Ratings based on 18 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles, CA

Matava

Posted Jan 16, 2017
Location: This is a very remote location, with very little nearby. Outside of the water activities, there is a hike to the local village with a waterfall.
My brother and I decided to stay here because we wanted to snorkel the Great Astrolabe Reef. Overall, this place was comfortable, clean, in a great location, with very friendly staff. The journey here is a 45 minute boat ride, the only way to get to the resort, through beautiful coral reef clusters. Make sure to wear your sunscreen, tie down your hat, and long sleeves before you take off, as the boat is not covered. At the resort, you will do all of the activities together with the other residents, such as diving, eating meals, etc ... Electricity in the room worked during the hours they told us it would be available. However, down at the main burre, there is a 24 hour charging station where you charge any device at any time. The resort has a beautiful coral reef in front of it, that you can snorkel at any time. They also offer kayaks, snorkeling equipment, and a local map to hike to the local village with a waterfall. My recommendation for this resort is to stay here for as long as you can here, because if you have a long list of activities you would like to do, you most likely wont be able to complete them all. The staff needs some time to prepare for the activities that are separate from the usual daily morning dives, such as snorkeling at night. I dont think this is unusual for any resort in Fiji in general, but its best to go in knowing you wont be able to do everything. The culture is just slow and therefore you need time.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Scotland

Absolutely dreadful experience - avoid this place

Posted Oct 29, 2015
Pros: Location - Fiji is a beautiful country and Matava occupies a great location on Kadavu island - what a waste of what should be a great experience.
Cons: Everything. New management should be installed whose first action is to demolish and rebuild from scratch.
Location: Reputably there is great diving on the Astrolobe Reef. However diving offered by Matava was very poor.
This is the worst hotel I have ever stayed in - avoid it like the plague. The roof in my room leaked resulting in a pool of water on the floor whenever it rained. The windows did not fit properly and did not close, which together with the gaps between the tops of the walls and the roof resulted in constant wind noise and drafts. I have never seen such a shoddily built room. There is nothing authentic about it. I stayed in four other hotels during this trip to Fiji, all of which were considerably cheaper than Matava and infinitely better quality, so this is in no way typical of Fiji. The transfer from the airport was in a small open boat which I nicknamed "Spinebuster". I was sat on a hard wooden bench, and whilst the sea was relatively calm, was bumped and bounced the whole journey. There was also considerable spray from the sea, although full so'westers were provided to deal with this. The purpose of my holiday to Kadavu was to dive the Astrolobe Reef. Whilst several of the staff at Matava wear shirts encouraging you to dive the Astrolobe Reef I was unable to do so even once in my week's stay. Whilst Matava has two custom dive boats, one was out of action with electrical problems the whole of my stay and the second was often unavailable. "Spinebuster" was offered as an alternative, but after one dive on it where I came back almost hypothermic due to the windchill and sea spray I refused to dive from it again (and I dive in Scotland in winter). Poor dive sites were offered.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 3, 2015 by Adrian, Hotel Management
Hi Terry, Unfortunately the winter weather in Fiji has been challenging this year and your stay coincided with some particularly cold, rainy and windy bad weather. For safety reasons we were not able to take you diving outside the Barrier Reef. We apologize for the inconvenience of our main large dive boat being temporarily out of service. We were able to take you diving every day on our second large covered dive boat except on 2 days when the boat was booked out on other activities. Unfortunately we need a minimum of 2 divers to run the large dive boat for extra afternoon dives. We were however able to take you diving every day other than the one day you chose not to dive because you were the only diver and the scheduled dive boat was therefore a 23ft inshore dive skiff. Our Resort Managers did attempt to speak with you every evening to ensure you were enjoying you stay and had no issues. At no time did you advise them that you had any issues what so ever. Had you advised us of a problem with your bure, we would have made every attempt to fix that immediately or offered you alternative superior accommodation. We are disappointed that your visit coincided with particularly bad weather and you were unable to dive outside the barrier reef but unfortunately the weather is beyond our control.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Zealand

Poor ownership

Posted Aug 10, 2015
The resort lived up to expectations though expensive. Staff excellent and helpful. Owner only seemed interested in certain visitors not speaking to our group- even when a member of the group was very sick.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Annie from Australia

Matava experience

Posted Jun 11, 2014
Pros: Spa available, snorkelling & dive gear available for hire at very reasonable rates.
Cons: Only the weather, windy most times and some rain, didn't deter snorkelling though.
Location: Snorkelling, Diving, Visit to local nearby village and waterfall. Available boat trips on request. Picnic barbecue lunch prepared at location by staff
Enjoyed every minute, sad to leave. Staff were friendly and very helpful. Would definitely return.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 27, 2015 by Adrian, Hotel Management
Hi Annie, Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay with us. We are delighted to see you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back one day ! In the mean time we wish you safe and happy travels :-)
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 9, 2013
Great place to stay, amazing staff and very involved owners. The rooms are basic, but comfortable. The location is amazing. The food was great and there was ample to go around! If you want an inclusive place to stay this is it. You all dine together and the staff drink Kava and play cards with you in the evenings. The activities are well organised too. I would definitely recommend this place.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 27, 2015 by Adrian, Hotel Management
Thank you for writing a review and sharing your experience with other travelers. We are delighted you enjoyed our food, our Fijian staff, fun activities and amazing views ! Thank you for recommending us to other readers :-)
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Orla from Ireland

Real getaway

Posted Aug 10, 2013
Cons: Mosquitoes.
Loved the getaway factor. The fijian people looking after you were so kind and pleasant. You have to be able to and want to socialise as all meals are together. Might not suit everyone. Fantastic place to learn to scuba dive.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 27, 2015 by Adrian, Hotel Management
Hi Oria, Thank you for reviewing your stay with us. I am pleased to see you enjoyed your getaway and appreciated our wonderful Fijian staff which we feel are one of our greatest assets :-) Guests do generally all dine together however if guests request a private dinner table we are more than happy to oblige ! Thanks again for your review and we wish you safe an happy travels.
3 out of 5
by Dave from australia

mmm... only just adequate

Posted Mar 9, 2013
Pros: the fringing coral reef
Cons: lack of fresh fruit (mostly old soggy watermelon) and vegies (mostly baby lettuce leaves). very basic amenities and very expensive rates...
Location: wonderful boat ride to get there and back, resort enclosed by lush tropical trees. Scenic views of reef and adjacent island (not allowed to walk on)
For an Eco Lodge and what it provided the rates were very expensive... too much! Food was Ok but lots of Carbs with minimal fresh fuit and vegies... relied on deep sea fishing clients to catch fish that were kept by the resort and fed to the staff and guests. lovely aquatic environment, friendly staff but resort lacking in quality for what they charge.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 27, 2015 by Adrian, Hotel Management
Hi Dave, We were disappointed to find that you had issues with flights and had to cut your stay short. I am happy to see you enjoyed our friendly staff and the Great Astrolabe Barrier Reef and we hope you appreciated your complimentary private dinner served on your bure deck. The Resort now has an extensive Organic Farm which provides our guests with a wide range of fresh organic fruits and vegetables. We don't serve reef fish caught by local village fishermen partly to help preserve the pristine reef ecosystem and partly because we don't want to take food off the plates of local villagers. We only serve pelagic sustainably caught species such as Wahoo, Mahimahi and yellowfin tuna, caught outside the barrier reef by angling guests. The Resort restaurant now caters for specific guest dietary requirement such as vegetarian, vegan and Gluten Free diets and we are happy to tailor meals to suit guest requests.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Liam & Elesha from Sydney, Australia

Truly a pleasurable stay!

Posted Jan 2, 2013
Pros: THe friendly staff, the delicious food and the abundance of fun activities to do.
Location: Such a beautiful & secluded location....serenity!
A fantastic resort! All the staff are there to please. Food was brilliant. Plenty of great activities to do and the staff are happy to tailor a plan to suit your needs.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 27, 2015 by Adrian, Hotel Management
Hi Liam and Elesha, Thank you for writing such a complimentary review ! I an delighted to read you found our resort fantastic :-) I hope you thoroughly enjoyed your stay and we all wish you both, safe and happy travels.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by jj from NZ

True island living

Posted Oct 29, 2012
Pros: The laughter and smiles of the staff who couldn't do enough for you.
Cons: Nothing!
Location: On a tidal beach discreetly set in the bush, good snorkeling out front, some bures are a climb up steps- you have to do something to work off the food
If you are looking for a true Fiji island experience, living simply, getting away from it all, resting and enjoying nature - this is it! Explore the forest, visit the village, meet the locals as you get lost in the bush, slow down and experience the genuine hospitality and care of these wonderful people who work at Matava. Maggie was a star providing entertainment mixed with great island knowledge. The food was great- no choice but that makes it easier in a way, the fish caught only hours ago. It's a divers and snorkelers paradise. If you need luxury and western style comfort this is not the place for you. If you want to get away from it all and enjoy the simplicity of nature and people with open hearts then you will have a fantastic time- as we did. Leaving it felt we were saying goodbye to family.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Trevor&franny from Wellington NZ/Scotland UK

paradise is worth the journey

Posted Oct 24, 2012
Pros: Peace and freedom in the presence of like minds
Cons: It was our ideal
Location: Remote
This is a remote eco hotel. It is basic in amenity but that which is provided is of the highest order considering its location.Simplicity with excellence would be its trademark. Such hotels tend to attract a certain type of person . People who just want to chill in perfect peace, those devoted to scuba diving or fishing or snorkelling. Others who just want to walk and explore in the surrounding countryside and villages. All who come seem to delight in each others company and tales of their days experiences at the communal dining tables where the conversation is enlightening and stimulating. What a special place this is!