Ratings based on 27 Verified Reviews

3.4 out of 5
67% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from UK

Do not expect a usable pool

Posted Jul 18, 2016
Pros: Not much.
Cons: Everything.
Faded is probably the best way to describe this hotel. It was fine as a base but not for spending any time in. The pool (in mid July) was not clean and clearly rarely used (covered in a film of dead flies and hugely over-chlorinated). The photographer for the website is a genius - the hotel does not look like this. It is clean and basic but that is all. There is nowhere to have drinks overlooking the view, breakfast is served inside (despite there being a terrace) and is again basic but passable. The staff are fine but there is no service culture. Taken for what it is it is fine, expect a nice hotel and you will be disappointed. Luckily as we were there for a wedding the hotel was not the point - luckily.
4 out of 5
by Carol from Lake in the Hills, IL

Charming with a consumable welcome package!

Posted Jul 15, 2015 on Hotels
I had to book this room at the last minute and was delighted with the location of the Hotel Villa Aurora! It is steps away from the bus stop, as well as conveniently located on the Piazza Mino - the center of Fiesole. The Villa is charming with many artifacts to view, but beware of the stairs if you have heavy luggage! The room, which again was a last minute decision, was clean and had a welcome package in the mini frig! The bed was a bit hard and the shower stall was small. Had to rush out for an appointment before I had a chance to enjoy breakfast. The staff was cordial and allowed me to store my luggage there during my hectic schedule.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from London

Hotel in central Fiesole,

Posted May 20, 2015
Pros: Position which gives panoramic views of Florence from restaurant and terraces,
Cons: Better spoken English and more imaginative breakfast, rather limited when we were there in May).
Location: Small local market on Saturdays. Easy transport to Florence via bus service every ten minutes just outside hotel.
iii Although convenient for transport into Florence, Number 7 bus does not now go into central Florence but instead to the San Marcos area from where you have to walk (about 10 minutes). Hotel very nice and would stay there again for as long as I can manage the stairs (no lift). Room spacious and very clean. Staff very pleasant and helpful. Reception good, but higher standard of spoken English would be appreciated (typical lazy English comment probably).
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful location, fine staff

Posted Nov 3, 2013
The hotel is on the crest of the hill at Fiesole, overlooking Florence. It's a beautiful location and the dining room and breakfast room take full advantage of the view. Our room was clean and comfortable, the food good. The staff was helpful with the usual (transportation, local guidance) but outstanding on a small dispute with a local business. They made two calls and got us reimbursement from the local business. All done with ease and friendliness. This is a grand old hotel, probably from the 19th c, and there is an atmosphere of faded elegance
2 out of 5
by Tony from Sussex, UK

Interesting old villa in hills overlooking Florenc

Posted Sep 24, 2013
Pros: Nice faded atmosphere and easy access to Florence
Cons: The beds!!!! And, indeed, the whole hotel needs an overhaul to warrant its 4 star rating
Location: Florence and easy access to the Chianti region south of Florence
The hotels is in Fiesole which is a village in the hills overlooking Florence thus providing a quiet retreat from the crowds of Florence. The local bus stops right outside the hotel and is only a 10 minute ride into the city centre. The hotel is in an interesting historic villa which must have been magnificent in its heyday. No, sadly it is a bit run down and doesn't warrant its 4 star rating. The breakfast room and terrace is fine and we had a very nice dinner one night overlooking the city. The problems began in our room. We had asked for single beds and the mattresses were so uncomfortable that we slept very badly on both nights. Rock hard and lumpy. The lighting was very dim and the shower a bit grubby. On our first night the restaurant had been taken over for a wedding which was so noisy we closed the window and switched on the air-conditioning. It blew out air but did not cool! The hotel advertises a swimming pool but it is a temporary above ground pool which had collapsed!!
3 out of 5
by Stephen from Seattle

Beautiful location and a pool

Posted Jun 25, 2013 on Hotels
Everything was great, except that the beds and pillows are horribly uncomfortable. Didn't sleep much due to that.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Proximity and Access to Florence

Posted May 24, 2013
The staff was very helpful and the hotel very pleasant. Fiesole offers many very good restaurants as well. The town is on a regular bus route so access into Florence is quick. This will be my choice when we return.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Sydney, Australia

Good location but very tired

Posted Apr 18, 2012 on Hotels
Great place to stay for visits to Florence but the interior of the room we had was very run down. The pool was covered by a tarpaulin and didn't look to have been in service for quite some time. The Blu Bar (attached to the hotel) not sure if under the same managment but the food there was dire.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 2, 2011 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Dublin

Well Located

Posted Sep 16, 2009 on Hotels
This was a really nice hotel in the centre of the town. The staff were very nice and rooms were spacious and clean. Im not sure bout the pool though from the pictures it looked alot nicer.