young man and very good at what he does. Taking care of his clients. We were the only ones in the Riad at the time so we had his undivided attention. He offers tea or cold water when u arrive and gives u time to regain your composure after a long journey. He showed us a couple of rooms and let us choose which one we wanted. The rooms are great minus the stairs u have to climb. The owner explained that due to some limitations he cannot build an elevator on the property. It's fine in the end because it's a good workout for those who want to lose weight haha. We stayed in the mezzanine room which was spacious and had a rain shower which was awesome! The bed and pillows were comfortable and the musk and amber shampoo was soooo wonderful. Loved it! I had included a half board for our second night there which is a 3 course dinner and it was fantastic. My friend had beef tagine and I had fish tagine with couscous, cooked by Zohor. Meat was tender and juicy and fish was fresh! Breakfast was fantastic with different kinds of breads, omelette, jam, cheese, butter, yogurt, freshly squeezed orange juice and coffee. Soo good. All meals on the rooftop with a view of the city.
5 out of 5
by Hisham from London

Excellent

Posted Jul 20, 2016 on Hotels
Absolutely brilliant Riad and the staff were great!
5 out of 5
by anthony from Seattle, Washington

VALUE Beyond Price..

Posted Jun 6, 2016 on Hotels
Riad Layla and staff were an absolute oasis in the midst of a less than stellar birthday weekend. We flew there specifically from Barcelona to celebrate my 50th birthday. I never had a better meal outside the riad, such were the skills of Layla's cook.. All of this has nothing to do with the riad itself, and so much more to do with the social interactions that we have as travelers. The staffing of Riad Layla is far beyond my means to praise enough. I just hope that the owner knows what an exemplary staff that he has in Raja, Fouad, and Zhor. Beyond our ability to verbally communicate at times, each one communicated to me and my girlfriend, that as guests in their riad, and country, that we were cared for as honored guests, even family. Fouad was kind,and quietly efficient tending to our needs, with bags or dinner. Zhor was just lovely, a beautiful woman, and gifted cook. And Raja, Raja was the epitome of kindness, caring, and exhibited an above average interest in the experience of her guests, far beyond merely sheltering them. If you find yourself weighing your options for accomodation in Fez, THIS is the place I would choose again, and again. Raja, thank you all. And thank you most for saving the birthday experience in Fez, with the cake, and all of you.
5 out of 5
by Hope from Washington, DC

Great service!

Posted May 22, 2016 on Hotels
Great service! Latifa at the front desk was super help and had great recommendations for what we should do.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Great Riad, great staff very helpful and welcoming

Posted Mar 14, 2016
Fab staff. Very clean and super comfortable beds. Staff will try to accommodate your needs and wants. Good little spa as well. Lots to do. Great short break.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Nice Hotel

Posted Jan 29, 2016
Pros: Cleanness and friendly staff
Cons: Each room should Have TV and Phone
Location: close to Medinah
January 2016, we stayed at Riad Layla for two nights. We really enjoyed our stay. Very nice hotel with comfortable and clean room. Our standard room was clean. I would recommend up dating the bathroom and covering the shower area with a glass door or shower curtain. Breakfast was okay. Good location. Friendly staff. We had a great experience with Foad (the receptionist), he made us feel like home, he answered to all of our questions. He always was friendly, caring and smiling, the owner should be grateful to have such an employee. We enjoyed our stay very much. I would recommend a TV and phone for each room.
5 out of 5
by Edmund from England

Go for it.

Posted Nov 3, 2015 on Hotels
Well worth a visit.
4 out of 5
by Jeremy from Bishkek

Dark, romantic hotel on the edge of the medina.

Posted Oct 21, 2015 on Hotels
Riad Layla is a lovely little riad (courtyard / garden centered building) hotel in the medina. The hotel is beautiful, with an astounding central courtyard, and boutique-style rooms, each with their own theme. We found the breakfast to be good, with a rooftop view over the medina, and the room was quite romantic. We were in the top room of the building, which opens up onto the rooftop deck. There were three minor drawbacks to the room, all of which are circumstantial and can't really be quibbled about: 1) the bathroom was open to the bedroom, with no dividing door. While this did much for the ambiance and overall aesthetic, it was a bit embarrassing to have to "do one's business" in front of one's bedmate. My girlfriend and I took turns hanging out out on the deck whilst the other took care of things. Secondly / thirdly, the building is in a thousand-plus year old neighbourhood, which means that the pipes are a bit smelly and tend to let in roaches. Make sure that you plug your drains when not using them. One really good thing about this riad is that it is towards the edge of the medina, so you or your porters won't have to haul your baggage as far into the medina from the parking lots that dot the edges. It should be noted that automobiles cannot get in or out of this neighbourhood, so this really is a noted plus. Overall we had a great time, and would stay at the hotel again.
5 out of 5
by Alexandra from Jackson, MI

Wowed and excited

Posted Aug 11, 2015 on Hotels
I had always wanted to stay in a riad in Fes. But for the 2 years I lived in Morocco, I was working for Peace Corps and making a wage that meant I couldn't afford it. So when I returned to Morocco 3 years later, making a lot more money I knew staying in a riad was high on my list. I loved Riad Layla! Layla just happens to be my Moroccan name so that is what attracted me to it along with the picture. The room (suite Sara) was so beautiful and luxurious. Loved the bed, bathroom, the windows to courtyard, and the fact it was air conditioned! Absolutely loved having delicious breakfast on the roof. Staff was incredibly nice and welcoming. I recommend anyone to go to Riad Layla. A bit tough to find, as is any place in the old medina. If you have the address on you usually eventually some friendly people will either point or lead you there. Just also be aware there will be Moroccan taxes to pay on the spot at the end of your stay, around 130 dirham. I wasn't prepared for that.
5 out of 5
by James from Gardnerville

a little paradise in Fes

Posted Aug 2, 2015 on Hotels
Our stay at Riad Layla was exquisite!We were treated with the utmost respect and care. Rajja the manage looked after every detail of our stay and sincerely cared our about safety. The food was a little expensive for our budge but heavenly!