Ratings based on 25 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Wedding

Posted Jan 17, 2017
Great friendly staff a real plus nowadays. A credit tor the hotel. Young friendly smiling faces
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Glenrothes

Birthday bash

Posted Nov 21, 2016
Pros: Its setting in beautiful grounds and interior was stunning and staff were polite and helpful. Service with a smile could not fault them
Cons: Better sound proofing, had "wake up call" from guest next door on her phone a 6:45am and noisy inconsiderate guests in the hallway during early hours
Location: Nicely hidden from main road
Was at hotel for a friend's birthday bash overall experience was good, food was excellent as was the breakfast loads of choice and good quality. Also we were expecting a walking shower as this what our booking sheet indicated but got a bath instead disappointed. Only other downside was noisy guests banging on doors and arguing was woken up twice during night. Also we couldn't get the TV to switch off and neither could the floor attendant who suggested we leave it on all night as was too late for maintenance. Good job we were really exhausted so didn't notice it too much.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Newtongrange

A relaxing stay

Posted Oct 25, 2016
Pros: Quiet, pretty location. Really thoughtful staff and some nice touches, such as a letter through the door to explain how to avoid queuing for breakfast
Cons: Some of the furniture and decor (such as the dining room and carpets in the bedroom) looked worn, tired, or dated.
Location: We didn't leave the hotel as we had everything we needed. The pool and spa facilities are first class: very clean and well maintained.
We enjoyed our night in a double deluxe room. It was well worth the extra money to have space to sit and read the paper without having to sit up in bed. Despite there being a wedding reception until late, we enjoyed a good night's sleep in a quiet part of the hotel. We had a delicious dinner in the hotel restaurant and enjoyed a full breakfast after making use of the spa in the morning.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 20, 2016
lovely hotel all the staff were friendly. lovely relaxing swim in the pool and breakfast was very good
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Edinburgh

Pleasant Stay

Posted Oct 18, 2016
Pros: The Spa!
Location: Didn't leave the building!
Arrived for an overnight stay to be greeted with friendly and welcoming hotel staff. Given a lovely, spacious room, my only advice would be to maybe pop the heater on an hour or so before guest arrival as it was a quite cold. This is the only very minor issue and the rest of the experience was excellent. We made full use of the spa, which was very pleasant and had dinner in the restaurant. The food and service here was fab. Will definitely be returning for a short stay at some point! Lynsay Keast
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Pleasant hotel

Posted Oct 13, 2016
Pros: Comfortable. Efficiency of staff.
Cons: Difficult to access! Satnav took us to an estate the other side of the fenced drive up to the hotel.
We stayed one night and were pleasantly surprised to be upgraded to a larger room - the bath was enormous! The shower was powerful; the bed was huge and the room was large.... what's not to like? The staff were efficient and helpful. Dinner and breakfast both fine. Didn't have time to try out the spa facilities.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 12, 2016
Enjoyable one night stay, nice restaurant and great staff
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Aberdeen

Beautiful Old house in a great location.

Posted Aug 29, 2016
Beautiful old house surrounded by lovely mature gardens. Comfortable room on ground floor with french door to garden, nice. We enjoyed our breakfast very much. Evening meal was only average however and young staff attentive but inexperienced. Would recommend a stay here.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from FL

Excellent in every way.

Posted Jul 31, 2016
Nice garden access room. Food and service excellent. Staff cares.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Aberdeenshire

Lovely relaxing stay

Posted Jul 22, 2016
We enjoyed our stay here for a couple of nights. It was very relaxing with friendly and helpful staff. Rooms were clean, spacious and comfortable. Bonus was the use of spa and leisure facilities. Lovely pool area and gym. We enjoyed the buffet breakfast, great value and lovely selection of fresh food.