Ratings based on 25 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canada

The Best place to stay in Fes!

Posted Sep 6, 2016
Pros: Fouad was always accessible, ready to help and had a great sense of humour. He made takeaway bfast for us the morning we left early. So delicious !
Cons: Loved everything about Riad Layla! The owner is a great guy and the staff is awesome too! Unforgettable experience! Thank you FOUAD !!!!!
Location: Plenty of shopping in the medina just a 7 to 10min walk away and lots of restaurants to eat at but the one I recommend isTHAMI's / THAM'S restaurant.
The Riad is inside the old medina where it is so cultured and fun and interesting. The manager Fouad came to greet us where our ride dropped us off and helped carry my luggage to the Riad. It's just a 5 minute walk inside some alleyways. Fouad is a calm soft spoken young man and very good at what he does. Taking care of his clients. We were the only ones in the Riad at the time so we had his undivided attention. He offers tea or cold water when u arrive and gives u time to regain your composure after a long journey. He showed us a couple of rooms and let us choose which one we wanted. The rooms are great minus the stairs u have to climb. The owner explained that due to some limitations he cannot build an elevator on the property. It's fine in the end because it's a good workout for those who want to lose weight haha. We stayed in the mezzanine room which was spacious and had a rain shower which was awesome! The bed and pillows were comfortable and the musk and amber shampoo was soooo wonderful. Loved it! I had included a half board for our second night there which is a 3 course dinner and it was fantastic. My friend had beef tagine and I had fish tagine with couscous, cooked by Zohor. Meat was tender and juicy and fish was fresh! Breakfast was fantastic with different kinds of breads, omelette, jam, cheese, butter, yogurt, freshly squeezed orange juice and coffee. Soo good. All meals on the rooftop with a view of the city.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Great Riad, great staff very helpful and welcoming

Posted Mar 14, 2016
Fab staff. Very clean and super comfortable beds. Staff will try to accommodate your needs and wants. Good little spa as well. Lots to do. Great short break.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Nice Hotel

Posted Jan 29, 2016
Pros: Cleanness and friendly staff
Cons: Each room should Have TV and Phone
Location: close to Medinah
January 2016, we stayed at Riad Layla for two nights. We really enjoyed our stay. Very nice hotel with comfortable and clean room. Our standard room was clean. I would recommend up dating the bathroom and covering the shower area with a glass door or shower curtain. Breakfast was okay. Good location. Friendly staff. We had a great experience with Foad (the receptionist), he made us feel like home, he answered to all of our questions. He always was friendly, caring and smiling, the owner should be grateful to have such an employee. We enjoyed our stay very much. I would recommend a TV and phone for each room.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Wonderful place to stay

Posted Jul 27, 2015
Pros: Everything!
Cons: no criticism given the staff was accommodating, especially Raja (thank you Raja!).
Location: Museum Dar Baatha; Moulay Idriss, souk.
I booked Riad Layla online from afar as a travel "present" for some family visiting Fes. All 4 family members (ranging in age from 9 - 75 years) say the stay was above their expectations, they loved their room, the bathroom, and the riad itself - and the staff was extremely accommodating both to them upon their arrival, and to me trying to book this from the U.S. Also to add is they enjoyed their breakfast, they found that a definite plus. Location is good. We are extremely pleased the stay at the riad was also one of the highlights of their trip.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Beautiful Riad

Posted Jun 27, 2015
Pros: Nice welcome, beautiful decoration, great views of the city from the terrace
Cons: No free water in the rooms. The patio is covered and it can feel humid in the communal areas
Location: Very good location, we hired an official guide at the Madrasa and on hindsight it was a very good decision,especially if you are in Fez for only 1 day
We stayed for 2 night in this Riad. Our room was in the terrace (the only one), very beautiful, airy and pleasant room. Breakfast in the rooftop terrace very good; the staff was nice and helpful. Location is convenient, short walk to the Blue Gate and the medina. Accessible parking. Water in the hotel was too expensive, 40 dirhams where as it's around 10 dirhams outside (there was no free water in the room)
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Lovely Riad Layla!

Posted Apr 15, 2015
An amazing, friendly staff who cater to your every need. The riad and the room were absolutely stunning. The location was also great. Set on a quiet street, but only minutes walk away from the main area of the Fez Medina. We highly recommend this riad.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Aldo

Cozy and a home feeling

Posted Nov 8, 2014
Very nice Riad. The reception lady Miss Sekena was so friendly and supportive. The breakfast is like having it at home. They pampard us with smile .
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canada

Great Riad with Amazing Staff

Posted Oct 23, 2014
We stayed at Riad Layla from Oct 2 to 5 and were more than impressed. Riad Layla was the first place I've stayed that truly warranted a review (good or bad). From the moment you arrive you are treated like welcome family. Our room was spacious and comfortable. The bed was good. Breakfast was delicious. Dinners were tasty and well prepared (a bit pricey though-similar to other riads and tourist restaurants). The views from the terrace are unbeatable in the morning and evening. As good as the facility is, it truly comes to life because of wonderful staff. The staff go out of their way to make your stay enjoyable......and more likely, memorable. Souky is without comparison when it comes to going the extra mile. From seeing us to the Dr's office for an emergency visit and arranging a car rental over the holiday (when none were open) to showing us incredible Moroccan hospitality during the holiday, this young lady goes above and beyond, and always with a smile. Michael is a great personality and will keep you smiling. The entire staff go about their business in a professional, yet personal manner. Thanks again, Courtenay and Jason
1 out of 5
by Debbie from Vancouver

BEWARE booking at this Riad.

Posted Apr 6, 2014
Pros: The room and patio area were nicely decorated and kept very clean. The young staff were very nice. The terrace was nice and the breakfast was good.
Cons: Customer service! They should not bump a paid reservation, but if done, some compensation should be offered for the inconvenience (not a down-grade!)
Location: Near Batha place and close to the Blue Gate. Quiet area.
We booked on Expedia and pre-paid for 3 nights in the Zaina suite (for 2 adults and 1 child) in Jan/14. When we arrived at night in late March, we were told that we could not have our third night because of another booking (they bumped us) "but we will take care of you". They then tried to put us in a much cheaper riad buried in the medina (I also had purposely chose our location). It took 2 days of debate until I bluntly told them I knew we were being bumped, and I wanted an equivalent riad in the same area. They finally agreed. (They should have done this from the start, and an upgrade would have been nice, but not offered.) I also had asked for a refund for the last night (even cash - I had my bill) and I would find my own riad. This was also refused. We also were put in the Salma suite (not the Zaina suite I had purposely booked). It is on the ground floor and the doors/windows open to the very noisy central patio area where everyone gathers/passes by, so you have no privacy. When you shut the doors/windows, the room is very dark, even with lights. Also, there is a strong sewer smell coming from the bathroom (they had placed deodorizers in it) - we had to keep the door shut. The young staff were friendly and tried to be helpful, but they were not the one making the decisions. If we had the Zaina room as booked, I would be writing a very different review.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Urva from Denver, CO

Gorgeous Riad with Friendly Staff

Posted Mar 24, 2014
Pros: - Beautiful building - Clean - Helpful staff
Location: The riad is located on a quiet street in the medina, near the sites and souks.
We only stayed here for one night, though after seeing it I wish we had been there for longer. The building is BEAUTIFUL, and our room (Mezzanine) was wonderful. As others have mentioned, this is the room without a bathroom door, though we didn't find it a problem as the room is spacious and there are nice sitting areas in the courtyard and on the terrace. The staff, Souky in particular, was extremely helpful in getting a driver set up for us and letting us use their printer for our next day's travels. Breakfast on the terrace was fantastic, and there's a nice view up there as well. I would definitely recommend it, and would stay here again if future travels take me to Fes.