Ratings based on 116 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New Zealand

12th visit, over 28 years

Posted Aug 15, 2016
Pros: No kids! Lovely relaxing location - simply idyllic.
Cons: There are two things Matamanoa Island management need to do; Cater for rainy days Learn Health safety factors for food handling.
Location: Everything at your fingertips.
We have visited this resort a lot, it is our favorite hide-away. While this trip was slightly disappointing as we had 4 days of 9 with rain, we experienced stomach bugs, and clearly due to illness with other guests and staff. But the end result was another wonderful carefree holiday. Possibly the island could be renamed as 'Little Italy' as the client base is lots of Italians. Lovely people, but you can quickly get annoyed with their brash attitude, and loud voices. We stayed in the new Villas. Simply perfect but possibly not worth the upgrade value over the Beachfront units.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Sydney

Escaping Sydney winter

Posted Jul 23, 2016
Pros: Matamanoa island is adult only eg needs to be at least 16yrs so perfect if you are after a relaxing childfree holiday.
Cons: In the rooms the aircon light was bright so bright that I moved my bed around. Ceiling fan made heaps of noise. Alcohol expensive. Food disappointing.
Location: Location is great. Hotel provides snorkelling gear and kayak available.
Matamanoa island and its people are great. Water is crystal clear and many many fish to be seen snorkelling. Food disappointing. Alcohol expensive.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NZ

All round fantastic

Posted Jul 15, 2016
Some of the most friendly and genuinely helpful staff. Bure next to beach totally restful environment
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from perth

Location location location

Posted Jul 10, 2016
Stepping on to the Matamanoa paradise was a welcome retreat from an Australian winter. The secluded location and over 18 age requirement meant our stay was truly relaxing. Good food and fantastic staff, will definitely recommend to others and hope to return to Matamanoa in the future
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Auckland NZ

Posted Jun 16, 2016
Better than expected! As intimate as you want and very social evenings thanks to beautiful local singing and music. If you want silver service go to the 5 plus...we both enjoyed the food and have no complaints. Ok could have done with a Pinot Gris. Five fantastic days and nights. We will be back.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Melbourne

Outstanding stay

Posted Jun 12, 2016 on Lastminute
The hotel staff is super friendly and the whole atmosphere on the island/resort is like a family. Everyone is rembering your name and give you a personal service. Snorkeling is great - never saw so many fish on a house reef. My partner went diving and also the guys from the dive centre are awesome. Food is ok, bit repetitive if you stay for a whole week. Bed was for us a bit too soft. We really enjoyed our stay and are impressed. Never had such a great experience in a resort.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from S

Relax in paradise

Posted May 24, 2016 on Wotif
Picture perfect location, with lovely staff Relaxing island to enjoy with friends.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 19, 2016
Beautiful setting with good facilities. Excellent staff and can cater for dietary needs. Great place for those interested in snorkelling and some diving.
5 out of 5
by Linda from California

Birthday Surprise

Posted Apr 27, 2016 on Hotels
A perfect romantic 3-day get-a-way for us. Loved seeing all the Mamanucas on the boat ride there. Staff and food were superb! Celebrated my birthday here and they came to our room and serenaded me and brought a delicious chocolate cake. Snorkeling was great fun and the spa a fabulous treat! Surpassed our dreams of a private island retreat.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Auckland, NZ

Beautiful Spot

Posted Apr 25, 2016
The location was beautiful and the beach villas were stunning, so comfortable and the own pool was the ultimate luxury. The staff were extremely friendly and welcoming. The only let down for us was the food. It was very average and over priced.