Ratings based on 167 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Lakeside and central to town

Posted May 30, 2017
Pros: Central position.
Cons: General refurbishment.
Good position, quiet and friendly host. Slightly run down. Comfortable and roomy.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Singapore

Good location

Posted May 16, 2017
Pros: Spacious room
Cons: Good to provide luggage holder. able to close curtain while heading out for more privacy. Maybe a bigger carpark lot will be easier to park.
Location: walkable distance to town. across the road is the lake, stunning view during sunset.
Pleasant 2 night stay with friendly recept. Walkable distance to town.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice stopover in modern renovated room.

Posted May 12, 2017
We enjoyed a very comfortable three day stay in a renovated room. Staff were. very accomodating and friendly. Great location for walking into town and only 20 minutes to Manapori for Doubtful Sound cruise.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Malaysia

We have lake view from the balcony!

Posted May 8, 2017
Pros: location, cleanliness and friendly !
Cons: none.
Location: Hotel is clean and conveniently located, walking distance to the lake and restaurants.
Awesome hotel with lake view! It is definately value for money. will recommend.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from christchurch

Walking distance to town

Posted Apr 24, 2017
Pros: Close to town
Cons: net curtain on door
Older motel, needs work to upgrade bathroom. No net curtain on door, people could see in as they walked passed. Wire was there for curtain.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

PERFECT Fiordland base.

Posted Apr 18, 2017
World class clean!. we had room 4 which was recently updated..... as all the rooms will be going forward. extremely comfortable....well equipped quiet and a great mattress. basic but complete kitchen. wifi. Felicity the owner was great helping w bookings. walking distance to everything. park right outside the sliding door. definite rebook.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 16, 2017 by Felicity, Hotel Management
Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to review your accommodation. Glad that you enjoyed your stay and we may see you again next time.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice home away from home

Posted Mar 31, 2017
Pros: I enjoyed the spaciousness of the room and the fantastic location - near the lake, town, and hiking. Also the wonderful staff.
Location: I loved the Doubtful Sound Kayak tour by Fiordland Adventure- an excellent guide, magical, simply amazing. Plus a water taxi to part of Kepler Track.
The staff (Felicity and Stephen) were very considerate, caring and flexible.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canada

Perfect Base For Fiordland NP

Posted Mar 27, 2017
Pros: Very Friendly and accommodation staff took care of our every need and request.
Cons: In time the rooms will have to be renovated and modernized. Just my opinion - they have a lot of character the way they are - personal choice.
Location: As mentioned above across the street from the Lake. 5 minutes from the booking offices for various tours- Milford Sound,Doubtful Sound & Glow Worms.
We spent 4 nights in this Motel Room and were extremely comfortable. Wifi was excellent and we did 3 guide tours from Te Anau. Beautiful walking trail along Lake Te Anau with leads 5 min into the main street of town our the opposite way to a trail you could walk for several hours. Just so comfortable a room to come home to and enjoy a wine in front of our room or in the beautiful garden with all types of beautiful landscaping.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great escape

Posted Mar 25, 2017
Pros: Location and sraff
Location: Walk to town, the tours we booked picked us up at our hotel
This hotel is in a great location- across from the lake, 5 minute walk to town and very quiet.
4 out of 5
by Kerry-Jayne

Posted Mar 23, 2017 on Hotels
Had a lovely stay in Te Anau. Easy trip to Milford from here and just across the road from the Lake. Nice having an oven so was able to cook a lovely baked dinner