Ratings based on 34 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Newbury, UK

Nice friendly resort

Posted Apr 16, 2015
Pros: The local reef was amazing. We saw an incredible amount of sealife there - lots of colourful fish, eels, small sharks and rays, and turtles.
Cons: As non-smokers coming from the UK we are used to eating in smoke-free restaurants and bars. More effort could be made for non-smokers.
Location: 3 degrees north of the equator in the Indian Ocean surrounded by shallow seas makes it perfect for snorkelling, scuba, jetski and other water sports!
We stayed at this resort with two of our daughters for our anniversary. All the staff were friendly with most speaking reasonable English. Out of the two weeks there, we only had one less than perfect day when it rained a little but there were still lots of things to do inside; table tennis, pool, darts and of course the all day movie channel (although satellite reception wasn't great with lip-sync issues).
5 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from montpellier

filitheyo, ça le fait!

Posted Nov 27, 2014
"the place to be" pour le snorkeling, avec notamment, en plus des centaines d'espèces, raies-requins-tortues, arrivée en dhoni chanceuse car accompagnée des amis dauphins!, water villas (très bien équipées) pour coucher de soleil grandiose et orages impressionnants, buffet-restaurant de très bonne qualité et choix important, île très bien entretenue, service impeccable, plages magnifiques, intérieur de l'île et végétation intéressante, ...
5 out of 5
for Couples
by A verified traveler from oxford

Holiday to remember

Posted Nov 1, 2014
Pros: Everything
Cons: Gym needs an update. Chair on the cycle had no back padding. Fruit in the rooms would be a nice touch.
Booked the Superior Beach 89 which had a great view to the sea and easy access to the reef. Also only booked half board which was the best option for us. We had what we wanted which included full snorkel equipment hire and the night fishing and still saved several hundred pounds on the full board option. Happy hour allowed for the drinks to be reasonable and the food was plentiful at breakfast and evening meal. Actually the food was excellent, so much to chose from and lots of local traditional dishes. Massive advantage, no Russians trying to push in and eat all the food!! Snorkeling was awesome with so many different fish so never got bored. We arrived in a storm and left in a storm but the 6 days in between were just sun sun sun! In my opinion the extra cost of the sea bungalow and deluxe (detached) are not worth the money. The superior bungalows were excellent and great location.
5 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hong Kong

Fabulous house reef

Posted Oct 29, 2014
Pros: Very quiet; excellent house reef for snorkeling
Cons: The water villas are showing their age. It was totally fine, but they could use a bit of an update soon.
Location: We didn't take advantage of diving or visiting other islands because we had such a great time snorkelling.
This is our second time at this resort. Both times, we visited in October - low season but more affordable for us. The seaplane ride was great and took about 35 minutes. We arrived at around 8:30 am and were able to check into our room immediately. We stayed at a water villa and loved it. My wife and I thoroughly enjoy snorkelling and this was our primary reason for our second visit. Our typical day consisted of breakfast, snorkelling, lunch, snorkelling, reading, dinner, reading, sleep. Wake up and repeat the previous day's agenda. This made us very happy. A spectacular moment was snorkelling on the reef just off our back deck and watching a huge 3m manta feeding on the tiny fish. As he/she fed all day, 8 smaller mantas played all day feeding as well. We couldn't have asked for anything better than this. There's lots of fish and the coral is fairly healthy. The food at the restaurant was very good, although one does get a bit tired of buffet style after a while.
5 out of 5
for Families
by Nenad from Paris

Tremendous Stay in Maldives

Posted Oct 26, 2014 on Hotels
Perfect stay at Filitheyo Resort. 1st, the hotel booked on our demand by email the transfers from Male. Then as it was our 2nd stay there, the resort had loads of specials attentions for us (small massage at the arrival, private dinner on beach, fruits and wine waiting in the room, etc). Superior Villas are confortable. Travelling in family we had two interconnected villa... And the place is simply great for snorkeling and diving. A Must-see !
5 out of 5
for Couples
by Pierre from Zürich, Schweiz

Schöne Insel für Taucher

Posted Oct 9, 2014 on Hotels
Dies war unser zweite Aufenthalt in Filitheyo. Dies hat seine Gründe: - Schöne Insel. Nicht zu gross - Sehr gutes Essen - Sehr gute Tauchbasis - Schönes Hausriff Wie schon vor 4 Jahren: Die Palmenblätter auf den Dächern sollten mal ersetzt werden. Ich weiss nicht ob diese inzwischen mal ersetzt wurden und so schnell verwittern oder ob die Dächer nicht unterhalten werden. Der Funktion tut dies nichts: Die Palmenblätter sind nur zum Schmuck. Neu gibt es pro Person und Tag 0.5 Liter Wasser auf dem Zimmer kostenlos. Auch auf dem Tauchboot gibt es jetzt eine kleine Flasche Wasser pro Tauchgang. Wir hatten Halbpension. Mehr braucht es nicht. Zusätzlich konsumiert haben wir Getränke beim Abendessen (z.B. USD 5 + Tax für 1 Liter Sprudelwasser), täglich Snacks und Getränke an der Poolbar. Total USD 400 für 2 in 11 Tagen.
3 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from hong kong

Nice place

Posted Sep 18, 2014
Good experience in Maldives. Nice stuff, but no drinks in resort . You need to pay!!
5 out of 5
by Lester from Singapore

Awesome relaxing resort

Posted Aug 25, 2014 on Hotels
Filitheyo island resort was amazing, staffs were friendly and warm, room(overwater bungalow) was big, clean and comfortable, food was delicious, house reef was beautiful, overall it was way beyond our expectations. Defintely recommended and would go back again.
5 out of 5
for Families
by A verified traveler

value for money

Posted Jul 10, 2014 on Hotels
Not a luxury resort as many other Maldives choices, but has excellent house reef, good food and services. Though the room a bit tired out and too many insects, we have comfortable stay in the interconnected superior villa. Thinking about the low season price and good half board dinner, it is great value for money.
4 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Paris

Excellent rapport qualité/prix

Posted Jul 6, 2014
Pros: Le reef.
Cons: Proposer un accès wi-fi gratuit, au moins dans les parties communes.
Location: A faire : la pêche tradionnelle à la tombée de la nuit. Bon moment de rigolade et des prises à chaque sortie qu'on déguste le lendemain au restaurant.
Parmi nos 5 séjours aux Maldives (4 et 5 étoiles / villas plage et sur l'eau), Filitheyo est l'hôtel qui présente le meilleur rapport qualité/prix. C'est aussi le meilleur spot de snorkeling sur la barrière de corail qui ceinture l'île que nous ayons vu (ici les seaplanes amérissent loin de l'île ce qui contribue sans doute à préserver le lagon). Là où ailleurs on ne voit que 2 ou 3 poissons regroupés de la même espèce, à Filitheyo, on les croise systématiquement par bancs de plusieurs dizaines (poissons chirurgiens, cochers, péroquets, nasons, clowns, balistes...) !! Certains spots étant accessibles à seulement un vingtaine de mètre depuis la plage, même les mauvais nageurs peuvent se régaler.