Ratings based on 1,114 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Comfortable facilities right on the beach

Posted Mar 23, 2017
Pros: We liked the spacious grounds and proximity to the beach. The breakfasts were excellent, and the lagoon pool was very inviting.
Cons: We found the distance from the facilities and our room tiring
Location: Easy drive to Sigatoka, but apart from that we found the location a little remote. Interesting village on mainland nearby and alternative dining.
We are a mature couple and visited with our daughter and her two sons, 11 yrs and 9yrs. We found the rooms clean and comfortable, staff amazingly friendly and helpful. Wd stayed a week culminating in a friend's wedding at the hotel. The wedding was well catered and organised.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NSW

Resort or prison island?

Posted Mar 22, 2017
Major renovations saw some facilities unavailable, not aware of this until after we had paid. Jackhammers aren't relaxing when sitting by the pool. The price of a bottle of wine was extortionate, over 6 - 8 times what we'd pay at home. The situation, on a little island connected to the mainland by a bridge contributed to us not moving out of the resort, hence the prison feeling. On the plus great pool area and entertaining staff, also free catamaran was a great treat. Restaurant options not bad.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 20, 2017
Resort was great! Staff are very friendly and kind especially to kids.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney

Staff make the resort

Posted Mar 14, 2017
Resort is getting very tired and run down but renovation works have started. The staff are beautiful and the reason we keep going back. It's a pity they are paid a pittance. Food and drinks in the resort are extremely overpriced but there are a few local restaurants with great food. A walk to the local village is worthwhile to pick up supplies at reasonable prices.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Relaxing place to spend a holiday

Posted Mar 5, 2017
Pros: So much to do and see - plenty to keep the kids occupied for days on end.
Cons: The prices are too high.
Location: Sigatoga is worth a brief visit - sorry we missed the beach buggy tours - that looked awesome.
Our family had an absolutely lovely time and we struggled to get our kids out of the pools. Just perfect for a relaxing holiday. Be prepared for resort prices and to be sold an excursion or two. The report prices are too high - bordering on gouging - but if you budget carefully you can keep things to a minimum. The staff are very friendly and overall the resort runs really well. Take one of the Yellow cabs from the airport - we paid $90 FJD each way for 5 of us. The breakfast is excellent and there's so much to do. We could have done with another 5 days.... My kids already miss it.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Auckland, NZ

Excellent hotel. beautiful beach.

Posted Jan 30, 2017
We love staying at the Fijian. Friendly staff, excellent restaurants, lots of choices. Beautiful golden beach. It has plenty of activities you can do. Mini golf, shopping,water sports, bike around the island... no need to go anywhere else. Thanks Shangri la Fijian!!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Brisbane, Australia

Great Hotel for families

Posted Jan 27, 2017
We had a great week with our 2 kids. It's in a beautiful spot. Rooms are a bit tired but are currently being renovated. All the staff are great and very friendly. Some things are a bit too expensive, however not unusual for a large resort. All the food was fantastic and the kids eating for free was fantastic! We would definitely go back, it's a great place to relax and have a great family holiday.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Auckland, NZ

Pleasing and satisfying stay

Posted Jan 25, 2017
Pros: The entrance onto the resort and the lobby area is outstanding, it gives a very good first impression. I also liked our room, and swimming pools.
Cons: The only thing is the distances from one place to another. I had a sore leg so I probably would've liked some assistance getting around
Location: Location is perfect on an island near a beach and the activities spot on. Only thing maybe the kids programme needed abit more creativity.
Overall, it was awesome! Loved the many different activities you could do at the resort and it is well kept and maintained so the property itself looks very beautiful. It was a pleasant stay and I would stay there again and recommend it to everyone.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Sydney Australia

Time for a well overdue complete upgrade

Posted Jan 18, 2017
This hotel needs to reconsider its rating. It is quickly heading for a 3 star or less ranking. Expensive, onsite bland and poor quality food and minimal selection over several Restaurants is big minus. Breakfast is the one exception. Once again service is spasmodic and "Fiji time"does not cut it any more. Positives-Location is a positive. Wifi is very good. But overall the resort is falling falling further behind expectations and does not meet it's potential
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Brisbane

Nice hotel with lots going on

Posted Jan 16, 2017
Pros: Friendly staff, sport facilities, the view, location and the sunsets was amazing on the Ocean side. The breakfast buffet at the Tikali was great.
Cons: Room cleanliness
Location: As mentioned the Ocean view is amazing with unbelievable sunsets, the water sports activities are great
We stayed from the 8th January to the 16th, a day before we were due to leave we received an email from the hotel to inform us of the building works taking place. Arriving we were met by friendly staff and check in was easy, the room was a bit dated and in need of an upgrade, we stayed in the Ocean view deluxe section. The Lagoon accommodation was being refurbished so I guess the upgrading will filter through the whole complex. We only had one robe and one wine glass, I didn't much care for the robe but did ask on numerous occasions for a second wine glass but nothing arrived .. We found the buffet dinner pretty expensive, one beer and one glass of wine plus the meal for 3 of us was $180 Fijian. We ate primarily at the Takali and the golden cowie where the bill was approx $80. Sport facilities, especially the free kayak was brilliant and the kids club was great, there is a lot do do at the hotel and would go back when all the renovations have finished.