Ratings based on 844 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Melbourne

Certainly not what was expected of a Shangri-La ho

Posted Jan 5, 2017
Pros: The bedding
Cons: Everything else. The hotel should be completely renovated or rebuilt with motvated, informed staff training. More sun covers are essential everywhere.
Location: Intercontinental hotel was good and the golf course at Natadola bay, a joy.
We arrived early in the morning having paid for the extra night as rooms were generally only available after 3pm. The room was described a s a Deluxe Family Room. There was one bed and a sofa. The room was dilapidated, old , dusty, dirty and tired. We immediately asked to be moved. We were found an alternative room at 4pm. This was a much more spacious Beach Bure which satisfied our needs in terms of bedding. This was described a s a room with full facilities. There was no sink in the kitchen although there were redundant kitchen cabinets. A decent feature of the rooms was the beds which were comfortable. The staff although very friendly seemed to cut corners. Room cleaning was inadequate; the floors were swept with a broom but not cleaned daily. The rooms were dusty. There was a fridge that was precariously balanced on a chair. There were rusty nails sticking out of a broken bathroom stool. These were eventually attended to after pointing this out too staff. The cleaners simply put the seat back on the rusty nails!; a definite hazard with small children. The kids club was half-hearted. Our 6 year old and two other children in the group did not want to go after their first experience due to inactivity and boredom. The catering staff had no idea of proper food hygiene; a burger's lettuce leaf being held on by uncovered hand to stop the wind blowing it off. Baby and mum sick for 3 days with vomiting, I was sick on my return home. Stay at the Intercontinental.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Per

Hotel should be demolished and rebuilt /renovated

Posted Dec 26, 2016
Just too rundown to be called A Shangrila Hotel so disappointed all their other hotels are so excellent
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Australia

Lovely place. Beautiful lagoon

Posted Dec 24, 2016
Pros: All in one package. Accommodation, restaurants, activities, gifts and beach all in one place.
Cons: Restaurant pricing could be a little more reasonable
Location: Wonderful restaurants and beachesnearby as well
Overall our stay was lovely. Wonderful people. Very hospitable. Always smiling. Extremely helpful. I forgot my passport at the hotel and they quickly sent a driver with one of their porters to make sure i received it at the airport safely. Im forever grateful to them. :)
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Auckland, NZ

Beautiful beach and lovely vibe

Posted Dec 23, 2016
Very family friendly resort. The kids (5 & 2 year olds) loved the beach and swimming pools. Food wasn't so great though, but a good variety in the menu for kids.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

On the beach

Posted Dec 22, 2016
Definitely not a 4 or 5 star hotel. They are only doing the lagoon wing rooms up but that doesn't make up for the rest of the place. Its all out dated. What I was upset about was that on our arrival for the price we paid to stay we weren't even offered a cold drink or even some sort of lei because i wanted my family to experience what i had the 1st time i went to fiji. I won't be recommending this place to anyone. I know its fiji but this place is overpriced for what you'd expect
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Wellington, NewZealand

Superb resort hotel, several pools and restaurants

Posted Dec 20, 2016
Wonderful staff (mostly locals), superb big resort facilities but still retaining friendly atmosphere, great swimming pools and restaurants, small safe beach, lots of facilities for families or couples (you just have to know where to go for quietness) . Excellent buffet breakfast (ensure you get all inclusive breakfast deal). Great watersport activites (including snorkelling) in the lagoon. Just a walk over the bridge off the island to local transport, local eateries, and village life (or take a cheap taxi). Or just 15 mins local bus ride to Sigatoka township. Our second stay and will return again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Melbourne

Nice resort in need of renovation

Posted Dec 18, 2016
Pros: Remoteness, natural setting and friendly staff. Some areas are designated adults only to get away from them pesky kids.
Cons: The rooms are dated and a bit wonky with sloping floors and wet patches. The beds are well overdue a new mattress.
Location: Approximately 1 hour from Nadi airport with very little close by. Plenty of watersports organized by the hotel along with walking and adventure trips.
Beautiful island resort connected to the mainland by a short bridge. It is in need of renovation which is currently underway block by block so it is a bit noisy during the day. Nice food with plenty of places to eat, but the same menu in most places.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 15, 2016
Hotel was very run down. Our room was a 15 min walk from the main beach/lagoon. Eating there is also a bit expensive but we found a delicious restaurant nearby called Tomlu's.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 14, 2016
Cons: Wired internet access in guest rooms didn't work, and wifi from the lobby didn't reach to the rooms. This is an area that the hotel should improve.
I liked the fact that the room was spacious, and the balcony door opened to the beautiful garden area. The room was comfortable and quiet.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Melbourne

Memorable expirience

Posted Dec 11, 2016
Pros: The room was spectacular along with views from its balcony
Cons: The place is outraguasly overpriced. I can have better food in better venue in Australia. Excursions and hiring a car? My goodness. NOT 5* hotel
Location: Location excellent. Activities grate but seriously overpriced
In the second day of our stay somebody broke in to our room safety box and took a1x $A50 note from my wallet (I had 8x$50 and found 7 only. From my wife wallet 1x $A50 note but she had 10 off and only 9 was left). Further on From my wallet 2x FJ $20 notes where gone as well and i had multiple FJ$20. It was well thought through counting we wouldnt notice. Needles to say this is a cash less hotel and all is booked with signatture against your room. Also it was only the first morning in this place so we knew how much money we have. Security personel insisted on involving police but we refused. Security supervisor asked if i am sure i locked the safety box and i know i did as o always checked all even my house front door or car before i go. My wife is sometimes crossed with me because of that. He wasnt much concerned about the fact of braking in and lost money but tiime line when exactly i open the room and safety box. It was promised to us to report progress of their internal investigation but we where updated 6 days later with statement that the room stuff was questioned and they all say they didnt take any money?!!?? This made us very uncomfortable. Conclusion: we will never again stay in stay in this hotel.