Ratings based on 726 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
81% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from california

Cool art and a comfortable bed

Posted Sep 30, 2017
I really liked this place. Neat elevator and cozy room. Quiet at night, comfortable bed. The breakfast in the morning was a nice treat. We purchased a parking pass from the front desk and parked at a very near by garage.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Palm Springs, CA

Location Location Location

Posted Aug 26, 2017
We've been going to Hotel des Arts for about 10 years now. It's not about the comfort or ease of the hotel...it's all about the location. Anything worth going to in San Francisco is within walking distance. Spec's, Vesuvio, Tonga Room...
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Fun hotel great location

Posted Jun 23, 2017
Me and my husband had a great experience staying here would definitely recommend. Really fun concept. The lobby was simple but beautiful and really clean and tidy. The staff were so helpful and friendly. The breakfast was simple but plenty to start the day! And hey it's complimentary so can't complain. Our room was clean and comfortable and the art was a cool feature.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 19, 2017 by Front Desk Agent, Hotel Management
Thanks for staying with us. We appreciate your feedback!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

A hotel for people who don't know anything about n

Posted Jun 13, 2017
Pros: The receptionist. She was lovely and helpful.
Cons: Your rating system. It's not accepting my answers. What could be improved is the elevator. You could get killed trying to get in and out. There
Location: Lots of great art museums and restaurants.
It was terrible except for the receptionist. She was great. Unless you are very athletic you can't get into the bathtub. It's very high. I couldn't get the elevator open. It's very dangerous and ancient. The breakfast is for the homeless and even they wouldn't eat it.
4 out of 5
by Debbie

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 26, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from sacramento

eclectic, artsy, and nice

Posted May 26, 2017
In a Good location, we enjoyed our one night stay at this neat little place. Our hostess at the front desk when we checked in and when we checked out was extremely friendly and helpful. We'd stay again and recomend it to our friends who don't require lavish comfort but dig a fun place with a clean room and a good nights sleep! Also among the least expensive rooms in the area not a hostel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 12, 2017
Great value for the money Perfect location Outstanding staff
3 out of 5
by Martin

San Fran stopover.

Posted May 10, 2017 on Hotels
The location is great as its quite central. Unfortunatly the lift was broken but we only had to go up one floor so not really a problem. The staff were nice and friendly and more than helpful. The room had no air conditioning and made the room a little uncomfortable but good value for money.
3 out of 5
by Michael

Great location, bad shower

Posted Apr 26, 2017 on Hotels
The shower was not available in our room. We needed to shower at a communal hall shower because the tub drain was not draining.
4 out of 5
by Cindy

Posted Apr 12, 2017 on Hotels
Very cool art work inside the room we stayed in and very clean. The only downside was the continental breakfast really was just toast, apples and oatmeal.