Ratings based on 358 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Brisbane, QLD Australia

Great family holiday option

Posted Jan 29, 2016
Second time at Outrigger. Overall still a good resort but is showing its age a bit, especially the pool surface which has obviously been patched many times. Other than that if I was to compare to other 5 star resorts then my only complaint would be a lack of consistency. Even the kids picked up on it as each meal in the resort we were served differently. The cost of food and also purchases at the shop etc at the resort where severely marked up. Compared to in the local town some things over 400% more expensive but obviously they know that and due to location you really don't have much choice. Whole family enjoyed it and the Fijian people are always the highlight.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canberra

Wow!

Posted Jan 27, 2016
Pros: Everything!
Cons: The only thing that I didn't like was that the wine list at the Ivi Restaurant didn't have cheap wine options.
Location: Fantastic!
Overlooking the beautiful Coral Coast is the fantastic Outrigger hotel. Everything about the hotel screams quality. The standout memories are the greeting when you arrive, the friendliness of all the staff and the facilities and location. We were treated like VIPs and felt like we were the only ones in the resort.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Sydney

Nice hotel with a lot of activities to do

Posted Jan 25, 2016
Pros: Facilities, kids club, nice layout.
Cons: breakfast venue was a bit hot.
Location: Except for a shopping trip to the town, we stayed at hotel all the time
We stayed for a week at Outrigger. My 2 boys really enjoyed the family pool. Kids club was also good for them to meet other kids and for us to have some relaxing time on our own. Hotel organizes several activities for adults too so that despite being very much all the time at the hotel you do not get bored. The kayaks at the beach (free to use) are also great. Overall, we were quite pleased with the hotel and its facilities.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 27, 2016 by Peter Hopgood, Hotel Management
Dear Sue Bula and sunny greetings from the team at Outrigger Fiji Beach Resort! We thank you for your review - We are delighted that you and your family had such an enjoyable holiday at our beautiful resort. As you found out, we are truly blessed with an outstanding team that love coming to work and engaging with our guests. I will most definitely share your comments with all of the team. I was delighted to read that your children enjoyed their time with the meimei nannies and also enjoyed the facilities at the Kids Club – The best part of the Kids Club experience is all of the outdoor activities. What you have described in your review is what a holiday at Outrigger is all about. We take good care of the kids so that Mums and Dads can have some much need time out to reengage with each other. Sue, Once again thank you for taking the time to provide comment on your recent holiday - All of my team looks forward to welcoming you back to our beautiful resort at some time in the not too distant future. Regards Peter Hopgood General Manager Outrigger Fiji Beach Resort
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Auckland, New Zealand

Posted Jan 24, 2016
We had an excellent time. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Facilities are extensive but a little tired - we understand they are upgrading them in from Feb 2016 which will be good.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 27, 2016 by Peter Hopgood, Hotel Management
Dear Mark Bula and Sunny greetings from the Coral Coast! Thank you for taking the time to provide comment on your Outrigger holiday. We are all delighted that you enjoyed your time with us. Vinaka and Warm Regards Peter Hopgood General Manager Outrigger Fiji Beach Resort
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Sydney

Great hotel to unwind & relax!

Posted Jan 20, 2016
We recently stayed with our 2 children over the Christmas break. 1 week felt like a year! The hotel relaxes you from the first BULA!! Clean resort with lots of activities for the kids & adults. Don't miss the stunning view from the day spa or the indulge in the adults pool! Kids kept entertained the whole time. Thoroughly enjoyed by all!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 23, 2016 by vinaka, Hotel Management
Dear Louise Bula and Sunny greetings from the Coral Coast! Thank you for taking the time to provide comment on your Outrigger holiday. We are all delighted that you enjoyed your time with us. As you found out, we are truly blessed with an outstanding team that takes great pride in delivering the “Bula” spirit to our guests. Vinaka and Warm Regards Peter Hopgood General Manager Outrigger Fiji Beach Resort
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles, CA

Not Bad, Not Great

Posted Dec 17, 2015
Pros: The hotel grounds.
Location: There isn't too much to do nearby so be prepared to relax. There is Sagatoka and the Eco Park.
My husband and I picked this hotel for our honeymoon in November. I was slightly disappointed, but overall we had a great time. The staff really are lovely people. They were very kind and informative. The food was just ok for the most part. Lunch at the poolside restaurant was always good and probably the better of all the restaurants. The braised ribs at the Sundowner restaurant were excellent. The pools are nice and seem to be very clean. I wish I could say the same for our housekeeping. I'm a clean freak so the housekeeping left something to be desired for me. I don't think our shower/tub was cleaned once all week and the floors should have been swept more often, but overall the room was fine. Another reviewer wrote that the hotel is getting a bit run down because it's older and that is true. One of the best things I liked about the hotel were the grounds, they are just stunning! Beautifully kept, lush greens and flowers, it was gorgeous. If you're a beach goer be careful as there is lots of broken coral/rocks on this side of the island. We walked the beach for about a mile or so and these aren't soft, sandy beaches at all. Also, everything you do will cost you, from the little shopping trip into Sagatoka to the fire walking show on the resort grounds. We did enjoy our massage at the hotel spa and ladies...buy some of the sugar scrub they use, it's fabulous!
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 22, 2015 by vinaka, Hotel Management
Dear Michelle We sincerely thank you for taking the time to review your recent holiday at Outrigger Fiji Beach Resort. Our team at Outrigger are all about delivering exceptional holiday experiences. It appears that in your case we failed in this mission. We sincerely apologise for this occurrence. I have noted your comments regarding the standard of cleaning of your room -This is totally unacceptable and I have addressed this issue with our housekeeping team. Thank you for your comments regarding our restaurants at the resort. It was widely recognized that Outrigger has some of the best restaurants in all of Fiji. Michelle- Once again we thank you for taking the time to provide comment on your recent holiday experience. Peter Hopgood General Manager Outrigger Fiji Beach Resort
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Sydney, Australia

Relaxing resort with good facilities

Posted Dec 15, 2015
Pros: Pools, food and the relaxation !
Cons: Cleanliness of bathroom and attentiveness of some staff. Charging $100 for the week for WIFI is also a bit much in a 5 star hotel these days.
Location: The hotel is a long way from Nadi and Denarau which makes excursions out to the islands difficult. There are other local tours which we did not do.
We stayed at the Outrigger for 8 nights - our experience overall was mixed however pleasant. The facilities are great - adults only options at the pool and breakfast restaurant are fantastic. The food was fantastic overall, particularly the steaks (my husband said that it was the best steak he's ever had !) and the fine dining restaurant. I managed to get a tummy bug at the start of our stay and the manager and doctor who we saw were wonderful and considerate, following up as to how I was. While the outrigger is pleasant, it is not up to the standard of some other 5 star resorts we've stayed at. Our bathroom was mouldy in the shower and was not as clean as it could have been. The staff were variable in that some were lovely but some restaurant staff just looked plain bored, sweeping, tidying or chatting while customers waited for their order to be taken. Spoons seem to be in short supply ! We had to ask for one every time we ordered yogurt or soup - it was a running joke by the end of our stay. Our check in was also quite bizarre. We are a gold expedia member and book through them a lot. This hotel is part of the VIP hotel group. I am unsure as to whether we received a room upgrade or not (i don't think so) and I am also unsure as to whether there were any other gold member privileges. Its not a big deal but when we booked, the initial email said that there were additional items included for gold members. Would we go there again ? If you want total relaxation, yes
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 21, 2015 by vinaka, Hotel Management
Dear Sally We sincerely thank you for taking the time to review your recent holiday at Outrigger Fiji Beach Resort. Our team at Outrigger are all about delivering exceptional holiday experiences. It appears that in your case we failed in this mission. We sincerely apologise for this occurrence. I have noted your comments regarding the mould in the bathroom – This is totally unacceptable and I have addressed this issue with our housekeeping team. Thank you for your comments regarding our restaurants at the resort. It was widely recognized that Outrigger has some of the best restaurants in all of Fiji. Sally- Once again we thank you for taking the time to provide comment on your recent holiday experience. Peter Hopgood General Manager Outrigger Fiji Beach Resort
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 29, 2015
Was excellent very happy would 100% go there again
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 2, 2015 by vinaka, Hotel Management
Dear Traveler Thank you for your feedback – Most Appreciated! I am delighted to read that you enjoyed the many and varied activities and dining experiences at the resort. As you found out, the best thing about an Outrigger holiday is the warm and friendly staff. Vinaka and Warm Regards Peter Hopgood General Manager Outrigger Fiji Beach Resort
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Gutes Hotel, aber schrecklicher Strand

Posted Nov 28, 2015
Das Hotel ist geeignet für Familien mit Kindern, die einige Tage am Pool ausspannen wollen. Das Personal ist freundlich und hilfreich, die Poolanlage ist nett gestaltet, ausreichend groß und das Essen in den Restaurants ist ok. Das Hotel ist aber eine Enttäuschung für Reisende, die schöne Strände oder Schnorchel-/Tauchmöglichkeiten suchen. Der Strand ist extrem flach, das Wasser ist nur wenige Zentimeter tiefer. Man kann daher meist nur durch das Wasser waten (wobei dies durch die vielen abgestorbenen Korallen und Steine auch nur beschränkt interessant ist), nur bei Flut ist Schwimmen möglich. Schnorcheln ist dementsprechend auch nur sehr selten möglich und unspektakulär. Alle, die tolle Strände, glasklare Wasser, usw von Fiji erwarten, sollten dieses Hotel (und wahrscheinlich die komplette Coral Coast) meiden und andere Orte auf Fiji buchen.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 17, 2015 by vinaka, Hotel Management
Dear traveler Sunny greetings from the Coral Coast! Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent holiday at Outrigger Fiji Beach Resort. I sincerely apologise that there were certain aspects of your holiday that did not meet your expectations. My team and I pride ourselves on delivering wonderful holiday experiences. It appears from your comments that we have failed in this mission. Vinaka and Warm Regards Peter Hopgood General Manager Outrigger Fiji Beach Resort
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from australia

Nice hotel - excellent spa

Posted Nov 3, 2015
Had a nice three night stay at the outrigger. Great for families, but there is also adults only pool which is a nice quiet place to escape. Ate at Ivi one night and the food was awesome. Hotel itself is getting a bit dated, but still very lovely. Staff were very friendly and helpful.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 12, 2015 by vinaka, Hotel Management
Dear Rosie We sincerely thank you for taking the time to review your recent holiday at Outrigger Fiji Beach Resort. As you have stated we are truly blessed with warm, friendly and engaging staff. Thank you for your comments regarding our fine dine restaurant, Ivi. It is easy to understand why the Ivi Restaurant is regarded as the number one restaurant in the South Pacific. All of my team looks forward to the day when you return to our beautiful resort. Peter Hopgood General Manager Outrigger Fiji Beach Resort