Ratings based on 54 Verified Reviews

5.0 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
5.0 Room cleanliness
5.0 Service & staff
4.9 Room comfort
5.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from miami, fl

gorgeous property, incredible staff and service

Posted Jun 24, 2017
Pros: EVERYTHING!!!
Location: perfectly located inside the medina walls but tucked away from the crowds.
we absolutely LOVED everything about el calife! yasmine, alex and the staff are so welcoming, warm, accommodating and helpful. it was truly a joy to stay in this incredibly beautiful and special riad. each room is elegant, with attention to the tiniest detail. and yasmine and alex are so helpful with tours, restaurants, what to do and arranging transport within and around fes and to other cities. we loved every minute of our stay and hated to leave. they treated us like family. 5 stars in all aspects.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 22, 2017 on Hotels
Riad le Calife is near one of the entrances in the medina of Fez. It's a conveniently located and nicely decorated Riad. The owners were very nice and helpful and even lent us a local phone in case we got lost in the medina. We also had a dinner in the Riad which was delicious.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Orleans

Gorgeous Riad in the Medina with Incredible Hosts

Posted Mar 26, 2017
We spent 4 nights at Yasmine and Alex's guesthouse in Fez and we are already planning a return. They restored it 8 years ago and have impeccable taste. We ate dinner there on our last night and wish we would have had more meals at the Riad. Fatima is the chef and can give you a free cooking class if you would like. Yasmine and Alex are always around to give you recommendations and couldn't be more helpful. They can arrange tours, hammams and Alex will even give you tips on haggling. She is from Fez and he is from France. Both fluent in English. We will definitely be back!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Richmond, VA

A perfect stay in Fes

Posted Mar 6, 2017
Pros: Staff was very friendly and helpful, food was excellent, rooms were well maintained and comfortable.
Location: The hotel is very helpful in setting up tours and dinner reservations.
Loved staying at this small, boutique hotel in the heart of Fes. Looking forward to returning again!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Awesome Riad with exceptional service

Posted Feb 20, 2017
Beautiful Riad at the doorstep of medina with amazing owners who went above and beyond expectations to make our stay enjoyable.
5 out of 5
by Nancy

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 19, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London, UK

Great personal hotel right in the Medina!

Posted Oct 31, 2016
Pros: The personal service and attention to detail.
Cons: Nothing.
Location: Perfect location in the Medina. Very near to a road so able to get luggage in easily. Very quiet also. Visit the medina, the tanneries and crafts/
Stayed here 4 nights and what a terrific experience. The riad is right in the Medina but easy to get to as just off a main street. Very quiet at all times. Rooms are beautiful and spotless, and the personal advice and service from Alex and Yasmine is really great. Nothing is too much trouble. We also had a cooking class with the hotel chef Fatima. A great afternoon... learnt lots about Moroccan cuisine. We ate dinner twice in the hotel and these were the best meals we had on our trip. Worthwhile getting a guide for the first day to take you through the medina (which can be difficult to navigate) and we also went out on a walk in the middle atlas and had an afternoon at a small hotel in the hills (which was a great contrast the the hustle and bustle of Fes). Overall a wonderful trip, a great hotel and would definitely go back!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Houston, TX

Best Riad in Fez!

Posted Oct 6, 2016
Pros: Everything! location, staff, décor, food, rooftop view
Cons: honestly nothing I could think of
Stayed here for two nights but wish we could have stayed there longer! Most beautiful Riad with so much open space everywhere and stunning carvings and the BEST view in Fez with their rooftop terrace!! Yasmine and Alex are wonderful and so helpful with everything and Fatima (the chef) is phenomenal!! Her chicken pastilla is to die for along with the lovely welcome gift and departing treats they gave us. The room is also beautiful with a lush bed and the softest towels. Cannot recommend this Riad enough when visiting Fez and the location is perfect as well since you can easily walk to the heart of the Medina (once you get a hang of the location).
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Maine, USA

Hospitality like we've never experienced!

Posted Oct 4, 2016
Location: We just loved the Medina, with all of its beautiful sights, sounds, shops. and especially the welcoming people. We had a wonderful time.
When I began planning our trip to Morocco, I started by reading reviews of hotels and riads in Fes. When I read the reviews of Riad Le Calife, I actually didn't believe any place could be a good as the reviews reported. I was wrong. The Riad, Alex and Yasmine. and their entire staff were better than we could have dreamed. The Riad itself is beautiful, welcoming, comfortable and spotlessly clean. Our suite (Rubis) was thoroughly delightful, and the service was over the top wonderful. Yasmine was a fantastic communicator during the planning stages of the trip, promptly and efficiently answering every question I had, and arranging for our every need. From setting up airport transportation, to helping us with our train tickets to Marrakech, to arranging our guide in the Medina (Aziz, who was fantastic), to welcoming us for dinner (cooked to perfection by Fatima-wow!), she and Alexandre and their entire staff were nothing short of the perfect hosts. They were patient, kind and caring, and even our flaky last-minute changes and requests were met with graciousness and generous assistance. I can't imagine that our stay in Fes could have been any better than they made it for us. Thank you!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

A Gem in Fes

Posted May 18, 2016
Yasmine and Andrew have created an oasis of hospitality in the old city of Fes. They were very helpful in advance of our arrival with directions, suggestions and reservations for meals, events and tours. The Riad itself is stunning,. The breakfast excellent and the staff are very friendly and professional. Would definitely return and recommend to others.