Ratings based on 106 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

A Gem

Posted Sep 19, 2017
Our two bedroom suite was absolutely gorgeous and the villa grounds were beautiful. We rented a car and did day trips from the villa (an easy drive to Florence and Siena). I'd highly recommend and will be back.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Nice setting and facilities, inexperienced staff

Posted Aug 31, 2017
Pros: The restaurant was very good with friendly and experienced staff and good choice of food and drink at breakfast, lunch and dinner. Nice swimming pools
Cons: Family rooms must be safe. Reception staff should be given better training of people with different needs. Fire evacuation plan must be in place.
Location: The location is very beautiful overlooking olive groves and vineyards and far reaching views. Nearby town has good shopping facilities.
After spending five days in another less expensive agriturismo location which we really enjoyed, we wanted to treat ourselves and have two of our last nights of exploring this region at this more luxurious villa. Unfortunately on arrival we were allocated a poor room which did not meet the description and was not suitable due to safety concerns. Instead of a family room with a parents en-suite room with a double bedroom and childrens room with two single beds we were given a chamber with a mezzanine platform accessed by a very steep and crooked staircase which is no way suitable for children or adult. The bottom level had a sofa which was made into double children's bed. The platform had a parents bed. As the shower, toilet and everything else was located on the bottom level we had to come downstairs through the night waking children and also to attend to them which was very painful as the stairs were not stable. It took a while to explain our concerns to the hotel reception staff who appear not to see the risks of people hurting themselves falling down the stairs. We were told that the hotel was full and no other rooms were available. On the following day we were given a better room which was safe with everything being on the same level and children given separate single beds. During our stay there was a forest fire very near the hotel. When we asked the hotel staff what the evacuation plan is they said there was not a specific plan waiting for fire brigades instructions.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 3, 2017
So beautiful! The hotel, the views, wow. Unforgettable.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Gatineau

Excellent Hotel !!

Posted Jul 11, 2017
Pros: location, pool, service, view
Location: easy to find, calm
So great hotel. Perfect for relax and enjoy Toscana
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Boston

JUST INCREDIBLE !!!!

Posted Jul 11, 2017
Pros: Everything!
We stayed at the Palagina for 5 nights in 2 different rooms - Casa Fruiti (family style apartment) and Casa Belvedere (a private villa) and both incredible. The views from the rooms and everywhere on the grounds never gets old. It is like we are looking at a postcard! The food at the restaurant was delicious - not a bad meal. The highlights included Cacio de Pepe and beef carparcio. The house wine was great (only $15 per bottle) and a drinks were excellent (try the "wine cocktail"). The staff was very helpful with suggestions for day trips and places to eat off property.
4 out of 5
by Birute

Fantastic traditional Tuscany estate

Posted Jun 25, 2017 on Hotels
The views and the surrounding area of the hotel are amazing, the style of the building is a beautiful traditional Tuscany estate. The rooms could be improved in terms of the furniture and design, living room had no coffee table or a couch. The resception also could do a better job at the check in with the explanation of the facilities and answering the questions.
5 out of 5
by Antoinette

Posted Jun 20, 2017 on Hotels
I stayed at La Palagina for a week for my niece's wedding at a nearby villa. The staff was very helpful in helping me to arrange rides to the train, airport or the wedding. The room was large and comfortable. I loved the pool and the abundant swallows swooping over the place. Overall it was a wonderful trip.
5 out of 5
by Yana

Posted Jun 7, 2017 on Hotels
It was the best stay in my Italy trip. Very lowly spot for romantic getaway.
1 out of 5
by Tony Pantano

Extremely poor service

Posted May 31, 2017 on Hotels
The lack of customer service on display at La Palagina is astounding. In the interests of the readers time here is a point form summary, but just do yourself a favor and avoid it. It is a nice view but that's about it. 1. Got put in the wrong room but let it go. There were also no robes in my room and the mini bar was not full. When I mentioned it on check out after our one night, Salem then argued with me about the website that I booked on, told me I was wrong and that it's my fault for not saying something to them and that his portal must be broken. Just like his attitude. 2. No servers come to you when by the pool and there always dirty tables and towels laying around. 3. When by the pool, cocktails served in plastic cups, coffee in polystyrene cups but beers in glassware. Makes no sense. You have to walk inside to order a drink. 4. No hotel guide or room service menu in room 5. Room service number does not work. Got told they probably just took the phone off the hook because the restaurant was busy! 6. Food was good but menu is all confused. 7. Hotel is understaffed. Service is below average. 8. Breakfast was bland. Felt sorry for the two servers, they were run off their feet and the entire venue was a mess. Had to set my own table. 9. Gardener was using the hipper snipper near guests and hit guests with off cuts. Hotel did arrange a car transfer for me but only after I emailed twice This place could be great but the training and management is just average.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Highly recommended

Posted May 27, 2017 on Hotels
We stayed couple hotel during our road trip. This was the best one, so we had to come back for another evening. Friendly and polite staff, comfortable bed and pillow. nice swimming pool with nice view, good breakfast. Good shower+Jacuzzi. Nothing to complain.First day the booking system missed out booking , staff immediately solved the problem offered us a suite. Second time we were stayed in the "hill view room", amazing view from the room. We are glad we chose this hotel. If we visit this area we would definitely choose this hotel again. Highly recommended.