Ratings based on 60 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Lovely hotel with helpful staff and good food.

Posted May 19, 2017
Lovely hotel with helpful staff and good food. Easy to find with plenty parking. Nice grounds to have a walk in too.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

"I do" recommend Balbirnie

Posted Mar 18, 2017
Pros: Comfortable room etc. but the shining pearls of this hotel are the staff. Friendly, efficient, helpful and polite nothing was too much trouble.
Cons: The breakfast could have been hotter.
Lovely hotel and surroundings impressive first impressions. I was attending my nieces wedding and was treated as if I was the bride. If you're planning a wedding get in touch with Balbirnie. Organised to a tee, food gorgeous efficiently served and cleared. Brilliant.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 28, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful Hotel set in wonderful grounds

Posted Jun 17, 2016
Pros: Quiet and luxurious
Cons: Breakfast buffet was lukewarm
Very comfortable overnight stay Good dining options
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Room problem.

Posted Oct 16, 2015 on Hotels
we were on the ground floor and the curtains would'nt close completely , leaving a gap wide enough for anyone in the hotel grounds to see clearly in to our room. Reported problem to hotel staff however no solution during the time of our stay.It has to be said however that we only stayed 1 night.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Comfortable

Posted Sep 25, 2015 on Hotels
The hotel and grounds are lovely. The room itself was large although a little dated but still very comfortable. The only issue was the wasps, the velux window in the bathroom couldnt be closed and there were 3-4 wasps in there at any one time. There is obviously a nest close by judging by the wasp shaped splatters already around the window and walls in there.
5 out of 5
by Fiona from Wanganui

Posted Sep 20, 2015 on Hotels
Fabulous, wish we had had the time to stay an extra night. Would recommend it to anyone wanting to escape the tourist routes or looking to get away from it all
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Qatar

Trees and fields surround the hotel. Very quiet.

Posted Sep 2, 2015
Pros: Comfort and location
Cons: A history of the building should be available at check in
Location: Golf, walking and running
Great night's sleep. Qaint An amazing hidden secret in a cupboard adjacant to small dining room. 19th century family activity and worth asking about it on check in
5 out of 5
by Pauline from Invergordon

Great place for dog owners

Posted Aug 28, 2015 on Hotels
Stayed for one night to visit a friend. Had my dog with me. A large Irish Wolfhound puppy. The staff were very helpful. I chose the hotel due to its proximity to my friend and the fact they accepted dogs. Dogs are not allowed in the bar or restaurant, but the weather was lovely so we sat outside. The room was a little tired but very clean. It was large and airy. We ate in the bistro and the food was lovely. I had a pickled peach, feta and hazelnut salad. Perfect size portions and great quality. All the staff without exception were pleasant and couldn't have helped any more with advice and support. I can happily recommend this hotel.
4 out of 5
by Irene from Aberdeen

Nice relaxing stay.

Posted Aug 27, 2015 on Hotels
Attentive friendly staff. Excellent food in the Orangery restaurant. Nice room with good sized en-suite only spoiled by the lack of view due to the high position of the window. Golf course on site.