Ratings based on 12 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2.8 out of 5
58% of guests recommend
3.1 Room cleanliness
3.1 Service & staff
3.1 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from cincinnati, ohio

Posted Aug 5, 2014
Bizarre, is the best way to describe my experience! The front desk staff greeted me in their underwear and was unable to answer questions related to the pre-paid bill! Other than the initial greeting the motel was clean (enough) to sleep for a night but as soon as 6am rolled around I couldn't wait to jet!
2 out of 5
by Grandma from Indiana

Dissatisfied almost completely! Upset

Posted Apr 14, 2014
Pros: Room clean, no bugs seen.
Cons: Proper paperwork - not given someone else's papers and had probably given my info to someone else! Not interrupting my sleep. Able to answer well!
Location: Plenty of restaurants, Wal-Mart, Krogers, Ice ceam, root beer drivein
The office employee was hardly able to respond to questions. Took very long time to get any somewhat of a response and seemed to not understand. He kept saying talk to manager tomorrow. Next morning there was NO manager but him when checking out! in PM, I got call from office after I had been asleep to come to the office my mother was there. My mother is over 80 years old lives in Chicago. I told him "NO WAY" but he kept saying come to office now. I got dressed and started to walk to office and two ladies were outside my door looking for daughter. They were just little younger than me and I sympathized with them however NOT MY MOTHER! He told them I was there and they interrupted my sleep. When I asked for receipt upon check out, he couldn't find my paperwork and I called Expedia to get help. He never found my check-in paper but gave me someone else's paper, who did he give my paperwork with my address etc.? Expedia called and he found what he could copy to give me a receipt. No proper bath soap or hand soap only shampoo. Very small low bathtub. To say the least, it was not a good experience staying in Tiffin Motel!
3 out of 5
by Karen from Dayton, OH

Ok hotel to stay in. Clean. Quiet.

Posted Oct 3, 2013
Pros: The price
Cons: The bathroom tiles in the shower were dated. The air conditioner would work for a while then switch to warm air.
Location: It was nice to have Denny's so close. Tiffin University is close by.
Tiffin Motel was an ok hotel stay at. It was clean, quiet and roomy. AC would work for a while then blow warm air. It was not a problem because it was not hot out. I would just turn it off for a bit then turn it back on. At night, I just left it off.
1 out of 5
by BRITE

business

Posted Oct 1, 2013 on Orbitz
this was a place we would never even consider going back to if the room was given to us for free. the rooms are filthy and the towels were dirty and a dark gray color. ( they were white towels!) when we asked the manager for different ones he became angry and told us that the ones we had were clean, just dingy! the manager was very rude and could not speak english very well. it was a nightmare to stay at the tiffin motel. never again! There were dead bugs all over our room. and also drops of blood on the one wall. if was filthy. stay away from the tiffin motel.
3 out of 5
by Marie from Indianapolis, In

It'll do in a pinch.

Posted Aug 21, 2013
Pros: The clerk seemed friendly. Even though it was very old and outdated, the room and furnishings seemed clean.
Cons: The $60 per night price is too high for a place that old and out of date I would rather drive an additional 16-25 miles to get more bang for the buck.
Location: Tiffin University, Old Mill Restaurant, Findley, Ohio shopping.
The hotel was just ok, and when I say "ok," I am being generous. I am not a super-critical person or too difficult to please so again, it was just ok, or a marginal "pass" at best. What I was most disappointed about however, was the price. I thought the daily rate was extremely high for an older, 1960's out of date, bare bones, cheap motel. I asked was that the everyday price and was told yes, it's that much everyday. No ice maker, no cups, no coffee, no bath samples of any kind, just a place to lie down, shower and leave. The vent system labored most of the time and had an odd smell at times, which was uncomfortable. I am certain that had the price been about half of what I was charged, my discomforts and observations may not have mattered as much. I've spent less and gotten far more. Really not sure if I would return, unless it were a dire emergency. I certainly wouldn't request it again.
3 out of 5
by dean from LA

Got what we paid for...

Posted Oct 23, 2012
Pros: Cheapest option in town
Cons: Stale cigarette smoke odors permeated the room when the bathroom exhaust fan was running
Location: Right in the middle of town... good neighborhood as far as we could tell
Pretty much what I should have expected for the money. It was a non-smoking room,but when I turned on the bathroom light and the supposed exhaust fan came on, I honestly believe it pulled stale cigarette smoke odors from other parts of the building into our room. There was also a lot of mildew on the shower curtain, so I left a note for housekeeping to please clean the mildew off the shower curtain. When we returned later that evening, we found a brand new shower curtain had been installed. Also, no ice machine on the premises.
3 out of 5
by College Father

Budget price was right, I'll probably stay again

Posted Oct 3, 2012 on Orbitz
hotel is hidden behind a restaurant - don't miss the sign out front! Very thin cheap bath towels. Fridge, microwave, tv were fine - I didn't use them. They were the cheapest place for my two night weekend stay. One side of the hotel looks worse where the weekly/monthly renters are located. The overnight guests stay on the nicer looking side of the motel near the office. Location was good, I was visiting a local college event.
2 out of 5
by nkyrosen

What I expected...

Posted Oct 1, 2012 on Orbitz
This is an older 50s style classic motel. Small and basic. It needs updating, It still had the old stale smoke smell from the old days. It was clean, no bugs and has a good location for Tiffin U or Heidelberg U. We were only there to lay our head down and it was fine fior that. Also, surprisingly, we did not hear the trains, which was good :)
4 out of 5
by Liz from Lexington, KY, USA

Quiet clean hotel

Posted Aug 21, 2012
Clean and quiet with a mini fridge and microwave. Beds were like pieces of cardboard though and they had scratchy blankets.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from virginia

not impressed

Posted Sep 27, 2011
The biggest complaint is that the room room was not cleaned. The bedspread was stained when we first got there so we stripped that off the bed. The carpet needed vacuuming and was not vacuumed at all during our stay. Other than making the bed and emptying the trash can, our room was not cleaned.