Ratings based on 258 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Francisco, CA

Great location

Posted Jul 21, 2016
We had tee times at the New and Old Course, so it was wonderful to walk to the first tee!! The central location also was convienent for restaurants and pubs. The only negative was the wifi was weak and asked a bunch of personal questions during registration.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Miami, FL

Unbelievable location

Posted Jul 6, 2016
Pros: The rooms are good, clean, a good amount of space.
Cons: The only recommendation I could give to the ownership to improve my ratings would be to replace the mattresses.
Location: LOCATION LOCATION LOCATION, you couldn't ask to be in a better location. Golf course right in front you and walking to any restaurant or shopping!
You find yourself right on the 18th fairway of The Old Course. Walking distance to anything in the town. The staff was great and extremely accommodating. My wife and I showed up at midnight and two people rushed out to our car to get the luggage, then they ran in the kitchen to make us sandwiches because we hadn't eaten that evening during our travels. Very, very nice people! The rooms are good, clean, a good amount of space. The only recommendation I could give to the ownership to improve my ratings would be to replace the mattresses. Otherwise, I would gladly stay here again!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from washington state usa

Nice hotel in ideal location

Posted May 29, 2016
We stayed at the MacDonald Rusacks hotel for just one night while picking up our daughter from St ANDREWS. The hotel was beautiful and facing the golf course and the ocean. It is located in town so it is easy to walk to restaurants and shops.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Toronto, Canada

Fantastic Location

Posted May 23, 2016
Pros: Location and service
Cons: Elevator could be updated.
Location: Golf, shopping, the Castle, the Cathedral
Perfect location with view across the Old Course to the sea. Comfortable room with two occasional chairs.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Overnight break

Posted May 11, 2016
Room booked was claustrophobic and the window faced a brick wall. When asked for an alternative room I was advised that all standard double rooms were the same and an upgrade would cost an extra £50. Would not recommend if you are looking for a nice getaway break. Restaurant was fab.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great location, views of the Oldcourse, ends there

Posted May 4, 2016
Hotel staff were great. Lobby, restaurants and bars were great. My room not so great. 418 is top floor, no elevator access to it though. Room was basically an attic turned into a room. Slanted cielings. Bed and furniture barely fit. No room for luggage of walking around. Bathroom was small as. Hot water took a few minutes to arrive and water pressure was very weak. Room was dirty, old carpet, found old sock under chair. Rooms on lower floors looked bigger/better. Pictures on website not even close to the room I had.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 3, 2016
Pros: Food was fantastic
Cons: Small room, hotel corridor was not cleaned while we were there Our room not cleaned until 4pm on first day
Location: Lovely location near beach and golf course
Lovely stay we were visiting our son at the University beautiful town
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Golf

Posted Apr 18, 2016 on Hotels
The tow and the hotel were really lovely. Such a friendly, homely place. We really enjoyed our stay and will go back as soon as we can..
4 out of 5
by Boris from Germany

Sport, Erholung oder Geschichte-hier ist alles da

Posted Apr 13, 2016 on Hotels
Die Lage des Hotels ist wunderschön, den Strand vor der Nase und wenige "Geh"- Minuten ins Stadtzentrum und zu den wichtigsten Sehenswürdigkeiten. Der Service ist wunderbar, das Frühstück gut - und es gibt einen Parkplatz! Das Bad ist richtig groß und das Bett für ein Hotelbett wirklich bequem...
4 out of 5
by Jeff

Posted Mar 16, 2016 on Hotels
Will plan to return as often as possible.