Ratings based on 249 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.6 out of 5
76% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Brisbane

The best family holiday resort in Fiji !

Posted Sep 15, 2016
Highly recommend Plantation island to anyone with a young family. Did not want to leave and we will be back for the third time !
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Wouldn't recommend

Posted Aug 31, 2016
From the moment we got there we had a terrible experience. Hotel staff were hot and cold. Mostly difficult and unpleasant. Hotel cleanliness all around was incredibly poor. Food was really bad. Found the rooms too close together.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from australia

not for groups or couples without kids

Posted Aug 14, 2016
I can see how this resort could be OK for families with kids. However, I would not recommend it to anyone childless. It's just too hectic and there's no hiding from it. It was hardly a relaxing island getaway for us when we were woken up at 6.30am every morning by kids screaming their lungs out outside. Customer service was less than average and every interaction with staff felt like it was burdening them. Unfortunately I don't have anything nice to say about the resort facilities or food either. All of this was disappointing considering this resort's rates. The only thing going for the resort is the natural beauty of the island. We ended up spending most of our time at the nearby Musket Cove Resort, which was much nicer in every aspect. If we are to come back to Malolo Lailai, we would definitely be staying at the Musket Cove Resort.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 20, 2016
Big open plan rooms, amazing views, excellent variety of activities on offer good selection of food, restaurant staff excellent but activities staff not as friendly
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Beautiful peaceful best holiday ever bits lived it

Posted Jul 10, 2016
My 2 boys and I spent 1 week stayed in a beautiful garden 1 bedroom accommodation , perfect location . They played a game of soccer with the local men . The place was so relaxing even though the resort was fully booked very quite . Hired bikes and ride around to the other resort at night , loved the ride.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Australia

Would have been angry if I had paid full price.

Posted Jun 24, 2016 on Lastminute
Pros: Location Nice beach nice beach bar kids club Good new bures
Cons: The main buildings - desperate need for upgrade. The food was bad & overpriced. Make inclusions. Upgrade Kids club security (gates to pool)
Location: Great location and we will go back but just not to this resort. The islands are just magical and if you get a great deal and it fits your needs, go!
We booked an impromptu holiday and got a fantastic 50% off deal at the resort. My partner, my 4yo and myself had a much needed break and the weather was great. The newly renovated buses were good and the 2bedrooms were a great size. Beach was good and coral OK. My little boy loved the Kids Club which was a highlight for him. However if you are used to Australian standards of safety for kids, get someone else to drop them off. Open doors with kids and people free to wonder in and out is a disaster waiting to happen. Highly recommend the Island hoping as it was a great view of the neighbourhood and the snorkelling was fantastic. Saying that, it did help us pick where we would go next as it wouldn't be at Plantation. It is a good option if you are after a cheap and cheerful but I think the resort have forgotten their 3 star family audience. The resort used to include many things that now you need to pay extra for. The food is very average & expensive for what it is. I don't mind paying more as the ingredients are imported but the Muscat Cove options are much better value for money and super good. The main part of the resort however very old and tired. And the staff don't save it. Apart from Sue in the main restaurant and Grace at the bike shop, most of the staff really made no attempt to pretend they wanted to be there. You could tell they not only didn't like their job but actively hated it. We received the best service from staff at other resorts during our island hoping.
5 out of 5
by Tracey from Doreen

My idea of Fiji!

Posted Jun 14, 2016 on Hotels
Great beaches, snorkelling straight off the beach or boat ride to sandbar and other locations - my idea of Fiji!! Good day trips, choice of restaurants. Great for kids!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NZ

Right on the beach

Posted Apr 28, 2016
Pros: It was beautiful, easy access to snorkelling and lots of activities available. Well kept areas and friendly staff
Cons: Better information provided. We felt like we had to go to reception a lot to ask basic questions that could have been provided in a guest pamphlet
Location: Only 45 min boat from the mainland and had plenty of pay as you go activities with the usual swimming pools and snorkelling free of charge
The stay at plantation island was what you would expect from an island resort. Our room was 15 steps from the beach and was clean and air conditioned- a big plus. Free snorkelling gear and beach towels was an awesome perk as there is snorkelling straight off the beach. The sand bar that you can pay to boat to was also a great deal at only $15 for an hour (only a 5 min boat ride). The food was great and the food plan meant we didn't have to worry too much once there. Although we felt that the food plan didn't necessarily save us that much money over just buying each meal as we went- as they were similarly priced and the food plan required you buy it for every day which seemed a little restrictive. The service was friendly but occassionally the staff seemed misinformed with information. There seemed like lots for kids to do and the overall feel was lovely. I would suggest taking your own snacks as they're over priced as you would expect. However the small super market on the island does provide food for lunch which we thought was a lot more reasonable than the restaurants/snack bars or the lunch meal plan they offered.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great for kids

Posted Mar 28, 2016 on Wotif
Pros: Staff
Cons: Fiji time
Location: Beach is great, worm water plenty of fish.
Location is great but be sure that you flights work with ferry timetable otherwise you may spend hours waiting for transfer to the island or at the airport on the way back. Food and drinks are very expensive and the food is not good for the price you are paying. Breakfast buffet is almost the same every day and cost FJ$42 for an adult. Staff is very friendly yet theirs ‘Fiji time’ is very annoying and works only for them e.g. they don’t see a problem if something is late 30 min but if you are going to snorkelling then you have exactly 1h.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Port Macquarie NSW

Great place for families

Posted Mar 20, 2016 on Wotif
Pros: It has a great relaxed feel, 3 pools and a tidal ocean lagoon, plenty of water craft and lots for children to do.
Cons: There are improvements currently being undertaken to the accommodation and the rest doesn't need improvement.
Location: This is a fairly isolated island and there are boat trips to other islands. If you want to shop till you drop, don't go to Plantation Island.
This is a great resort for almost anyone that doesn't want 4 or 5 star quality. My wife and I have been going there for over 35 years. We first went with our 5 year old son (now 40) and have returned at least every 2 years. We have been with our children, on our own, with friends and the last 4 times with our grandchildren. A very enjoyable place.