Ratings based on 1,384 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

Excellent location! Short distance to many places.

Posted Sep 15, 2017
Love the locarion! Friendly staff. The only negative--a musty smell in the room. Might be from the rain from the previous day. It did go away after a few hours after I turned on the air conditioner.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 15, 2017 by Peter H , Hotel Management
Hello J- Thank you for your review and feedback. We are happy to hear that you loved the location. I'm glad that the smell from the rain cleared up after a few hours, but am sorry about that inconvenience. We appreciate your input and hope we get the opportunity to welcome you back to Hotel Triton next time you are visiting.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sidcup, Kent.

Great position for exploring the city

Posted Sep 12, 2017
The Triton gave us the perfect base for our short visit to San Francisco. The staff were always helpful, and although there is no hotel restaurant, this gave us the opportunity to eat in the marvellous local cafes. The position is right by the China town gate, and close to the tram route.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 14, 2017 by Peter H , Hotel Management
Thank you for your review of Hotel Triton! We are happy to hear that you liked the timing and gave us 5/5 stars! We hope we get the opportunity to welcome you back to Hotel Triton next time you are in San Francisco!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Jose, CA

Great location

Posted Aug 25, 2017
Pros: Location!
Cons: The hallways are a bit dark and dated.
Location: Restaurants, shopping, bars, Chinatown!
This was our third time staying at the hotel. It's very conveniently located along the outskirts of Union Square, very walkable to restaurants, bars, shopping, and right outside the gates of Chinatown. Check-in was a breeze and everyone we came in contact with was welcoming. My only concern is that the hotel is perhaps showing it's age a bit.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 28, 2017 by Peter H, Hotel Management
Hello and thank you for your review of Hotel Triton! We take your feedback to heart so we can always be improving guest experiences. We are glad to hear that you like the location of the hotel and that you've chosen to stay with us for three times now. We hope we get the chance to welcome you back next time you are visiting.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Central California

Nice hotel close to Union Square.

Posted Jul 13, 2017
Pros: Ambience. Friendliness of staff. Location
Cons: Bed was not real comfortable.
Location: Near many nice stores and restaurants in the Union Square area. Also not far from North Beach.
Great experience. Very pleasant and friendly staff. Very nice decorations in lobby and room.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 15, 2017 by Brittney, Hotel Management
Thank you for reviewing your recent stay at Hotel Triton. We are thrilled to hear our staff was friendly and that you enjoyed our central location. We're exited to share an upcoming renovation, which will likely include some improvements to the comfort in the rooms. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Best, Brittney Hemela Media and Marketing Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Santa Ana, CA

Frisco Get away!

Posted Jul 10, 2017
Nice hotel, convenient location, close by the BART and entrance to china town, arrived early and was able to check in!!! which was awesome!! Rooms are rather small, perfect for 2 people, 4 people you will be pushing it...small bathroom...Awesome neighborhood to walk around at night!!! bars are a bit pricy because of location... Need to hit up the Irish Bank around the corner! very cool spot to chill!!!!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 12, 2017 by Brittney, Hotel Management
Lionel! Thank you for this lovely review of your stay with us at Hotel Triton. We're so happy to hear we were able to accommodate an early checkin and that you loved our location - Irish Bank is a super fun hangout for visitors and locals alike. We look forward to welcoming you back to San Francisco again! Best, Brittney Hemela Media and Marketing Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Frisco Get away

Posted Jul 10, 2017
Pros: Location, Staff, free coffee, ice machine!
Cons: Better room fridge....at least some that actually keep things cold!
Nice hotel, convenient location of the BART, entrance to China Town, awesome area to walk around at night with no issues, bars in area are a bit pricy compared to other bars but understandably because of the neighborhood, excellent staff, rooms are ok, small room but perfect for 2 people, 4 pushing it a bit, small bathrooms......room fridge was not cooling.....they do have ice machines which was awesome!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 12, 2017 by Brittney, Hotel Management
Thank you for reviewing your recent stay at Hotel Triton. We are happy to hear you loved out central location and that our staff was friendly. We will share your feedback with our engineering team regarding the temperature of the fridge. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Best, Brittney Hemela Media and Marketing Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from victoria, bc

Ecclectic, boutique hotel

Posted Jul 5, 2017
Great location, helpful staff, cool decor. Streets can be a bit loud. No coffee/tea in room but offered in lobby in the morning. Best thing is definitely the location (across the street from Dragon Gates) and the fun atmosphere.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 12, 2017 by Brittney, Hotel Management
Hi Kate! Thank you for this lovely review of your stay with us at Hotel Triton. We know there is a little more bustle when staying in the city, we hope you were able to enjoy restful sleep. We are so happy you enjoyed being in the heart of San Francisco. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Best, Brittney Hemela Media and Marketing Manager
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 29, 2017
No refrigerator to use no coffee machine Location was great But overpriced
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 29, 2017 by Nicole Huebner, Front Office Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your feedback. Our minibar functions as a mini fridge and we also offer complimentary coffee makers for guest rooms. Did you inquire with the front desk? We would have been happy to assist with your requests!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 23, 2017 on Hotels
Staff was very friendly. Coffee in the mornings is very good. The room air conditioner struggled to keep the room cool; at least half of it was.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 29, 2017
Thank you for your feedback! We're glad to hear you enjoyed your stay. Apologies for the air conditioning issue you experienced. Did you inquire with the front desk to assist with the issue? We would have been happy to help!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

30th Birthday Trip!

Posted Jun 19, 2017 on Orbitz
This hotel and staff is one of the best! I've never enjoyed a trip to SF so much. We had a late check in on Friday and they upgraded our room to the Haagen Dazs Suite as a special birthday surprise! It was wonderful. The staff was incredibly accommodating the entire weekend. I had ordered a cheesecake to be delivered to the hotel the following day and they received it for me and refrigerated it. Once we got back later that night, they brought it to the room for us. A truly wonderful staff and they made this one of the most special weeekends ever. Thank you to all of you! I would definitely come back here and recommend it to friends. Great location! Close to union square and north beach. Loved Hotel Triton!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 23, 2017 by Brittney, Hotel Management
Hi Jennifer! Thank you for this lovely review of your recent stay with us at Hotel Triton! We are so thrilled to hear your compliments for our staff and that you fell in love with our special city. We are happy to have helped make this birthday trip one for the books, and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Best, Brittney Hemela Media and Marketing Manager