Ratings based on 807 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from teax,USA

Good location

Posted Aug 15, 2017
Pros: Good view.
Good location, good view.There are no air conditioner in the room.it is hot in day time. Fortunately, the room is cool in night time.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Perfect location, but not worth it

Posted Aug 7, 2017
Pros: The location
Cons: The quality of the service provided by the staff should be more refined
Location: It's the Rockies, you need to get out there and see it
Emerald Lake is a world class destination in the Rockies and this lodge gives you that prime location, but that's it. Be advised not all the rooms have a view on the lake. We paid a fortune to stay one night, which made me put the bar very high on this hotel. The quality of the service from the staff and the overall comfort of the room were simply not worth it. You're paying for the prime location in a very standard comfort.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from ohio

Incredible views, rustic lodge

Posted Aug 4, 2017
The view of Emerald Lake and the surrounding mountains is incredible. Very peaceful and a good place for a quiet getaway without the crowds of Banff. The room was nice, clean and definitely rustic. The only complaint was the slight smell of sewer in the room. Thankfully we were there only one night but for an extended stay this would not have worked. Not sure if it was only our room or others as well. If not for that I would give a solid 5 stars and recommend to anyone that wants a nice relaxing setting and accommodations.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

disappointing

Posted Jul 26, 2017
A beautiful natural spot, but the hotel experience disappointing. Disapointments: Main issue is that the place is run down and overall lack of professionalism or concern for guest experience -examples: delayed shuttle to and from parking lot to hotel, prolonged wait to get room (checkin is 4pm and little effort made to accomodate you if you arrive earlier, no hottub in working order, dismissive front desk manager, room is very worn looking with tired carpets, unswept balcony, dingy feel. Not at all what you'd expect for the price. Plusses: a beautiful natural spot. when the day bus tourists die down at the end of the day the walk around the lake is lovely. The main lodge is still elegant and reminds you of what this hotel may have felt like in older days when it was less overrun and managed with TLC
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Winona Lake, IN

Great Location with Spectacular Views - Good Food

Posted Jul 25, 2017
Seemed like the service was struggling to keep up. But, the location is hard to beat.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from F

Nice View

Posted Jul 19, 2017
There was a boil order for the water. (They have us bottled water) Window had broken blinds. We had to put personal items in the windows for privacy. The bathroom was not very clean. The view was amazing - but - would not stay there again!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Austin, Texas

Beautiful scenery

Posted Jul 16, 2017
We only stayed there for one night, but we had one of the most incredible experiences of our trip, both there and at the falls on the way to the lodge. A must see!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Coventry

Great location, quirky hotel.

Posted Jul 14, 2017
Remote car park, served by shuttle. No WiFi in room, no TV, no fridge. No air conditioning, but insect proof mesh windows allowed cool nights. Room was tired. Dining and drinks were overpriced. However lovely location, with a get away from it all feel.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

The facility is broken

Posted Jul 13, 2017
Pros: Location, close to the lake
Cons: Fix the hot tub
Location: Enjoy the lake view
The hotel is in good location, but the hot tub is broken, not as shown on the website.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 11, 2017
Though rooms are fairly basic, they are clean and comfortable. The view and the area are spectacular. Sound proofing is not the best. Great outdoor hot tab when it is working. No cell coverage, wifi is only in the main lodge that has its charm.