Ratings based on 247 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from South West London

Weekend break in Dunfermline

Posted Mar 24, 2017
Pros: Great Location
Cons: Can't think of anything
Location: Edinburgh and surrounds within easy reach. Ideal location for exploring Fife
On the online booking form we requested a quiet room on the top floor and that is exactly what we got plus the added bonus of a lovely view of the abbey and other historic buildings. The hotel is located well away from the main road so no traffic noise. We had a meal in the bistro which had a good variety on the menu, all reasonably priced as were the drinks. Rooms were spacious and very clean. We didn't have breakfast but were told by other guests that it was excellent. I would recommend this hotel and will certainly return to this hotel when in the area. Ideally situated for visiting Edinburgh either car, train or bus. This hotel is great value for money.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Scotland

Rooms comfortable

Posted Mar 13, 2017
Room comfortable, and very large comfortable bed, walls paper thin though. Big let down was the shower constantly changing from burning to freezing, just had to have a quick rinse when changing between these 2 temperatures. Unable to use the bath in our room unless you filled it from the shower.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Alberta, Canada

Posted Mar 10, 2017
Pros: Sitting in the breakfast room, or lounge there is a lovely view to enjoy, summer or winter. Daily newspaper.
Cons: Maybe the music, especially in the morning could be turned down just a bit, seemed to intrude on our conversation.
Location: Short walk to downtown, restaurants, cafe's, grocery store with a bakery and you can purchase liquor there as well. Also a short walk to my Aunt's.
This is the third time we have stayed here so that will tell you that we have been very pleased with the rooms, staff, and breakfast, morning coffee is served fresh, in a french press, absolutely delicious! We have also had dinners as well and were satisfied. We very much like to have our tea and coffee in our room whilst getting ready to venture out, and the Scottish Shortbread Fingers are delicious.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Five-star service

Posted Mar 8, 2017
Pros: There was nothing I disliked.
Cons: The key fobs could be smaller. Lol.
Location: N/A
They compensate minor shortcomings with superb customer service.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Welcoming, well sited hotel

Posted Mar 6, 2017
Pros: The ambiance and the friendliness of the staff. A number of comfortably-furnished areas to relax.
Cons: I was in the main part of the building and the corridors had a few chips to paintwork -probably the result of guests' rough handling of their luggage
Location: On business - didn't have the chance to explore but there seemed plenty to do and see.
A delightful hotel, small but perfectly-formed with comfortable rooms,lovely grounds, excellent dining in Main Dining Room or Bistro, and very polite, pleasant and helpful staff. The hotel is easy of access from Edinburgh. I wish I could have stayed longer and am trying to think of a pretext to return to Dunfermline!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Southport, England

Convenient for visiting Dunfermline

Posted Mar 4, 2017
Had a good 2 day stay. Everything you could want in the room which was in a lovely quiet part of the building. Food was really good too.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Oxfordshire

Posted Feb 19, 2017
Location: We visited the Abbey and ruins. We also wandered around the Park and had a very welcome and tasty bowl of soup in the Peacock Cafe.
This was a very convenient hotel for visiting relatives nearby. Very helpful and friendly staff
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from West Midlands

Lovely hotel ideal for a weekend break

Posted Feb 14, 2017
Pros: The atmosphere in the hotel is great , food is excellent and the rooms are clean and very comfortable.
Cons: It is fine how it is.
Location: the location is close to Edinburgh and there is loads of attractions to suit all age groups
We booked two rooms whilst we were visiting Edinburgh for a family function and I was willing to put up with the extra driving as I knew from previous visits to the hotel that I would have a relaxing environment with friendly and efficient staff
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Clean and welcoming

Posted Feb 6, 2017
Visited Dunfermline for a birthday celebration. Very enjoyable
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

People are great, big beds but breakfast a letdown

Posted Jan 22, 2017
Pros: Staff were great and the beds were so comfortable.
Cons: Breakfast was a let down. Tea and coffee took a while to come. Black pudding was hard and tasted raw, everyone thought the sausages tasted "funny",
Location: Everest Indian Restaurant was great for a really good curry, and while not a short walk is walkable.
Stayed for two nights, over a weekend with my wife. The check-in was very helpful and friendly. The corridors and rooms are looking a bit tired by we had a kingsize bed that was very comfortable. (Shower was a little tricky and not very strong.) All the staff were friendly and helpful although not always in the right place and had to go hunting for them a couple of times. Great views of the forth-valley from the bar and breakfast room.