Ratings based on 31 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California

Great Place

Posted Jan 6, 2017
Pros: This is the place to go surfing, meet real great people from Fiji and drink Cava, you are close to most snorkel spots and other islands.
Cons: Security drawers on the rooms, boat captains do not leave surfers alone, 8 foot soft boards for surfers beginners, create a bike path around island.
Location: Surfing 30 min. by boat, Snorkeling close by boat, party island Beach comber, Cloud 9.
I would definitely give 5 starts to this resort because the great staff, facilities and excellent food. Me and 2 other travelers had problems with some cash stolen from the room and the boats, I have to says the resort return the money, I recommend all travelers to keep their cash and valuables with themselves. The resort is very safe and the people from Fiji is some of the best people you will ever met respectful and friendly.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Students
by A verified traveler

Very enjoyable stay

Posted Jul 21, 2016
Pros: I especially liked the friendly and helpful staff and the activities that were offered daily.
Cons: The facilities, in particular the showers and toilettes, are not the newest and could do with some renovations.
Location: Location was beautiful with access to a hike up to the mountain of the island with a beautiful view. Other activities like snorkeling very nice, too.
I had a very nice time at Funky Fish Beach Resort. The staff was helpful and looked after me very well. They were always up for a chat and keen to hang out. Good to see they are enjoying themselves working in the resort. such friendly people you will be sad to say goodbye. It's good value for money.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great place :)

Posted Jun 2, 2016 on Lastminute
Great people amazing atmosphere highly recommend for surfers and people who love snorkelling!!! The workers are truly awesome people :)
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Upgraded on arrival ,what more can you ask for

Posted May 17, 2016 on Wotif
Great way to start with upgraded room friendly staff and very helpful,met great people always someone to talk to.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great staff & vibe - hidden costs

Posted May 7, 2016 on Hotels
The best thing about FF was the staff and the other guests - We had a ball. Staff are welcoming, friendly, relaxed and helpful. Keeping in mind that there was some damage from cyclone, there is some cleaning up to do. The pool looked very cloudy, the reception and eating areas need some serious cleaning. Beach is not great. It isn't really budget friendly accommodation either when you add the compulsory meals package and the cost of activities.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Dec 27 to Jan 1.

Posted Jan 3, 2016 on Hotels
It was a nice stay for the short time we where there. The hiking was nice. Snorkelling took time to get to. Everyone was very helpful
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from northern NSW

budget accomodation great place to base yourself.

Posted Dec 21, 2015 on Wotif
Pros: Staff were very friendly like most fijiians,Sosi was especially helpful.
Cons: A la cart lunch menu could use a freshen up,greasy fish and chips not the best.
Location: Location was very close to cloud nine and numerous other activities .Mangrove area around the resort attracted the mozzies.
Very basic place with friendly staff and likeminded travellers,the water in front may be disappointing but you are based where a 20 min boat ride will have you surfing ,snorkelling or diving pristine clear waters.Dinners are great with the buffet choices,breakfast included was basic but adequate,6.00 am start for those surfing cloudbreak,wilkes etc,was disappointed with lunch at times but the burgers were a safe choice.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Australia

A relaxing experience

Posted Dec 6, 2015
Pros: The friendly staff, very good food and drinks. An atmosphere created by the staff.
Cons: The only negative thing at this resort is that there is no nice beach however I took a boat to other islands with a good beach.
Location: Funky Fish Resort, a strange name for a nice resort is located on Malolo island at Fiji in the Pacific Ocean, a tropical paradise.
This resort is staffed by friendly Fijian people who do anything to please their guests. The happy atmosphere is "rubbing off" on guest and we were a happy family. The managerress and assistant are doing a fantastic job, not to forget people behind the bar and dining room. The food is just delicious, the menu changed every day and there is lots to choose from. The chefs know their trade, it is an open kitchen and I could see how food is prepared, handled and cooked. All looks very clean. It is a surfers paradise for young surfers from all over the world. There are many activities during the day, not only hiking or snorkelling but boat trips to Cloud 9 etc. I am 78, I loved every day of my 9 days at this resort.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Spain

Nice hotel close to yhe beach. Beautiful island!

Posted Sep 5, 2015
The islanf is very beautiful and the resort is in the first row of the beach. Good facilities like kayacks, SUP boards and many trips
4 out of 5
by Jelena from Canada

Great staff, location and day trips

Posted Sep 2, 2015 on Hotels
This is a nice hotel for all types of travelers, with a variety of room types (dorms to private bures). It's primarily a surf resort and the beach in front of the property is not usable at low tide (about 1/2 the day). The staff are very friendly and helpful - we went on a long hike inland to the highest peak of the island with Luke :) The resort is also on the south end of the island, and we were able to walk to a smaller island at low tide (about 1 hour one way). Excellent experience!