Ratings based on 689 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Edinburgh

Unique interior design

Posted Mar 26, 2017
Interesting design with public rooms situated around a huge atrium, open plan lounge and breakfast area. Open fire in reception/ welcome area which is a nice start to the experience. There is a magnificent modern art installation/chandelier in the downstairs area which is a delight to behold! The bedrooms are beautifully furnished. The Cucina Italian Restaurant is well worth a visit! The only downside was the excessive heat in the room which prevented me from sleeping. I later discovered a low lying switch by the door for underfloor heating!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dallas, Texas

Wonderful staff, hotel and facilities!

Posted Mar 21, 2017
We were in St. Andrews for a family spring break trip and it was amazing. The staff, property, and facilities are all amazing. My son played golf two days and we walked the courses with him. Amazing views and a lot of fun. We would go back in a heartbeat!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from fife

Lovely hotel, great views friendly staff

Posted Mar 10, 2017
The room was spacious and comfortable,we had s nice meal in the Italian restaurant and the friendly staff made it a very enjoyable stay
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Luxurious

Posted Mar 1, 2017
A great hotel for a luxurious break in the St Andrews area
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 2, 2017 by J Keating, Hotel Management
I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and appreciate you taking the time to post a review. I hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back again in the future. J Keating General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Johnstone

Fairmont, St.Andrews.

Posted Feb 28, 2017
Pros: Location.
Cons: Nothing to comment upon.
Very nice hotel, set in beautiful surroundings. Thoroughly enjoyable.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 2, 2017 by J Keating, Hotel Management
I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for taking the time to write a review. I hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back again soon. J Keating General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Pittenweem

70 th birthday

Posted Feb 25, 2017
Pros: The luxury and comfort.
Cons: Price of soft drinks i.e. small bottle of tonic water at £2.00.
Location: We live locally, so the local attractions were not too important.
Took my husband for his 70 th and ate in La Cucina and also had afternoon tea with friends.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 2, 2017 by J Keating, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to write a review following your recent stay. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and enjoyed both your Afternoon Tea and dining in La Cucina. I hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back again in the future. J Keating General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ontario, Canada

Good value

Posted Feb 24, 2017
May be because it is low season for golfing in February, the price I paid for our stay at this hotel is super value! The hotel is beautiful! Staff is courteous. Restaurants are great! Shuttle service takes you right to the heart of St. Andrews. I highly recommend this hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 2, 2017 by J Keating, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to write a review following your recent stay with us. I am delighted that you had such a wonderful time and hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back again in the future. J Keating General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Becoming a firm favourite of mine.

Posted Feb 23, 2017
Lively few days if chilling hitel wasn't too busy so there was plenty of space at the soa/gym. Bit of refurbishment going on between 9-5 drilling can be quite noisy, we asked reception for a move and it was no problem, staff very helpful. Club house restaurant is closed during winter months which is a shame the food us excellent. In house restaurant is good and food is lovely again staff are very pleasant and helpful.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 28, 2017 by J Keating, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay with us. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and particularly pleasing to read that we are becoming one of your favourite hotels. I have passed on your comments to the Management team to review with their departments and hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back again soon. J Keating General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from renfrew

Nice location..... Spoiled by no valentines

Posted Feb 20, 2017
Our experience was ruined by the hotels lack of valentines day....which was the reason I booked the hotel.....when I asked a member of staff about valentines..... The reply was why should they put anything special on.....can't fault the hotel it was beautiful..... But should have been told about renovation work on going when I booked.....no champagne on arrival plus no chocolate's in room
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 2, 2017 by J Keating, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay as we value all guest feedback to help us improve on the service and facilities. I am delighted that overall you enjoyed your stay and have passed on your comments to the Management team to share with their departments. We do have information on the refurbishment on third party websites and have tried to keep guests informed but I am terribly sorry if this was not conveyed to you. I hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back again in the future. J Keating General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Clean hotel, very up market

Posted Feb 19, 2017
Just all round nice stay in a quality hotel. We have stayed in many hotels but this one is up there with the best of them.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 21, 2017 by J Keating, Hotel Management
I am delighted that you enjoyed your recent stay with us and appreciate you taking the time to post a review. I hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back again soon. J Keating General Manager