Ratings based on 80 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 17, 2015 on Hotels
Super nice area. Beautiful surroundings, the wiew from the pool is amazing! Excellent service and really friendly staff. Only negative thing would be the dinner we ate at the hotel - it was not bad, but it was not as excellent as the rest of the hotel. Best stay so far during out 4 week trip through Italy!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NYC

Family Apartment

Posted Jul 17, 2015
Pros: Beautiful views and decor. Lovely gals working the concierge.
Cons: New A/C systems and a couch in living area.
Location: Great to do day trips to all old towns. Fun "real" Italian area close by.
We were supposed to stay in one of the family apartments, but the A/C wasn't working. Hotel was accommodating and gave us rooms in the main building. Staff all were great. Pools were great, rooms, ok. The living room in the apartment was not cozy, and the showers were tiny.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 14, 2015 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Excelente

Posted May 26, 2015
Lugar perfecto para alojarse. Cerca de Chianti y de Florencia. Sitio espectacular. Restaurante excelente (no es barato)
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Decent hotel with a great restaurant

Posted May 16, 2015 on Hotels
Room is small and hotel doesn't have an elevator. So can be a little inconvenient for those with large luggages. Good restaurant in the hotel.
4 out of 5
by John from Den Haag

Bravo! Een hotel om terug te keren.

Posted May 13, 2015 on Hotels
Een misvatting over de aankomst werd uiterst klantvriendelijk opgelost. De keuken is voortreffelijk, de bediening voorkomend, hartelijk en deskundig. De twee zwembaden zijn in uitstekende staat en er is voor ieder wat wils. De Nederlandse directeur is eveneens een aangename gastheer.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Cuyahoga Falls, OH

Heaven!!!

Posted Apr 12, 2015
Pros: Staff, location, views!
Location: Location at the heart of Chianti. You name it, you can do it. Wine trail, castles, cooking classes, relax by zero gravity pool.......Staff is awesome!
Wonderful hotel, staff, food, and view of Tuscany. This hotel is a real gem! A slice of heaven!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ottawa, Canada

Storybook setting, very hospitable, gay-friendly

Posted Nov 2, 2014
Pros: The setting is idyllic - set upon a hilltop amongst a vineyard and olive plantation. The swimming pools and restaurant area have beautiful views.
Location: Only 30 minutes from Florence and very close to many great Chianti hilltop towns so a great base for day trips.
My boyfriend and I found Villa La Palagina accidentally and it became one of the highlights of our 16 days in Italy. We originally booked for one night but after checking-in and seeing the Villa and the quality of the restaurant and the hospitality of its staff we very quickly decided to stay a second night. We would have stayed much longer if we could! Most of the guests were staying for several days or weeks which speaks to the quality that the General Manager Eric has cultivated. Eric plays a very active role and ensured that every aspect of our stay was enjoyable - from leading a grape picking day in the vineyard for us, to providing us with helpful touring tips, to even helping us with some car trouble we experienced. The restaurant and it's manager have the best of local Tuscan cuisine and wines. The setting of the restaurant overlooking infinity pools and her Tuscan hills were worthy pinch-me moments at breakfast and at dinner. The room we had was quite spacious and by far the largest we had anywhere in Italy. Because the Villa was a former convent it is full of charm - complemented by well kept landscaping. Finally I have to say that the villa was quite gay friendly. Most of the staff and the other guests (mostly American) were warm and accepting and the whole place had a jovial resort feel. We look forward to our next visit to La Palagina.
1 out of 5
by Alexandra from Austria

Great staff and lovely hotel

Posted Oct 28, 2014 on Hotels
Spent 3 nights at the hotel as a party of 4 (2 rooms) - Erik and the team were extremely nice and helpful with anything we needed. Erik upgraded us upon arrival and made us feel extremely welcome. The hotel itself is beautiful in a very quiet area. A great place to get away from hectic every day life. Very relaxing and charming place.
5 out of 5
by Tom from Vasa

Charmigt och pitoreskt.

Posted Oct 21, 2014 on Hotels
Jättefin miljö, utsikt, pool och frukost. Bekväma sängar och stora rum.