Ratings based on 127 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NZ

All round fantastic

Posted Jul 15, 2016
Some of the most friendly and genuinely helpful staff. Bure next to beach totally restful environment
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from perth

Location location location

Posted Jul 10, 2016
Stepping on to the Matamanoa paradise was a welcome retreat from an Australian winter. The secluded location and over 18 age requirement meant our stay was truly relaxing. Good food and fantastic staff, will definitely recommend to others and hope to return to Matamanoa in the future
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Auckland NZ

Posted Jun 16, 2016
Better than expected! As intimate as you want and very social evenings thanks to beautiful local singing and music. If you want silver service go to the 5 plus...we both enjoyed the food and have no complaints. Ok could have done with a Pinot Gris. Five fantastic days and nights. We will be back.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Melbourne

Outstanding stay

Posted Jun 12, 2016 on Lastminute
The hotel staff is super friendly and the whole atmosphere on the island/resort is like a family. Everyone is rembering your name and give you a personal service. Snorkeling is great - never saw so many fish on a house reef. My partner went diving and also the guys from the dive centre are awesome. Food is ok, bit repetitive if you stay for a whole week. Bed was for us a bit too soft. We really enjoyed our stay and are impressed. Never had such a great experience in a resort.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from S

Relax in paradise

Posted May 24, 2016 on Wotif
Picture perfect location, with lovely staff Relaxing island to enjoy with friends.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Posted May 19, 2016
Beautiful setting with good facilities. Excellent staff and can cater for dietary needs. Great place for those interested in snorkelling and some diving.
5 out of 5
by Linda from California

Birthday Surprise

Posted Apr 27, 2016 on Hotels
A perfect romantic 3-day get-a-way for us. Loved seeing all the Mamanucas on the boat ride there. Staff and food were superb! Celebrated my birthday here and they came to our room and serenaded me and brought a delicious chocolate cake. Snorkeling was great fun and the spa a fabulous treat! Surpassed our dreams of a private island retreat.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Auckland, NZ

Beautiful Spot

Posted Apr 25, 2016
The location was beautiful and the beach villas were stunning, so comfortable and the own pool was the ultimate luxury. The staff were extremely friendly and welcoming. The only let down for us was the food. It was very average and over priced.
5 out of 5
by Lisa from Saratoga, NSW, Australia

Refuelling at Matamanoa

Posted Apr 1, 2016 on Hotels
A wonderful destination to relax and refuel. The location and service were exceptional.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Melbourne, Australia

Romantic, stylish, with attention to detail

Posted Mar 23, 2016 on Wotif
Pros: Modern stylish decor of rooms and common areas Private setting of beachfront bungalows and dive pool
Cons: Variety of evening meals Island hopping trip could be improved but the staff said they were on to that!
Location: Fantastic location, easy to get to/from from Denarau by ferry Surrounded by coral reef with great snorkeling and proximity to other islands
We spent the first week of our honeymoon at Matamanoa and were very pleased with our choice. Right from the outset we were impressed: the arrival was extremely welcoming and organised, we were shown to our rooms promptly which were beautifully styled and comfortable and given an overview of all the great things the resort had to offer! We had a beachfront bungalow (which was definitely worth the extra money!) with it's private dive pool, amazing views out to the sea and full view of the sunset and real sense of privacy. There were some great activities and water sports available at the resort. We had fun with the mini-cat and really enjoyed the snorkeling. The island is right on the reef and there is plenty of coral and colourful fish to see just off the beach. We took a day tour of other islands, which wasn't as enjoyable as we had hoped but the staff were very attentive to our feedback and said they would be reviewing the trip. The snorkeling on the other island wasn't nearly as good as that on Matamanoa! Perhaps our only small negative was with the evening meals, not their quality but variety. The menu, which didn't change over the course our stay, was quite limited and only had a special on some evenings. We would like to have seen more local cuisine options and fresh seafood. The quality of the meals was very good though. Overall a fantastic stay and we'd definitely recommend to our friends and family.