Ratings based on 15 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by Sashi from Sydney, Australia.

As above, great staff and the boss(es) both Mr&Mrs

Posted Jan 10, 2016 on Hotels
Service was great, older units needs update, with aircon, etc ie. family units do not have aircon, needs painting, update mosquito screens, etc to bring it up to the level of other newer units! Newer units were great with attached hot and cold shower - fantastic! Needs TV in each of those units, will be great!
5 out of 5
by Jerry from Anchorage, Alaska

Glad I stayed.

Posted Jan 7, 2016 on Hotels
The stay was only for a week but it was very nice and easy. The food is good but what made it great was the meeting of fellow travelers at breakfast and dinner. It is very quiet at night making sleep come easy. If you needed it the rooms come equipped with air conditioning, if not rooms are screened and louvered with a ceiling fan to assist the wonderful trade winds that I miss right now. Daku Resort is close to town but closer to the jungle. The reef just on the other side of the main road is full of fish. Get a mask and fins from the front desk and it becomes an easy adventure.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Rustic Resort

Posted Aug 20, 2015 on Hotels
For visitors who desire to participate in one of the classes offered, Daku presents a friendly option. The food is good and the communal dining permits the solo traveler to socialize with other guests. The rooms are older and rustic. The hot water and a/c did not work in my bure; the shower was outside; there was no TV. Many of the bures are on a hill with several steps to climb. Staff were friendly.
5 out of 5
by David K.

Great Savusavu Experience at Daku!

Posted May 14, 2015 on CheapTickets
We stayed a week in a hillside villa with plunge pool. It was awesome! From the time JJ picked us up at the airport, we felt like a part of the Daku family. We enjoyed nightly family style dinners with JJ, Delia, and the other guests. The staff was outstanding and attended to our every need/wish. The activities that Daku arranged for us were terrific. The visit to Vuadomo Falls was a hightlight, but we also enjoyed kayaking in front of the property at sunrise and sunset. We very much enjoyed our time at Daku, and will definitely return.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Erie, Pa

Review of Two bedroom Villa with Private pool.

Posted Apr 11, 2015
Pros: The staff was friendly and eager to help.
Cons: Cleanliness needs to be improved greatly. Staff needs to be trained better at cleaning all the furniture. The plumbing needs to be greatly improved.
Location: Snorkeling is available everywhere. Town is only about a 45 minute walk away. There are restaurants in town.
Our experience was fair especially with the hotel staff upgrading our party to the Villa with a private pool since it came with air-conditioning. We thoroughly enjoyed ourselves since its located in a pristine are of Savusavu. The rooms were not as clean as expected of resorts though. I expected cleaner surroundings. Even the resort restaurant and pool area seating furniture was excessively dusty and looked as though had not been wiped down for a month ( if you think of insects and the mess they can leave behind ) The plumbing of our room was fine except the shower drain seemed clogged. The kitchen counter was littered with lizard feces... Overall if this was all fixed the overall rating would be much higher.
3 out of 5
by Evan from Japan

Definitely vintage, work with the Fijians

Posted Sep 5, 2014 on Hotels
All units are stand-alone houses which was great for privacy. Two of our rooms smelled of cat urine and the door broke which trapped us in the room, to be fair this is probably the oldest building they have. Some of the staff charged us differently for the same meals, very weird.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great resort to get back to basics

Posted Jan 6, 2014
Pros: Very very friendly staff
Cons: The presentation of facilities could be improved. I know the owners and newly appointed manager are addressing this.
Location: The resort is 20 minutes from town, and forms a semicircle of buildings facing the sea, centered around a pool and dining area.
The resort is a short walk from the town of Savusavu, and is formed of huts facing the sea and nestled in the hills. The center of the resort is the dining building and pool area. The staff were very eager to help with any request or difficulty.
4 out of 5
by Lisa

Excellent location

Posted Jan 3, 2014
Daku is s rare pleasure. Walking distance to everything you would care about yet removed enough that you aren't caught up in the rush. Its a 15 minute stroll to the town. The resort itself is pleasant enough. Rooms are spacious and clean. If you are expecting a 5 star resort look elsewhere. If however you want something closer to a home stay with room service look no further. The meals are excellent and the staff a friendly. The cocktails are tasty, and I recommend ordering a coconut (ask for it to be opened later to get the tasty flesh). Be sure to try snorkelling just off the beach near the dock but beware the jellyfish which have a painful sting.
3 out of 5
by Oliver from Bayern

nettes resort

Posted Dec 9, 2013 on Hotels
Die Besitzer waren sehr nett und hilfsbereit. Nachts wurden wir und auch andere Nachbarn leider bestohlen. Von der Terasse wurde Kleidung gestohlen. Und bei einem Pärchen wurde während des dinners Wertgegenstände aus dem Bungalow gestohlen. Die guten Tauchausflüge waren leider schon ausgebucht. Das Zimmer wurde tgl. gereinigt. Das Essen war gut, aber zu wenig für einen kräftigen Mann.
5 out of 5
by Aurora from NJ

Paradise with a familiar feeling

Posted Aug 24, 2013 on Hotels
Awesome place. Right next to the ocean, walking distance from downtown (although not a short one - nice and easy with great views). Everyone was very gracious, everyone joining for meals, but the best part bar none was the massage by Kalo, OMG!!!! The setting, overlooking the ocean, the noise of the waves and his magic hands...priceless, really! I have massages regularly, and these were the best massages ever.