Ratings based on 15 Verified Reviews

2.6 out of 5
47% of guests recommend
2.9 Room cleanliness
2.7 Service & staff
2.9 Room comfort
2.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

The room was cheap

Posted Jul 11, 2017
The room was dirty The room never was dusted there were no amenities in the bathroom no soap Would never stay there again would rather sleep in my car
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Disappointing

Posted Jul 10, 2017
I should have followed my gut when booking this hotel. Week before, I called the manager/owner?. With heavy India accent, he would not take my reservation on the phone. Insisted that I go to Expedia.com to book. I thought that very odd, but complied. Long drive, so we get to check in approx 9:00pm. The Office clerk seemed very annoyed that we disturbed them, short in conversation, which I understand being so late. The room wasn't great, but seemed clean. No pests that we could find. But no soap or shampoo. They had wall dispensers for soap and body wash... but they were both "Empty". I went back to office, after an awkward argument, he (reluctantly) gave me two bars of soap. Next morning, we went to our event, came back that evening. Nothing.... absolutely 'nothing' had been done to the room. No towel, soap dispensers still empty. Towels and wash rags still dirty on the bathroom shower rack. Nothing done. Very disappointing. This motel is not recommended.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Cheap

Posted Jun 4, 2017
Hotel was kind of ran down. Not horrible for the cheap rate. Only 1 hour from cedar point. People runnin the place seemed off. Didn't have reservation I made online. Had to show them email confirmation I got to get a room. They got it done, but it could have been a problem if no room was actually available when we arrived. Not great, but not horrible, good value if trying to save money on a motel for a trip to cedar point.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from cincinnati, ohio

Posted Aug 5, 2014
Bizarre, is the best way to describe my experience! The front desk staff greeted me in their underwear and was unable to answer questions related to the pre-paid bill! Other than the initial greeting the motel was clean (enough) to sleep for a night but as soon as 6am rolled around I couldn't wait to jet!
2 out of 5
by Grandma from Indiana

Dissatisfied almost completely! Upset

Posted Apr 14, 2014
Pros: Room clean, no bugs seen.
Cons: Proper paperwork - not given someone else's papers and had probably given my info to someone else! Not interrupting my sleep. Able to answer well!
Location: Plenty of restaurants, Wal-Mart, Krogers, Ice ceam, root beer drivein
The office employee was hardly able to respond to questions. Took very long time to get any somewhat of a response and seemed to not understand. He kept saying talk to manager tomorrow. Next morning there was NO manager but him when checking out! in PM, I got call from office after I had been asleep to come to the office my mother was there. My mother is over 80 years old lives in Chicago. I told him "NO WAY" but he kept saying come to office now. I got dressed and started to walk to office and two ladies were outside my door looking for daughter. They were just little younger than me and I sympathized with them however NOT MY MOTHER! He told them I was there and they interrupted my sleep. When I asked for receipt upon check out, he couldn't find my paperwork and I called Expedia to get help. He never found my check-in paper but gave me someone else's paper, who did he give my paperwork with my address etc.? Expedia called and he found what he could copy to give me a receipt. No proper bath soap or hand soap only shampoo. Very small low bathtub. To say the least, it was not a good experience staying in Tiffin Motel!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Karen from Dayton, OH

Ok hotel to stay in. Clean. Quiet.

Posted Oct 3, 2013
Pros: The price
Cons: The bathroom tiles in the shower were dated. The air conditioner would work for a while then switch to warm air.
Location: It was nice to have Denny's so close. Tiffin University is close by.
Tiffin Motel was an ok hotel stay at. It was clean, quiet and roomy. AC would work for a while then blow warm air. It was not a problem because it was not hot out. I would just turn it off for a bit then turn it back on. At night, I just left it off.
1 out of 5
by BRITE

business

Posted Oct 1, 2013 on Orbitz
this was a place we would never even consider going back to if the room was given to us for free. the rooms are filthy and the towels were dirty and a dark gray color. ( they were white towels!) when we asked the manager for different ones he became angry and told us that the ones we had were clean, just dingy! the manager was very rude and could not speak english very well. it was a nightmare to stay at the tiffin motel. never again! There were dead bugs all over our room. and also drops of blood on the one wall. if was filthy. stay away from the tiffin motel.
3 out of 5
by Marie from Indianapolis, In

It'll do in a pinch.

Posted Aug 21, 2013
Pros: The clerk seemed friendly. Even though it was very old and outdated, the room and furnishings seemed clean.
Cons: The $60 per night price is too high for a place that old and out of date I would rather drive an additional 16-25 miles to get more bang for the buck.
Location: Tiffin University, Old Mill Restaurant, Findley, Ohio shopping.
The hotel was just ok, and when I say "ok," I am being generous. I am not a super-critical person or too difficult to please so again, it was just ok, or a marginal "pass" at best. What I was most disappointed about however, was the price. I thought the daily rate was extremely high for an older, 1960's out of date, bare bones, cheap motel. I asked was that the everyday price and was told yes, it's that much everyday. No ice maker, no cups, no coffee, no bath samples of any kind, just a place to lie down, shower and leave. The vent system labored most of the time and had an odd smell at times, which was uncomfortable. I am certain that had the price been about half of what I was charged, my discomforts and observations may not have mattered as much. I've spent less and gotten far more. Really not sure if I would return, unless it were a dire emergency. I certainly wouldn't request it again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by dean from LA

Got what we paid for...

Posted Oct 23, 2012
Pros: Cheapest option in town
Cons: Stale cigarette smoke odors permeated the room when the bathroom exhaust fan was running
Location: Right in the middle of town... good neighborhood as far as we could tell
Pretty much what I should have expected for the money. It was a non-smoking room,but when I turned on the bathroom light and the supposed exhaust fan came on, I honestly believe it pulled stale cigarette smoke odors from other parts of the building into our room. There was also a lot of mildew on the shower curtain, so I left a note for housekeeping to please clean the mildew off the shower curtain. When we returned later that evening, we found a brand new shower curtain had been installed. Also, no ice machine on the premises.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Other
by College Father

Budget price was right, I'll probably stay again

Posted Oct 3, 2012 on Orbitz
hotel is hidden behind a restaurant - don't miss the sign out front! Very thin cheap bath towels. Fridge, microwave, tv were fine - I didn't use them. They were the cheapest place for my two night weekend stay. One side of the hotel looks worse where the weekly/monthly renters are located. The overnight guests stay on the nicer looking side of the motel near the office. Location was good, I was visiting a local college event.