Ratings based on 44 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
76% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from China

Exceeding our expectations !!!!

Posted Oct 1, 2017
Pros: Review my experience
Cons: Energy efficiency. Would like to see the resort adopt energy saving LED lighting & Solar panel technology.
Dear Filitheyo Resort Team, It's been a honor to stay at your lovely resort Sept. 24 ~ 30, 2017. We are respectively grateful to Mr. Vaisakh R S, Assistant Front Office Manger and his courteous team for a delightful stay at your resort !!!. Details: Full Board - All Inclusive. Superior Villa. As a seasoned traveler this resort exceeded our expectations on all levels, staff, lodging, room cleanliness, overall resort atmosphere and most of all the food. You have an award winning Team and resort. A large percentage of the patrons were returning guests, truly a testament to the satisfaction delivered on behalf of your staff, atmosphere and attention to details. Looking forward to becoming one of your return guests next year. Truly blessed, Ryan Clark Watt
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 4, 2017 by Team Southern and Filitheyo , Hotel Management
Hello Ryan, Greetings from Southern Hospitality investments and Filitheyo Island Resort! Thank you for taking time to review us! It's a pleasure to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for all your appreciations! About your suggestion, we will definitely, look into this energy saving matter and we are very about your concerns to make us even better! Hope to see you again soon and please let us know prior to your visit. We will be waiting for you!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from North Carolina

Vacation in Filitheyo

Posted Sep 14, 2017
Pros: The scenery and staff.
Cons: The food was awful, the property was poorly maintained and the title "All-Inclusive" is extremely misleading and incorrect.
Location: There are excursions to nearby islands and fishing that you can pay to do.
I was charged $1300 extra upon arrival, I had been sent multiple confirmations stating the reservation was for two ppl. At NO point was it mentioned that there was an additional charge for the second person, I thought I had paid everything but was forced to either forfeit all expenses or pay the extra $1300!! This is unacceptable. Furthermore, I paid for "All-Inclusive" which doesn't really include anything. The only food thats included is the buffet. The only drinks included are well drinks and 5 cocktails!! We were there 5 days, thats one cocktail a day!!! And the 5 cocktails you are allowed are a special list that don't include popular items like Tequila Sunrise or Pina Coladas. This is really ridiculous to charge for "All-Inclusive" and then have to literally pay for everything INCLUDING A GAME OF POOL??!!! I was extremely unhappy with the resort and what they offered. The room was clean however, we didn't receive fresh towels every day only every other. The staff was very friendly and accommodating but the property was poorly maintained and there were holes in the rooftops. Be aware, if you are American and have been to the Caribbean do not expect the same level of luxury from this resort. I spent a lot on this trip and was forced to pay to play a game of pool. This is just unacceptable.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 18, 2017 by Team Filitheyo , Hotel Management
Dear Sir, Thank you for your feedback! Please accept our apologies for the inconvenience caused and not being able to make you satisfied during your stay! We appreciate the fact that you informed about these so that we can improve on the concerned areas. We will definitely investigate about this and get back to you as soon as possible!
4 out of 5
by Sabrina

Nice resort

Posted Jan 31, 2017 on Hotels
Diving was very expensive
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Newbury, UK

Nice friendly resort

Posted Apr 16, 2015
Pros: The local reef was amazing. We saw an incredible amount of sealife there - lots of colourful fish, eels, small sharks and rays, and turtles.
Cons: As non-smokers coming from the UK we are used to eating in smoke-free restaurants and bars. More effort could be made for non-smokers.
Location: 3 degrees north of the equator in the Indian Ocean surrounded by shallow seas makes it perfect for snorkelling, scuba, jetski and other water sports!
We stayed at this resort with two of our daughters for our anniversary. All the staff were friendly with most speaking reasonable English. Out of the two weeks there, we only had one less than perfect day when it rained a little but there were still lots of things to do inside; table tennis, pool, darts and of course the all day movie channel (although satellite reception wasn't great with lip-sync issues).
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from oxford

Holiday to remember

Posted Nov 1, 2014
Pros: Everything
Cons: Gym needs an update. Chair on the cycle had no back padding. Fruit in the rooms would be a nice touch.
Booked the Superior Beach 89 which had a great view to the sea and easy access to the reef. Also only booked half board which was the best option for us. We had what we wanted which included full snorkel equipment hire and the night fishing and still saved several hundred pounds on the full board option. Happy hour allowed for the drinks to be reasonable and the food was plentiful at breakfast and evening meal. Actually the food was excellent, so much to chose from and lots of local traditional dishes. Massive advantage, no Russians trying to push in and eat all the food!! Snorkeling was awesome with so many different fish so never got bored. We arrived in a storm and left in a storm but the 6 days in between were just sun sun sun! In my opinion the extra cost of the sea bungalow and deluxe (detached) are not worth the money. The superior bungalows were excellent and great location.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hong Kong

Fabulous house reef

Posted Oct 29, 2014
Pros: Very quiet; excellent house reef for snorkeling
Cons: The water villas are showing their age. It was totally fine, but they could use a bit of an update soon.
Location: We didn't take advantage of diving or visiting other islands because we had such a great time snorkelling.
This is our second time at this resort. Both times, we visited in October - low season but more affordable for us. The seaplane ride was great and took about 35 minutes. We arrived at around 8:30 am and were able to check into our room immediately. We stayed at a water villa and loved it. My wife and I thoroughly enjoy snorkelling and this was our primary reason for our second visit. Our typical day consisted of breakfast, snorkelling, lunch, snorkelling, reading, dinner, reading, sleep. Wake up and repeat the previous day's agenda. This made us very happy. A spectacular moment was snorkelling on the reef just off our back deck and watching a huge 3m manta feeding on the tiny fish. As he/she fed all day, 8 smaller mantas played all day feeding as well. We couldn't have asked for anything better than this. There's lots of fish and the coral is fairly healthy. The food at the restaurant was very good, although one does get a bit tired of buffet style after a while.
5 out of 5
by Lester from Singapore

Awesome relaxing resort

Posted Aug 25, 2014 on Hotels
Filitheyo island resort was amazing, staffs were friendly and warm, room(overwater bungalow) was big, clean and comfortable, food was delicious, house reef was beautiful, overall it was way beyond our expectations. Defintely recommended and would go back again.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

value for money

Posted Jul 10, 2014 on Hotels
Not a luxury resort as many other Maldives choices, but has excellent house reef, good food and services. Though the room a bit tired out and too many insects, we have comfortable stay in the interconnected superior villa. Thinking about the low season price and good half board dinner, it is great value for money.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by mik from singapore

paradise

Posted May 21, 2014
Pros: the location, the food, the water villas, the riff
Cons: fans in main dinning area
Location: snorkeling snorkeling safari sun tanning relaxing
the island is a beauty, the riff is rich and gorgeous. we stayed in a water villa that was very comfortable, felt private and had a beautiful view and a soothing breeze. we've taken half board and the food was good with a wide selection. the only down side was that the main dinning area is not by the water front and therefore quite warm and stuffy. All together we had a great time and felt that it was a good value for money
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 13, 2014 on Hotels