Ratings based on 457 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Saucier MS

Nice hotel on beach

Posted May 26, 2017
Staff was wonderfu, food was great and affordable! An elevator would be nice though!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Texas

Was great until time to go back to the airport.

Posted May 12, 2017
Pros: Staff, ambience.
Cons: Shuttle service from the hotel back to the airport. Tour desk needs to be more aggressive advising good things to go see.
Location: OK
As stated above, they had an airport shuttle sitting out front, empty, going to the airport to pick up guests, they wouldn't let us ride. We had to hire a taxi.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Zealand

Close to beach, comfortable and friendly

Posted Apr 28, 2017
Pros: Friendly staff and excellent location
Cons: Modernise the rooms. Replace all decking as is very worn and unsafe to walk on Get the beach cleaned.The continental breakfast could be improved
Location: Great location. You need a car to get to other restaurants and shopping
We really enjoyed our stay at Smugglers Cove. The place is in need of modernisation as is run down and old fashioned but our room was very large, kept very clean, bed was comfortable, linen was clean and looked new.The restaurant was excellent. All the staff were incredibly friendly and helpful.The beach , though beautiful has a major problem with rubbish, broken glass strewn from one end of the beach to the other. We didn't swim in the beach as a result of that. The beach need a massive clean up! The continental breakfast was poor. There should be a better selection of cereals rather than just cornflakes and porridge, more fresh fruit and grainy bread should be available. Real coffee should be available, not just instant. Protein foods could be offered such as peanut butter, sliced cheese, baked beans,cold cuts, tinned fish etc as many people are trying to improve their health by avoiding too many sugars and processed starchy foods ( which is basically what the current continental breakfast is).
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Australia

Nice hotel right on the water

Posted Apr 25, 2017
We really injoyed our time here, the staff were lovely and very helpful. Food is really good atmosphere is great, the only let down was breakfast I believe a continental breakfast is more then toast, porridge and cornflakes. So maybe it should just say free simple breakfast so we had the added cost of breakfast daily. But that is my only negative so I would recommend Smugglers Cove to anybody just remember to add the cost of breakfast daily.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 20, 2017
Pros: location
Cons: breakfast, room cleanliness and wifi connection
Location: sun bathing, activities on the beach
Shuttle bus pick-up service was on time. Breakfast was limited. Room cleanliness is acceptable but still needs to be improved. Overall is ok.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from gold coast australia

Very poor

Posted Apr 12, 2017
This hotel is a backpackers it is nothing like the pictures . Included breakfast is a joke . Very noisy. Would not recommend for anyone other thank backpackers or party goers.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New Zealand

This hotel is very tired and budget

Posted Apr 9, 2017
Pros: The staff were brilliant and food fabulous
Cons: The place needs refurbishing totally. Broken chairs etc. By backpackers standards this would be a super place to stay but not when it is a "resort"
Location: Lots of tours and activities can be booked from here and there are diving trips picked up from the beach and also surfing trips. Buses outside
This hotel is very run down and in need of a major overhaul and upgrade. It is situated at a lovely beach and the area is a good reflection of true Fijian lifestyle. The food was delicious and reasonable with a good selection and the traditional dishes of Kokoda etc beautifully served. BUT if you want, quiet, resort, good quality accommodation then this is not the place. It is primarily a backpackers and the word "resort" should not be in the name!! It was sooooooo noisy with constant music and late night events that had the same loud music and then hallways filled with revelling backpackers. Well you can tolerate anyone having a good time but when it prevents any sleep and is still loud at 3am then this just isn't ok. They are building a Radisson apartment complex next door and down the road a bit a lovely complex called the Pulman is nearing completion. The airport is close but it doesn't interfere with your peace and quiet. We prefer this area to the falsely manicured and expensive Denerau.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Australia

Nicely located with beach at Nadi Bay

Posted Apr 8, 2017
Pros: Friendly staff, nothing was too much when asked to do something or bring something
Cons: Fruit at breakfast could be placed on ice; would be n ice to have towels available for use at pool and/or beach so room towels do not have to be used.
Location: bus service to Nadi town is good and cheap, the shuttle bus to airport is good, It is a must to go on a sunset cruise!
Overall our stay was very good. From the arrival to departure we were treated with respect, our questions were answered well, the staff could not have been friendlier. The service was good, food well prepared. The setting was typical tropical island with indoor and outdoor seating.
2 out of 5
by Cameron

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 8, 2017 on Hotels
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Posted Apr 4, 2017
The hotel is nice but very basic. The rooms were clean but again very basic. The free breakfast also was very basic, toast, dry (stale) cereal, oatmeat and coffee and juices. The hotel also offered dorm rooms so there were a lot of back packers at the hotel. All in all it it was good value for what you paid in comparison to the more upscale hotels at Denaru Island.