Ratings based on 461 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel

Posted May 20, 2017
Good hotel, comfy and everything you need, good location
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

awful place, stay away

Posted May 7, 2017
Pros: nothing
Cons: tear it down
Location: Te Anau is always worth a journey - just don't stay in this dump ...
We got a "complimentary upgrade" - to a room that has a bathroom growing mold like the great Taiga is growing trees ... it was the most disgusting bathroom i ever had the misfortune to stay in ... the staff at the reception was very nice during check-in, but the check out guy (Asian) was uncooperative, useless, and just an unkind person ... we had specifically requested NOT to have staff come into the room to clean up and they assured us nobody would - when we came back after a glorious day in Milford Sound these people had rummaged around in our room ... This "hotel" also has the charm of a 1936 Olympic village hostel ... old, dirty everywhere, unfriendly staff, overpriced ... Stay away, it's an awful place!!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from M

what about Kiwis?

Posted Apr 29, 2017
Our najor issue was, on the night we arrived we thought we would have dinner at the Jimmy Cook restaurant. When we went down, having already checked the menu, we were told there was only a buffet available and it was totally dominated by food to suit the tastes of their tour groups. We went into town for dinner both nights.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from new plymouth, NZ

Close to lake

Posted Apr 26, 2017
Within close walking distance to te anau town. Across the road from the doc centre. Nice and quiet. Very comfy bed!!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Great Value in a Great Town!

Posted Apr 24, 2017 on Hotels
Wonderful!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Perfect lakeside location

Posted Apr 22, 2017 on Lastminute
Hotel a bit worn, but clean, comfortable, sufficient. Perfect lakeside location, good value for money, would stay here anytime I'm in Te Anau.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Clean hotel with comfortable rooms

Posted Apr 13, 2017
Convenient stopping point for Milford Sound, two hours drive from hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Queensland

Right on the lake

Posted Apr 8, 2017
Milly at reception was great with info and organising tours. Good breakfast was in our deal.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Decent motel across the road from the lake

Posted Mar 23, 2017
Pros: The reception staff were very helpful
Cons: wifi in some of the hotel areas was a bit patchy.
Location: Perfect for visiting milford sound and doubtful sound on a day trip or overnight cruise. Glow worm caves are not to far away either.
Decent motel across the road from the lake and the department of conservation visitor centre.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Ok for one night

Posted Mar 20, 2017 on Hotels
Room was ok for one nights stay. Terrible shower pressure and the nozzle wouldn't stay put so sprayed at an awkward direction. Bad WiFi, terrible connection so couldn't look anything up. Very noisy room as bus loads of people were rolling their suitcases past at all hours. Kettle had a hole in the base so leaked everywhere and we told staff the next day