Ratings based on 2,045 Verified Reviews

3.2 out of 5
69% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
2.8 Room comfort
3.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good location

Posted Feb 18, 2018
In the middle of Chinatown and with no parking garage. Tiny room in an old building
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

I dont like the staff

Posted Feb 17, 2018
One morning I'm going to Consul I asked the hotel staff to call a taxi for me. I keep waiting more than 30 minutes but no one came and he said go outside and wave your hand to get a taxi. :-(
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Seattle, WA

Inexpensive hotel with tiny rooms poor facilities

Posted Feb 15, 2018
Pros: location
Cons: Fan in the bathroom would help reduce the smell that pervades the entire room.
Location: It's in Chinatown so it's close to many restaurants and other attractions.
Inexpensive compared to other hotels in the area. It is in a good location in Chinatown area of San Francisco. However, the quality of the hotel facilities is poor. The rooms are tiny, the bathroom smells, the noise level is very high, and the bed is somewhat uncomfortable. This feels a lot like a hostel and is better for younger people. Not so much for families or business travelers. I would not recommend this hotel unless you're desperate for a place to stay or cannot afford better quality hotels.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel

Posted Feb 13, 2018
Value for money. Nice hotel. Good location near chinatown. Near trolley and bus stops. Friendly staff. Highly recommended.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from and savior

Horrible do not stay here not worth the money

Posted Feb 13, 2018
Bed was seriously hard as a rock. Small bed small rooms only thing nice was th bathroom NO AC and no window view of anything pretty much you pay to stay in a prison cell.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Melbourne Australia

Good location on Grant Ave/Chinatown.

Posted Feb 7, 2018
Helpful staff. Numerous restaurantsand shops in the the vicinity. One block away from the Big Bus stop and electric cable car. Twin bed room is small, no fridge/table/safe. Ducted heating available but not switched on and guess can only get hot water bottle if feeling too cold. No adjustments from the room either.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles, CA

Awesome Location!

Posted Feb 5, 2018
Pros: Excellent location and beautiful décor.
Cons: The bed was extremely uncomfortable...it felt like sleeping on bricks. The hotel should really do something about this.
Location: The location is awesome...right be Chinatown, close to everything you need and lots to do and see within walking distance.
The hotel is very beautiful, clean and recently remodeled. It was "inexpensive" for its EXCELLENT location. However, the bed was very uncomfortable and the shower stall very small (30" x 33" - I had a measuring tape). On a positive note, the shower head was high and well suited for someone over 6 feet tall. The staff in general was very polite, however, I feel I was misinformed about how the remote parking worked and was not provided with the correct number of parking vouchers for the time of my stay. This caused me to waste time having to go back to the hotel to get the additional ones, since one voucher is required for each 24-hour period and the parking garage is several blocks from the hotel.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

“Dissapointing” covers it all

Posted Feb 2, 2018
Lobby is the best part of hotel. Our room was questionably clean. Stains on the carpet, curtains, and blankets - but inner sheets at least had the appearance of clean. The staff was helpful, but working with an old fashioned steam radiator (would not turn off, and was placed directly next to the bed - easy burning distance). Then the water ran brown. Staff said work was being done on the boiler, and to run water for 10 minutes. It did clear up, but the experience just added to the dirty feeling already given. TL:DR: Staff was incredibly helpful, but facilities were strongly lacking. Would not recommend.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from England

Reasonably priced and very good customer service

Posted Jan 29, 2018
Pros: Friendly staff. Good location. Secure. Provided communal tea and coffee making facilities near lobby. Room adequate size and refurbished bathroom.
Cons: Guests should be made aware of the tea and coffee making facilities either prior to or at check in. Machine in area of lobby we thought was for staff.
Location: On edge of China town and close to Union Square. Bus and cable car within walking distance. Possible to walk to some areas e.g North Beach, Coit Tower
San Francisco has not changed much since the last time I visited other than the amount of homelessness. Very disturbing to see the numbers of people sleeping rough and many clearly suffering from mental heath issues. Some sights I would not want to see again and the numbers in some areas can make you feel uncomfortable although we did not experience aggressive begging.. The city itself still has a lovely feel to it and the music scene is very good. There's a real old Saloon in North Beach, with great live music, as well as the Biscuit and Blues club.We also visited Punchline the Comedy club and that was fun. There are also plenty of theatres. We visited both the Geary and the Star, a small theatre in China Town where we saw an excellent production of Cabaret. All prices were reasonable. During three day, we made the most of the City pass, purchased for $33, which gave us access to buses, cable cars and trains. the ferry to Sausilito is only $12 dollars full fare. $6 if you are over 65. Again not much had changed in terms of it being restaurant, cafes, nice boutiques and yachts. The waterfront museum at the Cannery is very good and they also do free walking tours of that area at weekends. Coit tower had good views and the local parrots were worth seeing on Telegraph Hill. We got a very sunny day and enjoyed time by the ocean, Cliff House, saw the old 'Sutro' outdoor Baths and did the nearby Land's End country walk. Very enjoyable.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from stockton

Good location

Posted Jan 21, 2018
Staff was very nice. The room had no AC so it was really hot in the room most of the time.